• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon RX 580 Idle GPU 100% Usage

Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
479 (0.14/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2933 C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition @ 1480 / 2250
Storage Many = ~8TB + Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Hi all,

So I recently upgraded from my GTX970 to a Radeon RX 580 (Sapphire Nitro+ LE 8GB). Been really enjoying it, being my first Radeon since my old 5850 Crossfire setup.

I do have a weird issue, I presume driver related, and wondered if any of you had it with a Radeon. After playing a game, e.g. BF1, the GPU thinks its pegged at 100% usage even at idle. The RAM clocks down as expected, to 300MHz, but the core clock sits at 1440MHz (boost for this model). GPUZ reports 100% GPU usage, as does Afterburner, but the Windows task manager reports 0%, with DWM using 0.1-0.2%. Only a restart seems to sort it out, and it will be fine until I play BF1 again. I haven't seen it do it with PUBG, but it could be luck of the draw and it could presumably happen with PUBG.

I know these cards can be funny with multi monitor, but my 2 aren't at different resolutions, and like I mentioned this doesn't happen after a restart. I have also tried unplugging the secondary monitor as a troubleshooting step. I also dropped the clocks to 1340MHz on the core, which dropped the clock as you would expect but didn't resolve the "phantom usage" issue.

I am running the latest "Adrenaline" drivers.

Here's a GPUZ screenshot:

1.gif


And here is Windows task manager:

2.png


3.PNG


Edit:

Watching a YouTube video in FireFox forces the card to max clocks, and after quitting FireFox the core maintains its 100% load clock of 1440MHz. :| So definately not just BF1.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
479 (0.14/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2933 C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition @ 1480 / 2250
Storage Many = ~8TB + Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
I figured this out, or at least the cause of the issue. If I end the amddvr.exe process the imaginary load vanishes.

1513754417457.png


The process automatically restarts itself, but the load doesn't return. This obviously has something to do with the changes made to ReLive to improve performance. Hopefully AMD patch it in the next driver drop.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,452 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Try some older drivers, report any bugs using the built in bug reporter, @fullinfusion is the inhome beta tester, let him know
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
1,150 (0.62/day)
Location
Birmingham UK
System Name El Calpulator
Processor Ryzen 5 3600X@4.25
Motherboard ASRock B450 Steel Legend
Cooling Corsair H100x
Memory 16GB DDR4 3533mhz Patriot Viper Steel
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 2070 SUPER JetStream
Storage Crucial NVMe 500GB+1xMX500 500GB+1x1TB
Display(s) AOC Agon AG322QC4
Case CoolerMaster H500+2x200mm+1X120mm RGB Fans
Audio Device(s) ALC892+Logitech Z906+Arctis 7
Power Supply CoolerMaster MasterWatt 650w
Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Just enough
be careful not to have a mining virus or exploit, that could make this happen as well
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,452 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yup those are botnets now too, get mbam, spybot SD, super antispyware, use trendmicro housecall too
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
479 (0.14/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2933 C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition @ 1480 / 2250
Storage Many = ~8TB + Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Thanks guys :)

I did rule out some form of HIV miner, the "100%" load is also not a heavy load like mining is, its more of a phantom load, the card stays at ~50°C the entire time.

Its definitely the amddvr.exe causing it. My thoughts on it are they specifically mention having made performance improvements for ReLive, and this could be a related byproduct.

I also filled out a report on AMD's bug reporting survey.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
1,150 (0.62/day)
Location
Birmingham UK
System Name El Calpulator
Processor Ryzen 5 3600X@4.25
Motherboard ASRock B450 Steel Legend
Cooling Corsair H100x
Memory 16GB DDR4 3533mhz Patriot Viper Steel
Video Card(s) Palit RTX 2070 SUPER JetStream
Storage Crucial NVMe 500GB+1xMX500 500GB+1x1TB
Display(s) AOC Agon AG322QC4
Case CoolerMaster H500+2x200mm+1X120mm RGB Fans
Audio Device(s) ALC892+Logitech Z906+Arctis 7
Power Supply CoolerMaster MasterWatt 650w
Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Just enough
Thanks guys :)

I did rule out some form of HIV miner, the "100%" load is also not a heavy load like mining is, its more of a phantom load, the card stays at ~50°C the entire time.

Its definitely the amddvr.exe causing it. My thoughts on it are they specifically mention having made performance improvements for ReLive, and this could be a related byproduct.

I also filled out a report on AMD's bug reporting survey.
Trust me, the symptom was the same when I had that malware on my PC. It is not made to keep your card at 100% because that is very noticeable...just for your safety run a malwarebytes scan
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
479 (0.14/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2933 C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition @ 1480 / 2250
Storage Many = ~8TB + Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
This issue is fixed in the new 17.12.2 driver:

1513979433630.png


Yay :)
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
738 (0.19/day)
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 590 OC Special Edition
Storage Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 1TB
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Thanks for the follow up. Nice to hear it wasn't malware and the bug has been fixed.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
479 (0.14/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2933 C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition @ 1480 / 2250
Storage Many = ~8TB + Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Kinda fixed lol.... it is listed as fixed but I see the GPU still gets a little stuck after watching YouTube videos, and its still the AMDDVR.exe process... Hopefully it was a once off lol :)
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
57 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
i have the same problem, even with the 17.12.2 drivers. the 100% GPU load by amddrv.exe occurs even before any previous gpu load (such as playing games or watching videos)
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
479 (0.14/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2933 C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition @ 1480 / 2250
Storage Many = ~8TB + Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
Still happens for me, not from everything anymore though. YouTube in Firefox does it, so does BF1, but not PUBG. Ending the process still resolves it until the next load too. Slightly annoying.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,452 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Kinda fixed lol.... it is listed as fixed but I see the GPU still gets a little stuck after watching YouTube videos, and its still the AMDDVR.exe process... Hopefully it was a once off lol :)
turn off Hardware acceleration it is crap in web browsers across the board doesn't matter if you have AMD or Nvidia video cards It runs like crap.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
479 (0.14/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2933 C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ Special Edition @ 1480 / 2250
Storage Many = ~8TB + Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
turn off Hardware acceleration it is crap in web browsers across the board doesn't matter if you have AMD or Nvidia video cards It runs like crap.
I've never really done that, as I've never had a problem with it (until now I guess). Its off :) So at least I can watch YouTube without sucking all that GPU power :) Thank you :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,452 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I've never really done that, as I've never had a problem with it (until now I guess). Its off :) So at least I can watch YouTube without sucking all that GPU power :) Thank you :)
Very small tasks such as youtube or java games can use cpu muscle.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
536 (0.11/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon RX 580 GAMING 8GB
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
I have this same problem I just upgraded my 7970ghz to a RX580.

If I kill that task it drops to 0% but then sometimes video playing back in youtube will kick it back up to 100% load.

I reinstalled 17.2.2 but said no to the Relive install and now everything is good.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,452 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I have this same problem I just upgraded my 7970ghz to a RX580.

If I kill that task it drops to 0% but then sometimes video playing back in youtube will kick it back up to 100% load.

I reinstalled 17.2.2 but said no to the Relive install and now everything is good.
For safe measure turn off hardware accel in browsers, its been broken since XP days afaik
 

tzatzi91

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
I had same problem, i googled and found this topic, confirmed that it's the same thing, amddvr app, a relive thing that for some reason is running even when relive is not installed. So i pulled that app out of folder (program files/amd/cnext/cnext/amddvr.exe) and placed it on desktop for testing purposes (you can delete it as well, i wanted to be sure that everything is working ok even without that file), killed the process in task manager and it's not restarting, which is good, meaning that it will not throw 100% gpu load anymore as it's not existing on the computer.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
57 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4,1 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Cooling Gelid Tranquillo rev.2
Memory 2x4GB Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte nVidia Geforce GTX560 OC 1024MB GDDR5
Storage Adata S510 120GB SSD, Western Digital WD7501AALS; Seagate Barracuda Green 2000DL003
Display(s) HP LP2275w
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-520 Bronze
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
the issue is still present with the 18.01.01 drivers. i will try deleting/renaming the file as tzatzi91 suggested
 

Aktan

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
It's too bad the issue is still there with the latest optional drivers. If you only have the problem in FireFox, here is a propose workaround. I find that the VP9 hardware decoding of the AMD cards to be somewhat lacking anyway. I get frame drops in YouTube with hardware decoding while software decoding is perfectly fine. If your CPU is fast enough and doesn't need hardware decoding, I suggest you change the flag "media.wmf.amd.vp9.enabled" to false in FireFox instead of killing/renaming that process.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
6,232 (1.25/day)
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Motherboard i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ/MYSTERY P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling MYSTERY Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory MYSTERY DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) MYSTERY 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 InchMYSTERY @1920x1080
Case MYSTERY e M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply MYSTERY ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
It's too bad the issue is still there with the latest optional drivers. If you only have the problem in FireFox, here is a propose workaround. I find that the VP9 hardware decoding of the AMD cards to be somewhat lacking anyway. I get frame drops in YouTube with hardware decoding while software decoding is perfectly fine. If your CPU is fast enough and doesn't need hardware decoding, I suggest you change the flag "media.wmf.amd.vp9.enabled" to false in FireFox instead of killing/renaming that process.
Does this also resolve the 100% GPU load on idle?
EDIT: Shit sorry, Welcome to TPU!!! :lovetpu:
 

Aktan

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Does this also resolve the 100% GPU load on idle?
EDIT: Shit sorry, Welcome to TPU!!! :lovetpu:
I probably should have really test it before posting, so I'll go test now, lol. But I'm pretty sure it does. I'll edit this once I've tested it.

Thanks for the welcome!

Edit: Yes, as I thought. turning off VP9 hardware acceleration in FireFox doesn't cause the bug in ReLive. It makes me think that it's related the VP9 hardware acceleration in the other games too, like maybe a playback of some intro movie. I wonder if you remove the hardware accelerated codec, would that also fix it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,295 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
I'm just going to say IF you don't use relive then get rid of it, it's more trouble than it's worth as you have found out

For safe measure turn off hardware accel in browsers, its been broken since XP days afaik
In modern Browsers like Opera, Chrome and Fire Fox turning off hardware Acceleration is not necessary anymore maybe 5 years ago when it was new and buggy ASF but not anymore
 
Last edited:

Aktan

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
I'm just going to say IF you don't use relive then get rid of it, it's more trouble than it's worth as you have found out
I agree with you as it is an extra process just running for no reason, but for me I would still turn off VP9 hardware acceleration because it drops frames in YouTube playback while software doesn't. It is a slight pain to remember to rename/delete the program each time the drivers are updated also. I'll do both! :)
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,295 (0.93/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
I agree with you as it is an extra process just running for no reason, but for me I would still turn off VP9 hardware acceleration because it drops frames in YouTube playback while software doesn't. It is a slight pain to remember to rename/delete the program each time the drivers are updated also. I'll do both! :)
Actually the process runs to enable the in-game overlay similar to what you see when using MSI's GPU overclocking app
If it's dropping frames then you have a network or browser or GPU being to old problem I play 1080p youtube videos all the time and never suffer dropped frames ever even in peak times and i never turn off HWA in my browser
 
Last edited:
Top