• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Radeon X800 Voltmods

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#5
R311 in pic3 second row down from pin5 (vdd) ... just couldn't wait :D
 

hugobossy

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2004
Messages
10
Likes
0
#6
the one with "108" ??? hard to read

my pencil is ready~~ my gpu is 590 now, i want my vmem to b 590 too~~ :D
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#7
that's the one ... go easy if you're using a stock HSF and you should do the VDDQ which is R256 in line like the VDD R311 under pin 5 second row...
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#9
Hugo you can measure the VDDQ from the backside. Next to the resistor R256 looking from the top of your card down to the capacitor C110 next to R256 on the left side. It's the backside of the cap so all you see is two silver dots. Measure from the bottom dot to get your VDDQ voltage...
 

hugobossy

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2004
Messages
10
Likes
0
#10
weird, after i modded vdd and vddq, my card cannot run stable at 590/530, where it used to be without artifacts.....
anyway, i will try to pencil mod again this afternoon
goin to sleep now~~ it's 4:46am in NZ
btw, thx alot Urlyin:)
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#11
Did you go to high ? do the vmem first, just go up to 2.08 and test the card... my memory didn't really take off until I did the VDDQ ...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,021
Likes
17,872
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12
images updated
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#13
W1zzard said:
images updated
I'd assumed that was the same as the VDD. If I recall the voltage didn't change when I penciled R256. I'll have to double check that one. I was able to verify voltage change on the backside of C110(right next to R256) which is one of the Caps John said to check on the front side.... Thanks for changing the pic though :)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,021
Likes
17,872
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
i'm pretty sure the measurement points are right ... i measured them .. both have a different voltage
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#15
I stand corrected ... that measure point does indeed work... better than reaching down to the bottom of the board... checked it before and after VDDQ mod... voltage changes :)
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#17
Hugo did you correct your problem with the VDD and VDDQ vmod? The board has a limit for vcore voltage, once you reach it the card will shutdown. The over-current allows you to go past the limit. Which I wouldn't recommend ...
 
Last edited:
T

Turdhat

Guest
#19
I am a wuss ! I want to do this so bad but I am very afraid of frying it ! I could send it to viper john I guess. I want 550/575 stable.
 

Quazi

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
90
Likes
0
#20
I just want to post these to let someone who can tell me if I have taken it to far. Start voltages on the vmem was 2.09. And on the vddq it was 2.02. Then I took the card out and check the ohms reading. For the vmem resistor it read 993, and on the vddq resistor it read 767. Now these were allot more touchy when it came to the graphite than the vcore resistor was. It was hard to get them down by 30k ohms. I got close with both of them, then I would either add a little graphite, or try to take some away then it would be way off. Anyway on the vmem, I went from 993 to 962. This up my voltage for the vmem from 2.09v to 2.17. On the vddq, I went from 767 to 739. This up my voltage on the vddq from 2.02v to 2.08. Are these numbers within reason. I can now get all 600MHz out of my memory chips. I haven't checked how far the core will go now. I've been running it at 540MHz. Please let me know if these numbers are reasonable. Thanks!
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#21
Quazi... everywhere I've seen the default of 20k on both the vmem and vddq. Looks like you stayed within 8 volts... the only thing you need to watch for with the vddq and vmem is that your memory chips don't get to hot. Your not using stock HFS not sure if you have passive heat sinks on the memory but you should be okay ....
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
151
Likes
7
Location
Worcester, England
#22
I'm still a little unsure about the pencil line 'adding' process.
Do you make a line/trace on the resistor (top) from end to end.
Or at the side? or do you make a trace on the PCD between the two ends & avoid the res totally.

How about a little video?
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#23
cmberry20 said:
I'm still a little unsure about the pencil line 'adding' process.
Do you make a line/trace on the resistor (top) from end to end.
Or at the side? or do you make a trace on the PCD between the two ends & avoid the res totally.

How about a little video?
Along the side... starting at the soldered end to soldered end. Gently run the 2b pencil along the side of the resistor... Does that help?
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260
Likes
129
#25
Shading in would be too extreme ....just sharpen your 2b pencil, run it back and forth on a piece of paper to take the sharp point down a little. Looking at pic3 in the begining of this thread. Which you should read the article if you haven't yet. Look at one of the resistors that are black with a number on it. Place your 2b pencil at the silver end (soldered) at one end, gently run it across the side of the resistor to the other silver end. It doesn't take much to reduce the resistance. A couple of swipes should do it... Are you using a multimeter?