• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon HD 4870 Voltmods

Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,972 (8.78/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Wow, that's a tiny place to soldier for the VDDC! I better not have any caffiene that day! Thanks so much W1zzard!:toast:
 

intel igent

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (0.88/day)
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
holy shizzlet! Volt mod's already! :rockout::rockout: :respect::respect:
 

Mmatao

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Location
Montmelo/Barcelona/España(spain)
test of shappire 4879 gpu vmod, fan to 42% stock cooler.
room to 27º C

test passing atitool
without vmod 76º C 1.26v max gpu 770mhz
with vmod resistance 100 oms 79º C 1.28v max gpu 820mhz
with vmod resistance 50 oms 82º C 1,295v max gpu 825 mhz

the best configuration is 100 oms to stock cooler.

I do not understand mvddc and mvddq, as is the one that there is to fit?
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,870 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Wow, that's a tiny place to soldier for the VDDC! I better not have any caffiene that day! Thanks so much W1zzard!:toast:
unfortunately there is no better place to solder. on the other side there may be some spots but with the cooler on top its kinda difficult to put wires there.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
90 (0.02/day)
System Name Homemade :)
Processor Ryzen 3900X@4.35Ghz
Motherboard Asus X570 Prime Pro
Cooling Alphacool Eisbear 420 + 6x Silent Wings 3
Memory 2x16GB A-Data Gammix D10 3200-15-15-15-31@3733-19-18-18-38 1:1
Video Card(s) Palit GameRock GTX1080Ti +110 core +200 mem
Storage WD SN750 1TB + 3x Crucial MX200 500GB RAID0
Display(s) 4k TV + Benq XL2730Z
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) AIM 808
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 10 LTSC
Could somebody per chance check if AMD GPU Tool really changes voltages? I don't have a multimeter and have no way to check... please somebody? :)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,870 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
vddc reading spot fixed, the picture in the article now points to the correct location
 

chron

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
569 (0.11/day)
I thought these cards had "dynamic voltage control" so you wouldn't have to do all this?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,870 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
yes you can change up like 0.1v in software and down about 0.3v .. in 4 steps. but at this time there is no software to control voltages, other than modding the bios
 

Haste

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Location
Czech Republic
Processor Core™2 Duo E6600 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Cooling Mine + WaterCooling
Memory Kingston 2x1GB DDR2 850MHz
Video Card(s) HD4870 512MB WaterCooled
Storage 2x 1TB Barracuda 7200.11
Display(s) 21" EIZO T962
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi
Software WindowsXP SP3 + Vista32bit
yes you can change up like 0.1v in software and down about 0.3v .. in 4 steps.
Hi. What do you mean with the "in 4 steps" ? I've modded the 4870 BIOS using RBE 1.11 but it doesn't seem to have any effect on voltages. I tried increasing it from 1.263 to 1.276 and 1.302 but without success. The vcore was not changed. So is there another way to up the GPU voltage by 0.1v? Thanks.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,870 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
the card can only select one voltage out of four. so there is something like 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3. the card has to pick one, ther is nothing like 1.15 possible in this example.
i dont know the actual voltages that are implemented.

did you change the right profile? i think a 0.1 increase should be possible
 

Haste

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Location
Czech Republic
Processor Core™2 Duo E6600 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Cooling Mine + WaterCooling
Memory Kingston 2x1GB DDR2 850MHz
Video Card(s) HD4870 512MB WaterCooled
Storage 2x 1TB Barracuda 7200.11
Display(s) 21" EIZO T962
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi
Software WindowsXP SP3 + Vista32bit
Yes, I think so. In the RBE it has high profiles at 3 and 9. 4 to 6 are UVD profiles. I've changed the 3 and 9, both to the same voltage I mentioned before. Now I have it at 1.363 (exactly 0.1v above normal) but no success again. Even people from XS forum didn't have any luck with BIOS voltage mod so i feel a bit skeptical about it. I would appreciate any help with the mod. I'm willing to try almost anything... have my old PCI card ready if necessary :)
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
316 (0.07/day)
Location
Canuckistan
System Name Slave
Processor Core i7 920 @4.2 Lapped
Motherboard Biostar Tpower x58
Cooling Ek Supreme + Backplate, Thermochill 120.3, mcp655
Memory 6Gb Gskill Black Pi ddr3 1600 8-7-7-19 1t
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 (flashed to 290x) + DTek Fuzion block @1100
Storage Samsung 840 evo, WD Black
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 1440p
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme P.O.S.
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 950watt
Benchmark Scores i7 920 c0 @ 4.6ghz
I didn't find a 50 ohm pot locally. Does a 100 ohm 15 turn one would be precise enough to reach high voltages (1.5-1.6).
Or a 20 Ohm one would be better suited ( i have both ).
 

Haste

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Location
Czech Republic
Processor Core™2 Duo E6600 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Cooling Mine + WaterCooling
Memory Kingston 2x1GB DDR2 850MHz
Video Card(s) HD4870 512MB WaterCooled
Storage 2x 1TB Barracuda 7200.11
Display(s) 21" EIZO T962
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi
Software WindowsXP SP3 + Vista32bit
I'd recommend fixed 20ohm resistor and I really hope that you have water cooling at least. 20ohm ~ 1.5-1.6v. And be careful, that vddc solder point is really tiny.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
316 (0.07/day)
Location
Canuckistan
System Name Slave
Processor Core i7 920 @4.2 Lapped
Motherboard Biostar Tpower x58
Cooling Ek Supreme + Backplate, Thermochill 120.3, mcp655
Memory 6Gb Gskill Black Pi ddr3 1600 8-7-7-19 1t
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 (flashed to 290x) + DTek Fuzion block @1100
Storage Samsung 840 evo, WD Black
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 1440p
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme P.O.S.
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 950watt
Benchmark Scores i7 920 c0 @ 4.6ghz
With a tiny spot like this could i put some hot glue on it after the wire is soldered to ensure it doesnt break?
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Location
EU
Last edited by a moderator:

rflair

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Q9550@3.83GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E
Cooling Thermalright TRU120
Memory 8 GB OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) ATI 4890@940/1100
Storage 3.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Dell, 42" Sharp Aquos
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy ZS
Power Supply PC P&C 860
Software Windows 7 SP1 x64
From my testing doing the GPU Vmod with fixed resistors,

33 Ohm=1.35v idle 1.37v load

27 Ohm=1.37v idle 1.39v load

22 Ohm=1.385v idle 1.405v load
 

rflair

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
119 (0.03/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Q9550@3.83GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5K-E
Cooling Thermalright TRU120
Memory 8 GB OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) ATI 4890@940/1100
Storage 3.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Dell, 42" Sharp Aquos
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy ZS
Power Supply PC P&C 860
Software Windows 7 SP1 x64
Anyone know how much resistance is needed to raise the memory voltage to 1.6v ?
 

philbrown23

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.28/day)
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
anyone have a picture of the actual mod yet? I wanna see some working mods before I decide to take the dive.
 

nasone32

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
hi, I would like to show you my card. its pcb is slightly different from the one in the vmod guide, the vgpu soldering point is covered and there are a few more transistors around. it's a club3D 4870 oc'ed edition.
I would like to know if the soldering points are the same (probably yes).
sorry for my bad english, I'm Italian :D
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
I'm looking around & I heard about some pencil VDDC mod on 4870...




Did somebody try them ?
 

nasone32

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
sorry but where is the pencil-point located in your pictures? can't see anything...
 

4870's@over

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Guys, I have a PowerColor 4870, but with more than 825 in the Core she presents a strange behavior, I have BSOD.

How to resolve?

BIOS OCX 1.276v
 

ShadyAchmed

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
RMA - sounds like U got a bad card.

I have the same card, I get 850/1100 stable - everything maxed out, w/ a Scythe Musashi cooler. http://www.scythe-usa.com/product/vga/002/scvms1000_detail.html Runs great - no problems at all.

I actually have two of these cards, same story on both. Crossfire doesn't scale well at all on my system. Card was unstable in crossfire, OC'd or stock. Running a single card - excellent performance! Maybe my next rig (and later drivers) will better support them in crossfire.

Running it w/ a QX9650 OC'd to 4.2Ghz.
 
Top