• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

RBE feature requests

t3hn0

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core-duo e2160
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Formula
Cooling stock :P
Memory 2x 2gb Mushkin Redline 1000mhz
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD3650 256MB
Storage 2x WD 250Gb
Case Antec P182b
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX
Power Supply Enermax Infinity 650w
#2
what if you could have some recently opened bios list so it wouldn't take you few minutes browsing on your pc to find bios?

* edit:
check for update button?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#3
  • An option to load and/or save the changes made on the bios. So you can load the changes when you got a clean bios from to begin.
  • A warning message like "This is a HD2x00/HD3xx0 Editor" If someone want to open/edit a PRE HD2x00/3xx0 Bios
  • Automatic check for a updates at start up
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#4
  • A function which check after entering input, if there are other input boxes with the same old value. Gives a pop up and ask if the user want to change the other values boxes to the new value. (Is very handy when changing memory speed etc)
 

Wolf91

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
It would be lovely if it were possibile to control the FAN SETTINGS of 3870X2 cards.

Many people have great problems with the Fan Stepping table...... This could solve them and so won't be necessary to use RivaTuner!

My card have this problem.... The fan starts running fast just over 90°.... But in 9 cases out of 10 it will reset before this temperature to prevent frying.....
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Location
UK, Lincoln
System Name Omicron
Processor Athlon X2 3800 @5000
Motherboard Asrock 939DualSATA2
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x 1gb Corsair XMS DDR3500PRO 2-3-2-6 1t
Video Card(s) Radeon 3870
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) BenQ FP241w
Case X-Blade Deluxe
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software WinXP SP2
#6
Id like to see a pal switch for enabling pal display sizes. Every previous radeon card allows 720x512, but for some reason missing on the 3870. Some cards have pal hardare switch as all previous radeon cards ... but not my launch day 3870.

If it can by added into the bios by this great bios editor, then that would be great ;)
 

BAGZZlash

RBE Author
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
587 (0.16/day)
Likes
346
#7
Id like to see a pal switch for enabling pal display sizes. Every previous radeon card allows 720x512, but for some reason missing on the 3870. Some cards have pal hardare switch as all previous radeon cards ... but not my launch day 3870.

If it can by added into the bios by this great bios editor, then that would be great ;)
You can set this using the CCC, can't you?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
180 (0.04/day)
Likes
2
Location
UK, Lincoln
System Name Omicron
Processor Athlon X2 3800 @5000
Motherboard Asrock 939DualSATA2
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x 1gb Corsair XMS DDR3500PRO 2-3-2-6 1t
Video Card(s) Radeon 3870
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) BenQ FP241w
Case X-Blade Deluxe
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Music
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software WinXP SP2
#8
No. Not with the 3870. drop any other card in such as x800 and 1950pro and it appears as a selectable res. plop 3870 back in and the res is gone. The 3870 does have an ntsc sticker on it. im not sure if any have been released as pal versions. kinda hoping that its an unlockable hidden away in the bios somewhere ;)
 

L7R

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Support for changing voltages in 2900 series cards would be great! ...Or if someone already got it working (in any RBE version) please let us know, thank you. Although quantum force works fine for voltage changing, it doesnt preserve correct bios checksum.
 

L7R

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Just tried previous versions and found 1.07 works with 2900Pro(512bit) and 2900XT. Both 2D and 3D voltages works fine! 1.08, 1.09 and 1.10 didn't preserve voltage changes. I use Atiflash for flashing.
 

chamb

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
It would be lovely if it were possibile to control the FAN SETTINGS of 3870X2 cards.

Many people have great problems with the Fan Stepping table...... This could solve them and so won't be necessary to use RivaTuner!

My card have this problem.... The fan starts running fast just over 90°.... But in 9 cases out of 10 it will reset before this temperature to prevent frying.....
Hello BAGZZlash. You really make an amazing work on this RBE!

I am definitely voting for this one: Fan Settings access for HD3870X2. Without RivaTuner my Asus card crashes anytime I'm playing some serious games, because of overheating...

What we'd really love is the direct temperature transfer function like the one you get for single HD3870... Much better than those stupid temperature tables they use by default.
 

BAGZZlash

RBE Author
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
587 (0.16/day)
Likes
346
#13
It would be lovely if it were possibile to control the FAN SETTINGS of 3870X2 cards.
Hello BAGZZlash. You really make an amazing work on this RBE!

I am definitely voting for this one: Fan Settings access for HD3870X2.
RBE v1.11 (coming the next days) will add full support of fan control for most 3870 X². Still, some 3870 X² can't be supported because the part of the BIOS programming the controller is messed up. But again: For most cards it will work. :)
 

chamb

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
RBE v1.11 (coming the next days) will add full support of fan control for most 3870 X². Still, some 3870 X² can't be supported because the part of the BIOS programming the controller is messed up. But again: For most cards it will work. :)
This the best news of the day !

I will now start praying my Asus card has a standard design.

Have a nice day BAGZZlash.
 

BAGZZlash

RBE Author
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
587 (0.16/day)
Likes
346
#15
This the best news of the day !

I will now start praying my Asus card has a standard design.

Have a nice day BAGZZlash.
In the TPU database, there are two BIOSes for 3870 X² from Asus, both are being supported. :) Still, gotta hope the card takes the changed values. Would you do me the favour and keep me updated after testing it?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#16
Does RBE support the HD4k series?
 

chamb

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
In the TPU database, there are two BIOSes for 3870 X² from Asus, both are being supported. :) Still, gotta hope the card takes the changed values. Would you do me the favour and keep me updated after testing it?
When RBE 1.11 is available I will take some time and try to flash my Asus HD3870X2 with updated fan control. I do not plan to change the clocks though. I'll post my results on this forum of course.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#19
a force flash option witha big warning and many clauses.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.34/day)
Likes
132
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
#20
I think it would be sweet if you ould set it up so that after you flash the card with the edited bios that you can overclock the card from there, this way you dont have to keep flashing the bios, it seems that after you flash the edited bios on to it they are then locked.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.76/day)
Likes
465
#21
I think it would be sweet if you ould set it up so that after you flash the card with the edited bios that you can overclock the card from there, this way you dont have to keep flashing the bios, it seems that after you flash the edited bios on to it they are then locked.
which card are using? I can still overclock more after i've flash. I just use RBE to edit voltage and fan settings.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
307 (0.09/day)
Likes
75
#22
I want to edit/change the default values of mem/gpu which you can see in GPU-Z.

For example the Sapphire HD 3870 Atomic Edition bios has a speed of 825/1200mhz. When I edit my normal bios to those speeds I still see the old default vaules of 777/1126mhz.
 

chamb

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
When RBE 1.11 is available I will take some time and try to flash my Asus HD3870X2 with updated fan control. I do not plan to change the clocks though. I'll post my results on this forum of course.
Well I've just done it.
I flashed my Asus HD3870X2 card to modify the fan control. It worked perfectly at the first attempt, the card's fan speed is now proportional to the core temperature (transfer function). And I do not experience those crashes in games anymore.

Thank you so much BAGZZlash for making this possible.

My card exact reference is "EAH3870X2/G/HTDI/1G" in case someone has the same. It is a pretty standard design that almost every HD3870X2 on the market would follow.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
13
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
System Name mAkS
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E0 E8400 @3.0Ghz (Acheived 4.4Ghz On Stock Cooling)
Motherboard Asus P5K-V (Dead :[ )
Cooling CPU + Front + Rear + Side
Memory XMS2 DHX TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX/800 BUS
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600 GT Overclocked
Storage Seagate Sata II 250 GB ++ 500 GB
Display(s) Hp 2009f 20-inch Wide-screen
Case Legend
Audio Device(s) Build-In 8 CHannel (Dell 5.1")
Power Supply CoolerMaster 460W eXtreme Power Plus
Software Many
Benchmark Scores E8400 hardware rank 94th on hwbot in wPrime :D
#24
Support for X1000 plxzz...
 

Divet

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#25
Please, add the possibility to adjust "duty cycle min". On my Radeon 2650 this parameter is 31 and I am planning to change it to 25. For quietness.