• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

red CPU led

Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#26
Connect the motherboard speaker(beeper), remove the RAM and boot up. See if you hear a series of beeps. If yes- Your CPU and mobo is fine. I don't trust CPU LED. Also try resetting the CMOS via the jumper and also the battery-remove and remount everything from scratch final.
 

iNgsane

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#27
Connect the motherboard speaker(beeper), remove the RAM and boot up. See if you hear a series of beeps. If yes- Your CPU and mobo is fine. I don't trust CPU LED. Also try resetting the CMOS via the jumper and also the battery-remove and remount everything from scratch final.
i've already reset cmos, made no diference and the battery seems to be unaccessable on this mb :(
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#28
hi, i had only transfered my hardware to another case and now when i start it up i get the red cpu led and nothing shows onscreen, help please.
specs:
-sabertooth p67
-i7 2600k
-corsair vengeance 8gb
out of interest, are all the fans running on the psu, cpu etc?

If so, what brand/wattage PSU you running? and what other components do you have installed besides the mobo, chip & ram.... it could be that your power supply isnt up to powering it all.
(If its a multi rail psu you may have everything running off one rail and the psu cant cope)
 

iNgsane

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#29
out of interest, are all the fans running on the psu, cpu etc?

If so, what brand/wattage PSU you running? and what other components do you have installed besides the mobo, chip & ram.... it could be that your power supply isnt up to powering it all.
(If its a multi rail psu you may have everything running off one rail and the psu cant cope)
its a corsair tx850m
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#30
aaah ok scratch that suggestion then :D
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#31
Do you not see anything at all on screen?
for now i could only suggest you that you take out the cmos battery for at least 5min and to take out the cpu check pins and reseat it, if that doesn't fix the issue you might have done something during the move that resulted in this issue
 

iNgsane

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#32
Do you not see anything at all on screen?
for now i could only suggest you that you take out the cmos battery for at least 5min and to take out the cpu check pins and reseat it, if that doesn't fix the issue you might have done something during the move that resulted in this issue
nothing shows onscreen "no signal detected" i've already reseated the cpu, no diference. would it be safe to assume that its the MB thats broke? Should i buy a new one?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,570 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,469
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#33
Red CPU LED on my Crosshair V Formula as well ended up just shipping it off to Asus tried multiple CPU's, ram, VGA's etc. Hopefully yours is something simpler than that. I have one off my Xeon X3440, but it is an LGA1156 cooler so I do not know if it will fit. Assuming you are CONUS you can have it for whatever shipping is.
 

iNgsane

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#34
update guys, upon further close inspection of the motherboard, about half of the system panel connector(where you connect the power, restart, etc..case cables) has a brownish color, seems burnt and the restart button does not work, could this be the reason?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#35
Can you post a picture of the area?