• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon HD 4850 Voltmods

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
My card cuts out if it hits over 1.4V under load, regardless of temps or clocks.

But, if you are 100% positive the card never goes above 1.4V, then I would make sure your vrm cooling is up to the task.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
Oh looks like my pic 404'd... Anyway... Ohm's law is:

V = IR

V is volts, I is amps, R is resistance!

EDIT: Here is my question thought, what I REALLY care about. Someone do the math... Clearly we want both voltage and resistance to change, that means we would have to make amperage a constant?
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
Oh looks like my pic 404'd... Anyway... Ohm's law is:

V = IR

V is volts, I is amps, R is resistance!

EDIT: Here is my question thought, what I REALLY care about. Someone do the math... Clearly we want both voltage and resistance to change, that means we would have to make amperage a constant?
Well isnt P=V*I ??
I dont think that the amperage is a constant...Wattage (P) increases so amperage increases as well.
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
My card cuts out if it hits over 1.4V under load, regardless of temps or clocks.

But, if you are 100% positive the card never goes above 1.4V, then I would make sure your vrm cooling is up to the task.
I monitor the card having the DMM plugged in all the time and the volts never go over 1.38.
In addition, my vrm have sinks on both chokes and mosfets and the musashi blows over them...
So it might be age or the card reaching its limit on the vtm capabilities...:cry:
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
Well isnt P=V*I ??
I dont think that the amperage is a constant...Wattage (P) increases so amperage increases as well.
But then again do we actually know wattage or amperage? Actually we might know wattage which is why that equation might work to get the amperage and then plug it into my equation posted above.
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
But then again do we actually know wattage or amperage? Actually we might know wattage which is why that equation might work to get the amperage and then plug it into my equation posted above.
Well i think 4850 has 110 peak wattage so it goes like this:p=V*I=>110=1,158*I=94,...AMPS.
Well its odd isnt it?I dont think that the current is 94 amps:confused::confused:
Am i getting the default voltage wrong or what???

havent used these equations since highschool....
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
94 amps seems VERY high. I will see if I can find the technical data sheet on the subject.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
The overall power draw of the card on the psu occurs at 12V. So, 110W on a 4850 = 9.16A total power draw.
 

belial13

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
so i got a sapphire 4850 for some time now, one of the firsts and strapped S1 on it with dual fans

today i finally tried the pencil mod with a B2 pencil and NOTHING, not .01 volts of "improvement" , i am supposed to shade that middle one right ? and one thing i noticed, i got the uP6201BQ chip but its not VLP824 but some other (will check later) does that matter ?
 

Vhozard

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
HD4850 pencil mod results

I did the first (easiest) pencil mod and it worked out great! :D
I came from 670 / 1065 and ended with 770 / 1100 stable. :rockout:
My load temps did increase, from about 55 to 74.

Before:



After:
 
Last edited:

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
Very nice job mate!!!What volts do u have @ these clocks?
Take it for someone that v modded to of them in xfire(me:))
@1,35 core/2,35 mem they can do 820ish/1200 24/7!
Just have good cooler and sinks on memory and VRMs.
I had 2 musashi...
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.95/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
Be careful with the mem voltage. My experience with it shows that GDDR3 is pretty sensitive. I quit doing vmem mods for 24/7 use. I do it on benching cards only.

And I vmodded my 4850 30 minutes after I got it. Popped it in to make sure it wasn't DOA, took it back out, fired up the soldering iron, did the vgpu mod, threw a water block on it, and threw it back in. lol.

1.4v got me to 900Mhz bench stable, probably around 870 game stable.

well you sure were right about this! fried my memory controller big time! I can still get the card to post and boot windows but major artifacts as the memory isnt getting correct constant volatge lol. i had it running 790 core and 1150 mem and trimmed up the mem voltage a bit more looked down an was watching sparks come off the mem controller shut down and boom dead controller oh well you live you learn. I got another 4850 coming this time i wont vmod the memory just the core lol
 

luke05

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi,

this is my HIS 4850 IceQ TurboX - 512Mb:




I think it's non a reference one, so... I'l like to do just a simple pencil mod for the VGPU,
can you help me, please? :D

It seems that it's not possibile to do the "first" pencil-VMOD, because there is no resistor there.

The second one, for more that 1,4V for VGPU, is possible, according to you or not?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
well you sure were right about this! fried my memory controller big time! I can still get the card to post and boot windows but major artifacts as the memory isnt getting correct constant volatge lol. i had it running 790 core and 1150 mem and trimmed up the mem voltage a bit more looked down an was watching sparks come off the mem controller shut down and boom dead controller oh well you live you learn. I got another 4850 coming this time i wont vmod the memory just the core lol
Yeah, I don't know if it's just my luck or what, but I have a 100% failure rate on vmem modded cards. And we aren't talking crazy voltages, I'm talking going from a stock 2.0 to 2.05 or 2.10 with additional cooling on the memory.
 

pita

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name System
Processor Intel core2quad Q6600
Motherboard Gigabyte ep45-ds3r
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems-cpu,Accelero s1-gpu
Memory Kingmax ddr2 800mhz-4gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850
Storage Samsung 640gb
Display(s) Philips 190v
Case Chieftec Gamer tower
Power Supply Chieftec 650w 80+

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
Hi,

this is my HIS 4850 IceQ TurboX - 512Mb:

http://www.pctunerup.com/up/results/_201001/th_20100113140437_HISIceq4Turbox512.jpg http://www.pctunerup.com/up/results/_201001/th_20100113140701_HISIceq4Turbox512_Vmod.jpg


I think it's non a reference one, so... I'l like to do just a simple pencil mod for the VGPU,
can you help me, please? :D

It seems that it's not possibile to do the "first" pencil-VMOD, because there is no resistor there.

The second one, for more that 1,4V for VGPU, is possible, according to you or not?
Having modded 2 4850s,reference and not i a pretty sure its reference design so look at the forums start for more info on pencil orhard mod!
 

pita

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name System
Processor Intel core2quad Q6600
Motherboard Gigabyte ep45-ds3r
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems-cpu,Accelero s1-gpu
Memory Kingmax ddr2 800mhz-4gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850
Storage Samsung 640gb
Display(s) Philips 190v
Case Chieftec Gamer tower
Power Supply Chieftec 650w 80+
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
395 (0.12/day)
Likes
86
Location
Bydgoszcz, Poland
System Name "Złotko"
Processor AMD 1055T @ 3600 MHz
Motherboard Asrock 880G@890GX
Cooling Thermalright 120 Xtreme (lapped)
Memory A-Data 1600 Plus
Video Card(s) Asus HD6950 unlocked - WOW
Storage many more than you can imagine
Display(s) Acer AL1923 and Philips 40PFL5605H
Case Fractal Define R3
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music / onboard
Power Supply Seasonic M12D 850W
Software viruses, worms, trojan horses, spyware, adware, rootkits
Benchmark Scores 2.3 promile of alcohol in my blood and still standing
Hello,

I want to make v-mod on the reference HD4850 simplest way possible. I do not trust my soldering skills and I do not like pencil mods, because they change their properties after some time. However, I ran an idea:

What do you think about this:
1. I change BIOS voltage values using RBE 4 units down (instead of 1.158V will be 1.006V, etc.)
2. I would flash the card with the modified bios.
3. I would paint a resistor with conductive paint using method similar to pencil mod (method for below 1.4V)
4. I would OC and change the voltage in bios.

What I should get:
Since the pencil mod on the resistor provides a maximum of 1.4V under stress, I will reduce this value in the BIOS to 1.24V. I could peacefully (without the use of potentiometer) flash card to voltage that I like (maximum of 4 units higher, so 1.28V, 1.32V, 1.36V and 1.4V). Resistance will not change after a month, because mod will be executed by paint instead of graphite pencil.

What am I afraid:
- That the short-circuit resistor hurt anything.
- That a maximum of 1.4V at the method of the resistor is fake, and indeed it is a much higher voltage
- That despite the settings in the BIOS, the card will receive the maximum voltage (> 1.4V)
- That no one never tested it and it is madness.

Can anyone allay my fears before I burn my HD4850 :)
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
94 amps seems VERY high. I will see if I can find the technical data sheet on the subject.
Well, 110W would be the whole card, not just the core.
But, at 110W, the card would be pulling ~9.2Amps at 12V. This would come out to ~94A if everything on the card worked on 1.158Volts. So the core alone draws somewhat less than 94 amps total, but it would still be a hefty number given how relatively low the voltage is.

Think about it this way:
Given a cpu says it's TDP is 125W. If the voltage is 1.4, then it would be using ~90 amps.
I bet those traces would start getting warm at that amperage.
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
Hello,

I want to make v-mod on the reference HD4850 simplest way possible. I do not trust my soldering skills and I do not like pencil mods, because they change their properties after some time. However, I ran an idea:

What do you think about this:
1. I change BIOS voltage values using RBE 4 units down (instead of 1.158V will be 1.006V, etc.)
2. I would flash the card with the modified bios.
3. I would paint a resistor with conductive paint using method similar to pencil mod (method for below 1.4V)
4. I would OC and change the voltage in bios.

What I should get:
Since the pencil mod on the resistor provides a maximum of 1.4V under stress, I will reduce this value in the BIOS to 1.24V. I could peacefully (without the use of potentiometer) flash card to voltage that I like (maximum of 4 units higher, so 1.28V, 1.32V, 1.36V and 1.4V). Resistance will not change after a month, because mod will be executed by paint instead of graphite pencil.

What am I afraid:
- That the short-circuit resistor hurt anything.
- That a maximum of 1.4V at the method of the resistor is fake, and indeed it is a much higher voltage
- That despite the settings in the BIOS, the card will receive the maximum voltage (> 1.4V)
- That no one never tested it and it is madness.

Can anyone allay my fears before I burn my HD4850 :)
I don't see why it wouldn't work, but one word of warning:
Conductive paint has a much lower resistivity than graphite. You basically risk just shorting the whole resistor with even a very small amount of paint.
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
Well, 110W would be the whole card, not just the core.
But, at 110W, the card would be pulling ~9.2Amps at 12V. This would come out to ~94A if everything on the card worked on 1.158Volts. So the core alone draws somewhat less than 94 amps total, but it would still be a hefty number given how relatively low the voltage is.

Think about it this way:
Given a cpu says it's TDP is 125W. If the voltage is 1.4, then it would be using ~90 amps.
I bet those traces would start getting warm at that amperage.

dude u are making a mistake...
The card uses 12v that is then transformed into 1,158...so 12v are the ones to use in the P=VI formula....so the AMPS are 9,1A...94A cannot be supplied by a PSU..:)
 

Vhozard

New Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
UPDATE: I freakin' trashed my card!

It all started good: increased GPU clocks and memory clocks, but also a temperature raise (not too big luckily).

But then one particular game started crashing: World in Conflict would crash after 10~20 minutes (random), making my screen filled with blue/red/gray vertical lines.
Maximum temperatures were only 74 degrees under load, but it couldn't have been anything else than my HD4850.
So I tried to lower the clocks to stock, but that didn't help.
I even lowered them to 500/750, but no deal. I went from :rockout: to :banghead:

Now I've cleaned my card with rubbing alcohol and it still crashed.
Only after cleaning up the pencil mods and lowering the clocks to 690/995 it doesn't crash.
FurMark makes my card 50 degrees tops (after 1 hour Xtreme Burning) and shows no artifacts.

Maybe I fucked up when I applied the memory pencil mod? Or was the GPU mod the killer...
FurMark (1.8.0) can't crash my card with all settings on (including Xtreme Burning Mode) while showing 99~100% load in GPU-Z, but World in Conflict can?

PS You can rule out memory/cpu/psu problems, it's definitly my HD4850

Some more pics of cooling (Accelero S1):





 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
The artifacts you mention suggest memory. I highly suggest NOT doing vmem mods. GDDR seems much more sensitive to voltage than standard DDR memory types. Every card I have ever vmem modded, even by as little as going from 2.0 to 2.05V has resulted in degradation for me.

Do the vgpu mod, and leave the mem volts alone.