• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire RX 580 Pulse - Adjust Memory Timings - Better Gaming?

Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
I have an RX 580 that I've recently overclocked.

- Overclocked Core Clock = 1450MHZ @ 1200mV

- Default Core Clock = 1366MHz @ 1150mV

- VRAM Clock = 2000MHz

I tried adjusting the VRAM clock speed in 50MHz increments. Made it up to 2150 but any increase in memory clock speed caused a decrease in gaming performance. Lower FPS.

I was wondering if adjusting the memory timings with something like 'AMD Memory Tweaker' would further enhance the in game performance of my card? If so is there any guide on how to do it? I dont have any experience with doing any of this but have read that some people tweak the timings and get more FPS.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Keep in mind that any increasing in Mhz of memory or core clock would generate MUCH more heat then you think.
The video card producer tested them at a safe temperature.
So after a whole batch test they did on video cards they decided to clock them at xxx memory and yyy the core.
If you start boost the clock and memory for sure you will generate much more heat then the card can manage.
So the card will do the next thing available to protect itself : lower the clock (this is an automated process )
So actually you enter in protection mode with the card. (at least this is what i know)
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
Keep in mind that any increasing in Mhz of memory or core clock would generate MUCH more heat then you think.
The video card producer tested them at a safe temperature.
So after a whole batch test they did on video cards they decided to clock them at xxx memory and yyy the core.
If you start boost the clock and memory for sure you will generate much more heat then the card can manage.
So the card will do the next thing available to protect itself : lower the clock (this is an automated process )
So actually you enter in protection mode with the card. (at least this is what i know)
Thanks for that info. I keep a temp overlay while gaming and with my overclock my highest temp is 78 c. Thats within the 'safe range', from what Ive seen.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
That is what is it reported. In reality you will have some few more degrees there in plus
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
So I can't overclock? I'm using the AMD Radeon software that comes with built in limits that are supposed to make damaging the card nearly impossible.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Foe example at my Asus RX580 the memory chips are exposed so basically you can't raise too much the speed.
On the other hand at my Sapphire RX580 all the chips are covered with thermal pads that transfers perfectly the temp to the cooler.
Basically it depends on the video card producer
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
I have a Sapphire RX 580 Pulse. Do you know how to adjust the memory timings? Would it be worth it? What temp would you reccomend maxing out at?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
When i ajusted my Sapphire was for mining - so i under voltage it and lowered the core. The only thing i raised was the memory. My mems runs at 2050 and core at 1150.
I have my target at 65 degrees.
But that is me
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Overclocking memory after a certain level requires increase of voltage which increases heat and also relaxing of memory timings at the higher bands.

Take a GPU-Z Screenshot please so I can determine what you are running

I have an RX 580 that I've recently overclocked.

- Overclocked Core Clock = 1450MHZ @ 1200mV

- Default Core Clock = 1366MHz @ 1150mV

- VRAM Clock = 2000MHz

I tried adjusting the VRAM clock speed in 50MHz increments. Made it up to 2150 but any increase in memory clock speed caused a decrease in gaming performance. Lower FPS.

I was wondering if adjusting the memory timings with something like 'AMD Memory Tweaker' would further enhance the in game performance of my card? If so is there any guide on how to do it? I dont have any experience with doing any of this but have read that some people tweak the timings and get more FPS.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks
This may be a guide too
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
Overclocking memory after a certain level requires increase of voltage which increases heat and also relaxing of memory timings at the higher bands.

Take a GPU-Z Screenshot please so I can determine what you are running


This may be a guide too

RX 580.gif

AMD Tuning Screenshot.png


@eidairaman1
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
Set the AMD tuning utility back to stock first, and i mean everything. And get Sapphire Trixx or MSI afterburner and do the tuning in 1 of those tools.


@eidairaman1 - Ok, I've got MSI Afterburner and all tuning disabled in Radeon software. Whats next?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
117 (0.30/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Asus ROG-STRIX-RX6600XT-O8G-GAMING
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
@eidairaman1 Thanks for quoting my article!
@jdavid27 Has your 580 got Polaris 20 XTX core or XTR core? If XTX, I don't think it can go too high like 1450 MHz. Most 580 models that are rated higher than 1411 MHz have XTR version core. And though 590 has the same spec as 580, it uses 12 nm process so has higher frequencies.
During my overclocking, I also observed some weird things which are hard to explain. Just like yours, if it went too high, it just didn't perform well. I don't know why, temperature is good, display output is good, everything is good, but it just doesn't perform well.

Oh, maybe it is because the TDP limit. You see you gave it 1200 mV which is A LOT, so power I estimate could be close to 185 W. And even if you increase TDP limit to its maximum, it may fall down because of the capability of the model's power supply.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
@eidairaman1 Thanks for quoting my article!
@jdavid27 Has your 580 got Polaris 20 XTX core or XTR core? If XTX, I don't think it can go too high like 1450 MHz. Most 580 models that are rated higher than 1411 MHz have XTR version core. And though 590 has the same spec as 580, it uses 12 nm process so has higher frequencies.
During my overclocking, I also observed some weird things which are hard to explain. Just like yours, if it went too high, it just didn't perform well. I don't know why, temperature is good, display output is good, everything is good, but it just doesn't perform well.

Oh, maybe it is because the TDP limit. You see you gave it 1200 mV which is A LOT, so power I estimate could be close to 185 W. And even if you increase TDP limit to its maximum, it may fall down because of the capability of the model's power supply.
@RidiculousOwO - My RX 580 is Polaris20XTX. I played Call of Duty Modern Warfare multiplayer most of yesterday with those overclock settings. I had to have the fan speed kick in at 100% at 60c - 70c. This kept the temp at a max of 79c when under the heaviest load. I did see a significant increase in FPS with those core clock settings but the moment I touched the memory settings I lost FPS. I also did notice that my in game core clock would bounce around a little on certain maps. Only a couple of them did that though.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
117 (0.30/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Asus ROG-STRIX-RX6600XT-O8G-GAMING
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
I did see a significant increase in FPS with those core clock settings but the moment I touched the memory settings I lost FPS.
Then it may be memory taking up too much power. Polaris cards' memory has an "almost constant" power consumption which hovers round 30 W, and that is counted into Total Board Power (TBP), which includes core power as well as memory's.
In your case, since touching memory settings lost you framerates, why not leave it there? lol And 256-bit GDDR5 at 2000 MHz provides bandwidth of 256 GB/s which is enough.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
In your case, since touching memory settings lost you framerates, why not leave it there?
Because I'm trying to squeeze out as much performance I can from my graphics card. Haha, and messing around with different overclock settings is new and fun to me. : )
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Of course squeezing almost all that you can from a card is fun...but can be also such a pain in the ass.
So you choose if you stop at a certain point.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
Of course squeezing almost all that you can from a card is fun...but can be also such a pain in the ass.
So you choose if you stop at a certain point.
Hasn't become a pain in the ass to me yet. Just fun.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
117 (0.30/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Asus ROG-STRIX-RX6600XT-O8G-GAMING
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
Because I'm trying to squeeze out as much performance I can from my graphics card.
But now you have known to mess with memory settings brings performance drop, so where comes the bit you try to squeeze lol? I would stop once I knew this is the wrong way...
Maybe that's just not nicely tweaked by manufacturers, game developers and driver software... Who knows, eh? And that's also where "fun" comes to us!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2021
Messages
41 (0.34/day)
System Name Steam Machean / WFH
Processor Ryzen 7 2700X - PBO Enabled / i5 2500K @ Stock
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus M / Asus P8Q67M-DO
Cooling Cryorig H7 w/ Arctic MX-2 / AVC Dual Tower Cooler
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 16-18-18 / 2x4GB HyperX Fury 1333MHz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Asus RX 6600 XT Dual OC / MSI GTX 660 Twin Frozr III OC
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + SanDisk SSD Plus 1TB / PNY CS900 240GB SSD + WD Green 1TB HDD
Display(s) AOC C24G1 + Lenovo L24-i10
Case Phanteks P300A w/ Vertical Riser / Antec NX100
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud II
Power Supply SeaSonic M12II Evo 620W / SeaSonic 500W Bronze OEM unit
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G Pro KDA w/ GX Brown
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores Adequate
Fellow RX580 Pulse owner here. I had no luck even pushing the memory frequency on mine past the stock speed, so I'm afraid I can't help there. I doubt that tweaking memory timings would have a noticeable impact on performance, like others have mentioned you're already running the card balls to the wall at 1.2V, 1.45GHz at 79°C; trying to push things even further could cause the card to throttle and downclock itself (which I believe it does at 82°C). Tuning memory and such could cause your card to exceed that threshold. Still well done squeezing another nearly 100MHz out of that Pulse!
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Fellow RX580 Pulse owner here. I had no luck even pushing the memory frequency on mine past the stock speed, so I'm afraid I can't help there. I doubt that tweaking memory timings would have a noticeable impact on performance, like others have mentioned you're already running the card balls to the wall at 1.2V, 1.45GHz at 79°C; trying to push things even further could cause the card to throttle and downclock itself (which I believe it does at 82°C). Tuning memory and such could cause your card to exceed that threshold. Still well done squeezing another nearly 100MHz out of that Pulse!
As you said and as i mentioned earlier the video card itself will act on its own to protect. It will downclock itself kinda protection mode, once it hits the designated temp.
So any further mod must be done without any temp increase. But with the regular cooling system is almost impossible.
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
329 (0.58/day)
I'd say just use it factory, seeing even that fan curve and with such GPU prices you'll either burn out your fans or the card for a few percent difference if at all.
And don't say that fan noise bothers you the least. :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
@eidairaman1 Thanks for quoting my article!
@jdavid27 Has your 580 got Polaris 20 XTX core or XTR core? If XTX, I don't think it can go too high like 1450 MHz. Most 580 models that are rated higher than 1411 MHz have XTR version core. And though 590 has the same spec as 580, it uses 12 nm process so has higher frequencies.
During my overclocking, I also observed some weird things which are hard to explain. Just like yours, if it went too high, it just didn't perform well. I don't know why, temperature is good, display output is good, everything is good, but it just doesn't perform well.

Oh, maybe it is because the TDP limit. You see you gave it 1200 mV which is A LOT, so power I estimate could be close to 185 W. And even if you increase TDP limit to its maximum, it may fall down because of the capability of the model's power supply.
Also being a pulse cooler, not enough area for heat to be wickd away

Fellow RX580 Pulse owner here. I had no luck even pushing the memory frequency on mine past the stock speed, so I'm afraid I can't help there. I doubt that tweaking memory timings would have a noticeable impact on performance, like others have mentioned you're already running the card balls to the wall at 1.2V, 1.45GHz at 79°C; trying to push things even further could cause the card to throttle and downclock itself (which I believe it does at 82°C). Tuning memory and such could cause your card to exceed that threshold. Still well done squeezing another nearly 100MHz out of that Pulse!

It's the volts required after stock speeds, also to increase bandwidth timings must be loosened. No one has made a UI for a cards firmware where those settings can be adjusted on the fly like on a motherboard.

As you said and as i mentioned earlier the video card itself will act on its own to protect. It will downclock itself kinda protection mode, once it hits the designated temp.
So any further mod must be done without any temp increase. But with the regular cooling system is almost impossible.

Hasn't become a pain in the ass to me yet. Just fun.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
41 (0.37/day)
After more testing I've set my overclock back to a Core Clock of 1411MHz @ 1095mV. Similar setting to @RidiculousOwO. Left memory alone because there is no improvment when touching it. Just more in game freezes and higher temp. For some reason when my card reaches anything past 75c it automatically downclocks like @impero suggested. I thought that would happen at a higher temp but that isnt the case with my setup for whatever reason. With my current setting I'm able to play COD Modern Warfare Mutiplayer with the highest temp only reaching 74c. Another random thing I noticed is that COD Warzone can run at 1450MHz @ 1200mV without the card ever going over 72c. I get much better performance at those settings without any downclocking happening. Thought that was weird but I guess its just a better coded game or something.

@eidairaman1 - I tried switching over to MSI Afterburner but it seemed buggy in comparison to the AMD Radeon software. I had issues getting the fan curve to work and overclock settings kept returning back to default even without any crashes. Trixx software only shows the details about my GPU has no options for tuning. Is there a reason you suggested those over the Radeon software?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
After more testing I've set my overclock back to a Core Clock of 1411MHz @ 1095mV. Similar setting to @RidiculousOwO. Left memory alone because there is no improvment when touching it. Just more in game freezes and higher temp. For some reason when my card reaches anything past 75c it automatically downclocks like @impero suggested. I thought that would happen at a higher temp but that isnt the case with my setup for whatever reason. With my current setting I'm able to play COD Modern Warfare Mutiplayer with the highest temp only reaching 74c. Another random thing I noticed is that COD Warzone can run at 1450MHz @ 1200mV without the card ever going over 72c. I get much better performance at those settings without any downclocking happening. Thought that was weird but I guess its just a better coded game or something.

@eidairaman1 - I tried switching over to MSI Afterburner but it seemed buggy in comparison to the AMD Radeon software. I had issues getting the fan curve to work and overclock settings kept returning back to default even without any crashes. Trixx software only shows the details about my GPU has no options for tuning. Is there a reason you suggested those over the Radeon software?

You're not saving the settings is Why it defaults you need to go on YouTube and learn how to use those pieces of software and also another reason why is because you can actually adjust the voltages and down or up and also Sapphire has overheat protection to keep cards from frying, you are hitting the physical barrier where the heat sink cannot dissipate heat quick enough
 
Top