• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RX 580 BIOS flash

geepeeu

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
10 (0.32/day)
Hello i bought a
Gigabyte GV-RX580GAMING-8GD
which tends to have another bios if i am correct
129714


i've ran a few games so far and i have not encountered any problems, except in league of legends some strange stutters,
i want to know what are my possibilites to find the original gpu and put the proper bios, any help will be good!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Where did you buy the card from?

What is your room temperatures? Get screenshots of temperatures while in games to include LOL.

Please take pictures of all white stickers on back of card, sometimes they are on heatsink, sometimes info is on the white silkscreen of the pcb itself.

Post them here.

Hello i bought a
Gigabyte GV-RX580GAMING-8GD
which tends to have another bios if i am correct
View attachment 129714

i've ran a few games so far and i have not encountered any problems, except in league of legends some strange stutters,
i want to know what are my possibilites to find the original gpu and put the proper bios, any help will be good!
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,254 (0.92/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
2200MHz on the memory is not stock clocks for that card nor is that Core clock it should be 1340MHz CClk & 2000MHz MCLK

Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB.gif


here's my original BIOS
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
2200MHz on the memory is not stock clocks for that card nor is that Core clock it should be 1340MHz CClk & 2000MHz MCLK

View attachment 129745

here's my original BIOS
His memory is micron, typically bios for Samsung have Hynix Timings too where as Micron is separate.

He also posted a sapphire bios, so the device IDs are way off.

Id like to get a picture of the heatsink and pci mounting bracket too.

Better yet a complete board shot to include the card edge opposite of the pcie slot would be nice too
 

geepeeu

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
10 (0.32/day)
Hello again, here are the pictures you needed
129754


129755


Now, i don't want to be fast on my opinion, because i bought it from a stranger, it appears that he just flashed it with the bios he wanted (sapphire), now i dont know how a downclock to the original helps with mining, or maybe its the power-draw, but i play AC:Odyssey and i get very stable fps, not how much i want or how much is supposed to be but i get max of 70C everything is at very high/high, and in league of legends 61-65C nothing more, now i removed the coooler and replaced the thermal paste and i gets better temps

129756

Hello again guys, i think i managed to do it, i forced the Gygabyte bios and everything seems to work fine now
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Refresh gpu-z
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
View attachment 129785
How can i be sure i got the right bios
Verify the clock speeds on gigabytes website, also the card is able to power the monitor correctly, so the device/subsystem IDs are right and memory in bios is right.
 

geepeeu

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
10 (0.32/day)
Okay so on the gigabyte website says
Radeon™ RX 580 Gaming 8G MI
(rev. 1.0/1.1)


Features
Powered by Radeon ™ RX 580
WINDFORCE 2X with 90mm Blade Fan Design
Intuitive AORUS Graphics Engine
Warranty: 3 months


Core Clock
OC mode: 1355MHz
Gaming mode: 1340MHz

which is true but, is there a gigabyte software for OC for this card, or else how am i supposed to achieve the OC mode (msi afterburner?),
sorry if questions are lame i just came from Rog strix 10606 6gb

Also one more question, im running an asrock motherboard model ab 350 gaming fatality 4k, when i was using the pre-installed bios my motherboard ran with a sapphire logo on pc start, what's the meaning of this?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Okay so on the gigabyte website says
Radeon™ RX 580 Gaming 8G MI
(rev. 1.0/1.1)


Features
Powered by Radeon ™ RX 580
WINDFORCE 2X with 90mm Blade Fan Design
Intuitive AORUS Graphics Engine
Warranty: 3 months


Core Clock
OC mode: 1355MHz
Gaming mode: 1340MHz

which is true but, is there a gigabyte software for OC for this card, or else how am i supposed to achieve the OC mode (msi afterburner?),
sorry if questions are lame i just came from Rog strix 10606 6gb

Also one more question, im running an asrock motherboard model ab 350 gaming fatality 4k, when i was using the pre-installed bios my motherboard ran with a sapphire logo on pc start, what's the meaning of this?
Typically there is a switch or you use some software you can always ask gigabyte that question too.

Most of the time people use MSI afterburner or they use watt man
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,254 (0.92/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
If you have GPUz open you can click on the Advanced tab and use the drop down box to scroll to where it says AMD BIOS like in the pic below

Advanced tab AMD BIOS.gif
 

geepeeu

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
10 (0.32/day)
Here's an update, so I downloaded a bios from gigabyte's website and I think my graph card memory is micron so I downloaded fz3 micron mem bios, which "soft" bricked my card, I don't have integrated graphics and the rx 580 is the only one I own so I went to grab a cheap pci graph card just so I can enter bios/windows, now I flashed the bios to the same bios from gigabyte website (micron mem) but the f93 version, now I think I finally settled for a successful flash :), since my card is the mining version without fancy rgb and stuff
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
578 (2.74/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard Generic Dell
A mining card would have no video outputs.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
If you ever have a card that is bricked, it is always best to remove the cards heatsink and verify what memory brand is on the card.


Also this card only has a 90 day warranty (3months)

Its a very cheap SKU with a warranty like that it sounds like a mining version
 

geepeeu

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
10 (0.32/day)
For sure is, yes i did remove it few times but i dont know which chips to look at, i only saw few M logos which i suppose should be micron
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
For sure is, yes i did remove it few times but i dont know which chips to look at, i only saw few M logos which i suppose should be micron
If you see a m with a french curve that makes it look like an electron flying past the M, those are micron
 

geepeeu

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
10 (0.32/day)
Yes i thought so, im still getting 'radeon wattman settings have been restored due to an unexpected system failure' do you have any clue what it might be?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Remove the driver completely, then ddu it twice in windows, once in safemode, get latest chipset drivers, restart and then reinstall the gpu driver and restart.

@FordGT90Concept @AlienIsGOD @INSTG8R @fullinfusion what yall think on this problem
 

geepeeu

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
10 (0.32/day)
It seems to work, no errors for now, should i run polaris bios editor and time the memory?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,130 (6.08/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Top