• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

RAID-5 setup under Windows 8

Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
35 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Memory 6GB DDR3-1666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 5970
Storage 120GB solid state, loose arrangement of 7200RPMs as data disks
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Champion Professional
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#1
Hi, all.

I'm setting up a RAID array on my computer consisting of 4x 3TB drives. I'm using the Intel ICH10R chip on my Asus P6X58D-E motherboard for this.

After wrangling with my motherboard including flashing the BIOS, I was able to get the drives to be recognised as 2.7TB properly rather than the 700GB annoyance that's caused on some older motherboards. Assuming everything was well and good, I initialised the array at boot using the Intel RAID utility, and went ahead with installing Windows 8 on my SSD (it's not connected to the Intel ports on my motherboard, but to the other ones, so there'll be no issues with that).

Now with Windows 8 installed, it's -just not seeing- the RAID array even though the system tells me at boot that the four drives are RAIDed. It's showing them as four individual 700GB drives, and I've just got no idea where to go from here.

Any suggestions?

This is what the Intel and the Windows config screens look like, if that's any help.

http://i.imgur.com/HnWqE.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/tCfO4.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#2
Umm...
You surely have Intel RST (RAID) driver installed?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
35 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Memory 6GB DDR3-1666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 5970
Storage 120GB solid state, loose arrangement of 7200RPMs as data disks
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Champion Professional
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#3
I went to the Intel hardware autocheck-thing and it said everything was up to date.

Hmm. I'll try again on that. Considering dropping back to Seven, as Windows 8 has been giving me no end of nonsense.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#4
Yeah manually download and install the latest Rapid Storage Technology package. A manager app plus drivers. I'm not so sure you absolutely need it-didn't under 7-but it never hurts and very well could fix your issue(s).

I went to the Intel hardware autocheck-thing and it said everything was up to date.

Hmm. I'll try again on that. Considering dropping back to Seven, as Windows 8 has been giving me no end of nonsense.
You're just not aware of/used to all the details yet.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#5
Right-o.
That auto-check doesn't deem RST a "must have". Install RST and you're good.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
35 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Processor Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Memory 6GB DDR3-1666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 5970
Storage 120GB solid state, loose arrangement of 7200RPMs as data disks
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Champion Professional
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#6
Thanks all. I installed the RST drivers and it suddenly detected the array.

You'd think that Intel would make RST on their must have list... Or that Windows would automatically find drivers for it in the same way it does for other hardware.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#7
Yeah...though most don't run RAID. Can't hurt to update the storage controller driver anyway though.