• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon RX 580 Idle GPU 100% Usage

Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
System Name PHaS3-XX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler @ XT BIOS
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2719D + Dell P2417H
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Hi all,

So I recently upgraded from my GTX970 to a Radeon RX 580 (Sapphire Nitro+ LE 8GB). Been really enjoying it, being my first Radeon since my old 5850 Crossfire setup.

I do have a weird issue, I presume driver related, and wondered if any of you had it with a Radeon. After playing a game, e.g. BF1, the GPU thinks its pegged at 100% usage even at idle. The RAM clocks down as expected, to 300MHz, but the core clock sits at 1440MHz (boost for this model). GPUZ reports 100% GPU usage, as does Afterburner, but the Windows task manager reports 0%, with DWM using 0.1-0.2%. Only a restart seems to sort it out, and it will be fine until I play BF1 again. I haven't seen it do it with PUBG, but it could be luck of the draw and it could presumably happen with PUBG.

I know these cards can be funny with multi monitor, but my 2 aren't at different resolutions, and like I mentioned this doesn't happen after a restart. I have also tried unplugging the secondary monitor as a troubleshooting step. I also dropped the clocks to 1340MHz on the core, which dropped the clock as you would expect but didn't resolve the "phantom usage" issue.

I am running the latest "Adrenaline" drivers.

Here's a GPUZ screenshot:

1.gif


And here is Windows task manager:

2.png


3.PNG


Edit:

Watching a YouTube video in FireFox forces the card to max clocks, and after quitting FireFox the core maintains its 100% load clock of 1440MHz. :| So definately not just BF1.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
System Name PHaS3-XX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler @ XT BIOS
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2719D + Dell P2417H
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
I figured this out, or at least the cause of the issue. If I end the amddvr.exe process the imaginary load vanishes.

1513754417457.png


The process automatically restarts itself, but the load doesn't return. This obviously has something to do with the changes made to ReLive to improve performance. Hopefully AMD patch it in the next driver drop.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,818 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Try some older drivers, report any bugs using the built in bug reporter, @fullinfusion is the inhome beta tester, let him know
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
1,205 (0.47/day)
Location
Birmingham UK
System Name El Calpulator
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X 4.7Ghz@1.25v
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk Wi-Fi
Cooling Corsair H100i Elite Capellix
Memory 16GB DDR4 3600mhz Crucial Ballistix (3600@C15)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming Trio X 6900XT 2540/2100Mhz
Storage 4TB SSD Storage
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G9 49" 5120x1440 240Hz HDR1000
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow+3X Corsair ARGB120LL+3XAntec Infinity ARGB
Audio Device(s) ALC1220 Audio Boost+Wavemaster MOODY 2.1+Arctis 7
Power Supply Corsair RM850X 850W Gold
Mouse Logitech G903 LightSpeed Hero Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G915 LightSpeed Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Just enough
be careful not to have a mining virus or exploit, that could make this happen as well
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,818 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yup those are botnets now too, get mbam, spybot SD, super antispyware, use trendmicro housecall too
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
System Name PHaS3-XX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler @ XT BIOS
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2719D + Dell P2417H
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Thanks guys :)

I did rule out some form of HIV miner, the "100%" load is also not a heavy load like mining is, its more of a phantom load, the card stays at ~50°C the entire time.

Its definitely the amddvr.exe causing it. My thoughts on it are they specifically mention having made performance improvements for ReLive, and this could be a related byproduct.

I also filled out a report on AMD's bug reporting survey.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
1,205 (0.47/day)
Location
Birmingham UK
System Name El Calpulator
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X 4.7Ghz@1.25v
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk Wi-Fi
Cooling Corsair H100i Elite Capellix
Memory 16GB DDR4 3600mhz Crucial Ballistix (3600@C15)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming Trio X 6900XT 2540/2100Mhz
Storage 4TB SSD Storage
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G9 49" 5120x1440 240Hz HDR1000
Case Corsair 5000D Airflow+3X Corsair ARGB120LL+3XAntec Infinity ARGB
Audio Device(s) ALC1220 Audio Boost+Wavemaster MOODY 2.1+Arctis 7
Power Supply Corsair RM850X 850W Gold
Mouse Logitech G903 LightSpeed Hero Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G915 LightSpeed Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Just enough
Thanks guys :)

I did rule out some form of HIV miner, the "100%" load is also not a heavy load like mining is, its more of a phantom load, the card stays at ~50°C the entire time.

Its definitely the amddvr.exe causing it. My thoughts on it are they specifically mention having made performance improvements for ReLive, and this could be a related byproduct.

I also filled out a report on AMD's bug reporting survey.
Trust me, the symptom was the same when I had that malware on my PC. It is not made to keep your card at 100% because that is very noticeable...just for your safety run a malwarebytes scan
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
System Name PHaS3-XX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler @ XT BIOS
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2719D + Dell P2417H
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
This issue is fixed in the new 17.12.2 driver:

1513979433630.png


Yay :)
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
885 (0.19/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) XFX 6800 XT Speedster Merc 319 Black
Storage Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850B / ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Thanks for the follow up. Nice to hear it wasn't malware and the bug has been fixed.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
System Name PHaS3-XX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler @ XT BIOS
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2719D + Dell P2417H
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Kinda fixed lol.... it is listed as fixed but I see the GPU still gets a little stuck after watching YouTube videos, and its still the AMDDVR.exe process... Hopefully it was a once off lol :)
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
59 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX580 8 GB
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) Philips 272B7Q
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech MK540
Software Windows 10 64-bit
i have the same problem, even with the 17.12.2 drivers. the 100% GPU load by amddrv.exe occurs even before any previous gpu load (such as playing games or watching videos)
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
System Name PHaS3-XX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler @ XT BIOS
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2719D + Dell P2417H
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Still happens for me, not from everything anymore though. YouTube in Firefox does it, so does BF1, but not PUBG. Ending the process still resolves it until the next load too. Slightly annoying.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,818 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Kinda fixed lol.... it is listed as fixed but I see the GPU still gets a little stuck after watching YouTube videos, and its still the AMDDVR.exe process... Hopefully it was a once off lol :)

turn off Hardware acceleration it is crap in web browsers across the board doesn't matter if you have AMD or Nvidia video cards It runs like crap.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
System Name PHaS3-XX
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler @ XT BIOS
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2719D + Dell P2417H
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
turn off Hardware acceleration it is crap in web browsers across the board doesn't matter if you have AMD or Nvidia video cards It runs like crap.

I've never really done that, as I've never had a problem with it (until now I guess). Its off :) So at least I can watch YouTube without sucking all that GPU power :) Thank you :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,818 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I've never really done that, as I've never had a problem with it (until now I guess). Its off :) So at least I can watch YouTube without sucking all that GPU power :) Thank you :)

Very small tasks such as youtube or java games can use cpu muscle.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,253 (0.22/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) HP ZR24w + LG 24MB35 on Neo-Flex® Dual Monitor Lift Stand
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
I have this same problem I just upgraded my 7970ghz to a RX580.

If I kill that task it drops to 0% but then sometimes video playing back in youtube will kick it back up to 100% load.

I reinstalled 17.2.2 but said no to the Relive install and now everything is good.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,818 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I have this same problem I just upgraded my 7970ghz to a RX580.

If I kill that task it drops to 0% but then sometimes video playing back in youtube will kick it back up to 100% load.

I reinstalled 17.2.2 but said no to the Relive install and now everything is good.

For safe measure turn off hardware accel in browsers, its been broken since XP days afaik
 

tzatzi91

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I had same problem, i googled and found this topic, confirmed that it's the same thing, amddvr app, a relive thing that for some reason is running even when relive is not installed. So i pulled that app out of folder (program files/amd/cnext/cnext/amddvr.exe) and placed it on desktop for testing purposes (you can delete it as well, i wanted to be sure that everything is working ok even without that file), killed the process in task manager and it's not restarting, which is good, meaning that it will not throw 100% gpu load anymore as it's not existing on the computer.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
59 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX580 8 GB
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) Philips 272B7Q
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech MK540
Software Windows 10 64-bit
the issue is still present with the 18.01.01 drivers. i will try deleting/renaming the file as tzatzi91 suggested
 

Aktan

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
It's too bad the issue is still there with the latest optional drivers. If you only have the problem in FireFox, here is a propose workaround. I find that the VP9 hardware decoding of the AMD cards to be somewhat lacking anyway. I get frame drops in YouTube with hardware decoding while software decoding is perfectly fine. If your CPU is fast enough and doesn't need hardware decoding, I suggest you change the flag "media.wmf.amd.vp9.enabled" to false in FireFox instead of killing/renaming that process.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,270 (1.10/day)
Location
New York
Processor INTEL CORE I9-9900K @ 5Ghz all core 4.7Ghz Cache @1.305 volts
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z390-P ATX
Cooling CORSAIR HYDRO H150I PRO RGB 360MM 6x120mm fans push pull
Memory CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 3000Mhz 4x8 32gb @ 4000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORECE RTX 2080 SUPER XC HYBRID GAMING
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB 3D NAND NVMe,Intel 660p 1TB m.2 ,1TB WD Blue 3D NAND,500GB WD Blue 3D NAND,
Display(s) 50" Sharp Roku TV 8ms responce time and Philips 75Hz 328E9QJAB 32" curved
Case BLACK LIAN LI O11 DYNAMIC XL FULL-TOWER GAMING CASE,
Power Supply 1600 Watt
Software Windows 10
It's too bad the issue is still there with the latest optional drivers. If you only have the problem in FireFox, here is a propose workaround. I find that the VP9 hardware decoding of the AMD cards to be somewhat lacking anyway. I get frame drops in YouTube with hardware decoding while software decoding is perfectly fine. If your CPU is fast enough and doesn't need hardware decoding, I suggest you change the flag "media.wmf.amd.vp9.enabled" to false in FireFox instead of killing/renaming that process.
Does this also resolve the 100% GPU load on idle?
EDIT: Shit sorry, Welcome to TPU!!! :lovetpu:
 

Aktan

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Does this also resolve the 100% GPU load on idle?
EDIT: Shit sorry, Welcome to TPU!!! :lovetpu:

I probably should have really test it before posting, so I'll go test now, lol. But I'm pretty sure it does. I'll edit this once I've tested it.

Thanks for the welcome!

Edit: Yes, as I thought. turning off VP9 hardware acceleration in FireFox doesn't cause the bug in ReLive. It makes me think that it's related the VP9 hardware acceleration in the other games too, like maybe a playback of some intro movie. I wonder if you remove the hardware accelerated codec, would that also fix it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
4,444 (1.04/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2021
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X @4400MHz 1.325V
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ OC RX6800 16GB DDR6 1980Cclk / 2000Mclk
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) RX6800 via HDMI + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W 5.1 Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 20H2)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
I'm just going to say IF you don't use relive then get rid of it, it's more trouble than it's worth as you have found out

For safe measure turn off hardware accel in browsers, its been broken since XP days afaik

In modern Browsers like Opera, Chrome and Fire Fox turning off hardware Acceleration is not necessary anymore maybe 5 years ago when it was new and buggy ASF but not anymore
 
Last edited:

Aktan

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
I'm just going to say IF you don't use relive then get rid of it, it's more trouble than it's worth as you have found out

I agree with you as it is an extra process just running for no reason, but for me I would still turn off VP9 hardware acceleration because it drops frames in YouTube playback while software doesn't. It is a slight pain to remember to rename/delete the program each time the drivers are updated also. I'll do both! :)
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
4,444 (1.04/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2021
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X @4400MHz 1.325V
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ OC RX6800 16GB DDR6 1980Cclk / 2000Mclk
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) RX6800 via HDMI + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W 5.1 Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 20H2)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
I agree with you as it is an extra process just running for no reason, but for me I would still turn off VP9 hardware acceleration because it drops frames in YouTube playback while software doesn't. It is a slight pain to remember to rename/delete the program each time the drivers are updated also. I'll do both! :)

Actually the process runs to enable the in-game overlay similar to what you see when using MSI's GPU overclocking app
If it's dropping frames then you have a network or browser or GPU being to old problem I play 1080p youtube videos all the time and never suffer dropped frames ever even in peak times and i never turn off HWA in my browser
 
Last edited:
Top