• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

RBE feature requests

vedaire69

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
7970 bioses

ok i know bag is havving a tough time of it. so rbe is behind but does anyone know of another radeon bios editor im needing to modify my bios myself and cant find another.
 

vedaire69

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Rbe

ok everyone we need to beg borrow plead and steal if necc. to get bag to please keep RBe going as it seems to be the only Bios editor available to us radeon users and without it. We can't edit any of the bioses for the 7900 series of cards.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
12
Location
Slovakia
Processor Core i7 5820k
Motherboard MSI x99s Mpower
Cooling Zalman Reserator 1, XSPC RX120, Koolance QDCs, Koolance MVR-40, EK Supreme HF, EK vga supreme HF
Memory 4x4GB crucial 2133MHz
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD6950 2GB biosmod to HD6970, undervolted (880MHz@1.080v)
Storage Intel SSD 330 180GB, Samsung HD103UJ 1TB, Seagate ST31500341AS 1,5TB, Seagate ST4000DM000 4TB
Display(s) HP LP3065 30"
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI audio device -> Yamaha RX-V1600
Power Supply Corsair AX860 80plus platinum
Software Windows 8.1 prof. x64 eng retail.
Second, the structure of the BIOS changed to a noticeable degree with the 7xx0 generation cards, so supporting them would be a lot of effort to put in. And third, it's pointless to put in all the effort just to see that the catalyst drivers block any changes to the BIOS anyway.
not even voltage editing? it was still working on HD69xx, and it was really useful because it allowed me to lower power consumption of my HD6970 (modded HD6950) by decreasing voltages to:
0.8V@250MHz (idle) 0.95V@500MHz (UVD) 1.075V@880MHz (3D), originally it was
0.9V@250MHz (idle) 1.00V@500MHz (UVD) 1.175V@880MHz (3D).
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
66 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Core i7 2600k
Motherboard ASRock Pro3 Socket 1155
Cooling Cooler Master 212+
Memory 8GB Corsair 2000MHz
Video Card(s) HD 6970 2GB 900/1450 Stock Volts
Storage 2TB Samsung F1/F3 Intel Raid 0
Display(s) Dell 24" 1080P
Case Antec 900
ok everyone we need to beg borrow plead and steal if necc. to get bag to please keep RBe going as it seems to be the only Bios editor available to us radeon users and without it. We can't edit any of the bioses for the 7900 series of cards.
Yeah totally agree, what can we do to help?
 

AndyK70

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I would like to have to possibility to change the default refresh rates located in the bios.

It was possible (long time ago) with RadEdit from Alex Yakovlev, but this tool is not developed any more and the last version does not support newer cards.
I can't find any other tool to do the job and RBE is the best tool for that at the moment, just lacking this feature. :D
 

Devmode

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ukraine
Crossflashing

I have the Radeon 6930 with BIOS switch. This videocard is very similar to FirePro V7900. Due to the fact that the program is not updated very often I find a useful opportunity to change the hardware id manually, of course, at user's own risk. This will allow at least try to enjoy the Radeon with FirePro driver without the use of third-party software and patches.
So please add more possibilities for crossflashing
 

Attachments

svl7

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Well, currently I'm thinking about giving the project out of my hands. What I need is a trustworthy VB6 coder that is skilled to some degree (requirements are not too high) and willing to maintain my (a little sloppy written) code. Maybe you can spread the word and find someone. :toast:
First of all, thanks a lot for all the work you put in RBE, it's really a great tool with an astonishing amount of features.
I'm sorry to hear you don't seem to have any plans to further develop this tool, but I can understand this, such a project can be incredibly time consuming.

Did you ever think about making it an open source project? If all people had access to the source code, chances are that it would develop faster.
Of course you'd still need to find someone who manages the whole project, but if open sourced, the software would be more likely to be up to date with the latest cards.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,026 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,892
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Did you ever think about making it an open source project? If all people had access to the source code, chances are that it would develop faster.
opensourcing projects doesnt work in my experience. i tried a couple of times with simple things like plugins etc. the amount of people who have enough skill to just compile the source code is very small. serious programmers in the hardware scene are usually busy with their own projects.

with the current limitation in ati's driver (bios hash check), ati bios editing is basically dead until we find a good programmer to take a look at what the ati driver does and how to fix up the checksum or how to bypass it. volunteers are welcome to step forward (better be handy with windbg, ida pro and assembly)

nvidia introduced an even stronger system with gtx 680, but the hash check is not active in the driver, it is unknown whether it will be enabled or not, they have the infrastructure for it though
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hmm so why did AMD add the bios switch for if its pretty hard to flash the chip anyways
its to prevent users from bricking the card
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2009
Messages
122 (0.04/day)
Likes
17

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Aug 9, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
About Radeon Bios Editor

RBE why not release new version ?
why not add radeon hd 7000 series support ?
My graphic card Sapphire hd 7970 vapor-x 6 gb oc gddr5 RBE not working my graphic card.
other bios editor nothing work
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
Hi

RBE why not release new version ?
why not add radeon hd 7000 series support ?
My graphic card Sapphire hd 7970 vapor-x 6 gb oc gddr5 RBE not working my graphic card.
other bios editor nothing work
"with the current limitation in ati's driver (bios hash check), ati bios editing is basically dead"

Please read here

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
53 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Rome
Hi all, is there anyone so gentle to help me in preserving the genuinity of my edited mobility hd 4250 bios?
I have just adjusted the voltages that I needed with the help of atomdis but now I need to recalculate the hashes that will give me the same checksum.
This is my previous post:
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...-my-mobility-hd4250-bios.198463/#post-3076699
Unfortunately RBE does not allow me to recalculate the hashes due to the fact that is not able to recognize the bios as a good one.
Thank you!