• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Reallocated Sectors Count: Should I be worried?

Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,028 (1.31/day)
System Name Acer Aspire VX 15
Processor Intel Core i5 7300HQ
Motherboard KBL Wish_KLS
Cooling Dual fan cooling system
Memory Hyundai Electronics 4GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
Storage Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer 15.6"
Case Acer
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Mouse Elephant ELE G7 wireless
Software Windows 10
According to CrystalDiskInfo, one of my drives is under "Caution", specifically because of Reallocated Sectors Count. It's currently at 99 (Raw value: 000000000033). Is failure imminent?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,888 (1.21/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite|Gigabyte 990FXA UD3 (rev 4.0)
Cooling AMD Wraith spire rgb stock hsf| CM Hyper 212
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 GB SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P |Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 1080P
Case NZXT H500 Black |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse | Redragon Mammoth M801
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores went Ryzen 7 2700 :D :D :D build is complete and running perfectly
I have a WD Blue 1 TB that does the same thing, started a week after I bought it. I would also like to know the implications of this.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,668 (4.04/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
i have a 1TB sammy F3 i think i got it years ago and it did this after about a month. the bigger the drive the more can happen. like new graphics cards the more sophisticated the easier they break. every HDD is alocated "extra space" in reserve for problems like this. that said while it can mean the drive is failing it depends on how fast it is finding sectors. which also depends on how much data you keep on it. my particular one has about 200gb left and the sector count hasnt gone up. but it does have bad ones and its been years. its still working fine and iv had no issue with any of the data on it.

bad sectors are going to happen. what you want to look for imo other then bad sectors is retry count. if that is incredibly high that means the drive is having problems reading/writing data. that could point to almost imminent failure.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,456 (0.80/day)
Every drive has the occasional defects in manufacturing. These defects prevent reading/writing to a sector. As a way to combat this, the sectors that are flagged as damaged are moved, or reallocated.

As every drive series is different, sector reallocation is a poor indicator of drive health. Some large drives don't have enough data (user submitted records of "good" drive information), so they default to the danger readings of much smaller drives.


In short, you should worry if reallocated sectors is increasing consistently. If the number is constant after several boots, then it isn't a problem. If it increases consistently then you should be worried.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,668 (4.04/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Every drive has the occasional defects in manufacturing. These defects prevent reading/writing to a sector. As a way to combat this, the sectors that are flagged as damaged are moved, or reallocated.

As every drive series is different, sector reallocation is a poor indicator of drive health. Some large drives don't have enough data (user submitted records of "good" drive information), so they default to the danger readings of much smaller drives.


In short, you should worry if reallocated sectors is increasing consistently. If the number is constant after several boots, then it isn't a problem. If it increases consistently then you should be worried.
you wrote that way better than i did. :toast:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,441 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
if you have a WD drive and that number keeps going up, or the drive shows hangs while accessing, RMA it.
WD offers to send you a drive before you send yours, so easy to transfer data
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,028 (1.31/day)
System Name Acer Aspire VX 15
Processor Intel Core i5 7300HQ
Motherboard KBL Wish_KLS
Cooling Dual fan cooling system
Memory Hyundai Electronics 4GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
Storage Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer 15.6"
Case Acer
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Mouse Elephant ELE G7 wireless
Software Windows 10
I haven't really noticed until now, but the last time I ran CrystalDiskInfo it certainly isn't "Caution" for that drive because of Reallocated Sectors Count.

It's quite an old HDD already though, I bought it when I still had an i7 920 and a HD 4870.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,668 (4.04/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I haven't really noticed until now, but the last time I ran CrystalDiskInfo it certainly isn't "Caution" for that drive because of Reallocated Sectors Count.

It's quite an old HDD already though, I bought it when I still had an i7 920 and a HD 4870.
just watch it. no need to do it excessivly but a weekly check of the bad sector count should give you a yes or no within a few weeks.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,888 (1.21/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite|Gigabyte 990FXA UD3 (rev 4.0)
Cooling AMD Wraith spire rgb stock hsf| CM Hyper 212
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 GB SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P |Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 1080P
Case NZXT H500 Black |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse | Redragon Mammoth M801
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores went Ryzen 7 2700 :D :D :D build is complete and running perfectly
So i checked my S/N and whatnot and it seems my drive IS still under warranty till Aug 2013. Now the crappy (IMO) part.

First off its a Seagate drive, not a WD. Secondly, they want some bullshit 2 inch thick foam rubber holder thing to accept warranty. Where can i find these in Canada, and do I even need to use it or not? http://www.reflexpackaging.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=103&Itemid=110 thats what they want to return the drive.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.02/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Just wrap it really good in bubble wrap (like 4-5 inches thick) and put it in a large box than they send it in.
I've never had a problem with them accepting an RMA if it was packaged well.

Make SURE you put a copy of the RMA information in with the package, and make sure the RMA number is written on the outside of the box (I usually write it on all six sides).
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.72/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
According to CrystalDiskInfo, one of my drives is under "Caution", specifically because of Reallocated Sectors Count. It's currently at 99 (Raw value: 000000000033). Is failure imminent?
You see stuff like that, you change the drive. End of. Hopefully it's still under warranty and you can rma it.

Hope you have a backup of the data on it? If not, do it, asap.

Good advice as usual, K. :)
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,888 (1.21/day)
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Ryzen R7 2700 | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite|Gigabyte 990FXA UD3 (rev 4.0)
Cooling AMD Wraith spire rgb stock hsf| CM Hyper 212
Memory 8GB X 2 DDR4 3000mhz Team Group Vulcan |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Adata XPG 8200 PRO 512GB SSD OS / 240 GB SSD Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P |Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 1080P
Case NZXT H500 Black |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek | Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650w 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Steelseries Rival 500 15 button mouse | Redragon Mammoth M801
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores went Ryzen 7 2700 :D :D :D build is complete and running perfectly
So i called Seagate again and the rep mad note of me not having the dumb cushions, she also noted that i should use anti-static bubble wrap and whatnot and the RMA will NOT be refused for using that packaging. It also only has to go just past Toronto for mailing so the cost of the bubble wrap wont be of concern as the distance and weight of the HD isn't very much ( or so i would assume :p)
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.02/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Just put the drive in an anti-static bag and then in the bubble wrap. :)


For a bit of clarification on the SMART relocation errors.

Bad sectors are a failure of the medium. This could be isolated to a particular spot due to the manufacturing process and never progress further, or it could be an overall degredation of the medium over time that will lead to catastrrophic failure.
When a read/write/verification error occurs, a remapping of the sector is attempted. If the sector is bad enough the data may not be salvageable on the remap. These will show up as unsuccessful remaps.

Relocation errors are not a sign of impending doom, but if you read through Googles statistics on hard drive failures you will see that when a drive throws relocation errors there is a significant statistical probability that the drive will fail sooner than one that is not exhibiting this behavior.

There is no data which correlates disk usage to bad sectors at all. So if someone tells you that because you are hammering your hard drives it will lead to bad sectors, they are full of shit.

What is significant statistical probability?
It means that when you review lots of occurances there is a consistant trend that most will fall at some point in a statistical curve of failure or survival.

What does sooner mean?
Could still last for years and die of something else before the bad sector growth eats it alive.
As was stated, the rate of the bad sector growth is more indicative of impending doom than just the fact that sectors have been remapped.
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,619 (4.43/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Yeah, if I were handling RMAs I would see no reason not to accept that sort of packaging. I've gotten drives from newegg that were packaged much worse...
 

CaptainFailcon

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2012
Messages
194 (0.07/day)
Yeah, if I were handling RMAs I would see no reason not to accept that sort of packaging. I've gotten drives from newegg that were packaged much worse...
I once got a hard drive that was just thrown in a single layer of bubble wrap and then placed at the bottem of the box :shadedshu
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.02/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Some people just stuff them into padded envelopes and send them back. :wtf:
That's why manufacturers usually require a minimum packaging requirement.
They prefer the original packaging, but as long as it's sufficient to prevent shock damage they are usually okay with it.
Same with monitors and other items. It's impossible for a manufacturer to expect a company that uses dozens of hundreds of components to keep all the original boxes.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,028 (1.31/day)
System Name Acer Aspire VX 15
Processor Intel Core i5 7300HQ
Motherboard KBL Wish_KLS
Cooling Dual fan cooling system
Memory Hyundai Electronics 4GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
Storage Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer 15.6"
Case Acer
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Mouse Elephant ELE G7 wireless
Software Windows 10
There are some weird sounds...and it seems it's coming from that drive. Ugh.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,575 (0.53/day)
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name my box
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi x470 Ultimate
Cooling NZXT Kraken x72
Memory 2×16GiB @ 3200MHz, some Corsair RGB led meme crap
Video Card(s) AMD [ASUS ROG STRIX] Radeon RX Vega64 [OC Edition]
Storage Samsung 970 Pro && 2× Seagate IronWolf Pro 4TB in Raid 1
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black TG
Audio Device(s) Using optical S/PDIF output lol
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Razer Naga Epic
Keyboard Das Keyboard Model S Ultimate
Software Funtoo Linux
Benchmark Scores 118405.21 BogoMIPS
Is my hard drive failing? [current pending sector count]

Edit: This was supposed to be a new thread. Yet for some reason, it attached itself to this one. *shrug*
Note: There was a similar thread Here, but I thought it would be for the best not to "hijack" it, so I decided to start a new one. If this judgment of mine is bad, mods, please move/merge it. Thank You!
/edit

About a WD15EARS-00MVB0 (WD Caviar Green).
I checked SMART data of my HDDs again not long ago, and I noticed, that one of my drives has a warning on:

Code:
ID: 197
Current Pending Sector Count

Normalized: 196
Worst: 196
Threshold: 0
Value: 997 sectors

Raw: 0xE50300000000
"Number of sectors waiting to be remapped. If the sector waiting to be remapped is subsequently written or read successfully, this value is decreased and the sector is not remapped. Read errors on the sector will not remap the sector, it will only be remapped on a failed write attempt."

That is the current reading. At the moment I spotted this, it was 1022 (so it decreased). Though, Reallocated Sector Count && Reallocation Count (IDs 5 & 196) are both at 0, so it seems those few sectors had been "recovered".
I ran chkdsk /f /r on Window$ (as of it 97% is in an NTFS partition), it found nothing wrong with that drive. Also ran HDD Regenerator - it also found nothing.

Should I be worried? Is this enough of an "excuse" to RMA it?

Also:
if you have a WD drive and that number keeps going up, or the drive shows hangs while accessing, RMA it.
WD offers to send you a drive before you send yours, so easy to transfer data
I was wondering, if this "sending a drive before" is available in my region, or is it only for the US?
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,575 (0.53/day)
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name my box
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi x470 Ultimate
Cooling NZXT Kraken x72
Memory 2×16GiB @ 3200MHz, some Corsair RGB led meme crap
Video Card(s) AMD [ASUS ROG STRIX] Radeon RX Vega64 [OC Edition]
Storage Samsung 970 Pro && 2× Seagate IronWolf Pro 4TB in Raid 1
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black TG
Audio Device(s) Using optical S/PDIF output lol
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Razer Naga Epic
Keyboard Das Keyboard Model S Ultimate
Software Funtoo Linux
Benchmark Scores 118405.21 BogoMIPS
B.ring
U.p
M.y
P.ost
 

fahadghouri

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
brand new seagate barracuda 2 tb 7200 rpm

Hi,

I have just got my hard drive and after running crystal disk info, hd tune and HDDScan it says it has reallocated sector count value 100, worst 100, raw 181, threshold 036.

It is brand new drive and i checked it before putting data in it with above mentioned utilities. After putting data its the same and its been a week now.

I have attached a screenshot please help me decide to send hard drive back to vendor or should i keep it ? hard drive is working fine though.

Thanks for your time.
 

Attachments

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,852 (2.29/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Hi,

I have just got my hard drive and after running crystal disk info, hd tune and HDDScan it says it has reallocated sector count value 100, worst 100, raw 181, threshold 036.

It is brand new drive and i checked it before putting data in it with above mentioned utilities. After putting data its the same and its been a week now.

I have attached a screenshot please help me decide to send hard drive back to vendor or should i keep it ? hard drive is working fine though.

Thanks for your time.
Probly a SMART error ignore it ..
 

fahadghouri

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
thanks for your response, i have checked it with all 3 major hdd utilities, it may be an error but i need to make sure as i am willing to fill it up. just an idea from experts. thanks.
 
Top