• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Simple WCG PPD Estimator

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#76
Also, auto cpu speed detection will be done when I feel like it.
FYI, I spent days trying to figure out the actual clockspeed on my processor using the .NET framework and it wasn't going to happen. I concluded that, in order to obtain the clockspeed, I would have to buy the source from CPUID in order to pull the correct memory addresses and perform the necessary calculations to get the correct values.

The best I could come up with is grabbing it from the registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor

However, on my processor, it reports 1.6 GHz or 2.66 GHz when it should be 2.79 GHz.



Suggestion: Why not make the CPU do mock work that BOINC does, crunch a few numbers, then estimate it over x number of hours at y % CPU usage? That way, it would be processor indepenedant. You should have enough information to create a forumla that gets close.

As far as I know, a bunch of double precision multiply and divide should suffice for simulating work.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#77
FYI, I spent days trying to figure out the actual clockspeed on my processor using the .NET framework and it wasn't going to happen. I concluded that, in order to obtain the clockspeed, I would have to buy the source from CPUID in order to pull the correct memory addresses and perform the necessary calculations to get the correct values.

The best I could come up with is grabbing it from the registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor

However, on my processor, it reports 1.6 GHz or 2.66 GHz when it should be 2.79 GHz.



Suggestion: Why not make the CPU do mock work that BOINC does, crunch a few numbers, then estimate it over x number of hours at y % CPU usage? That way, it would be processor indepenedant. You should have enough information to create a forumla that gets close.

As far as I know, a bunch of double precision multiply and divide should suffice for simulating work.
Yeah I tried grabbing it from the registry but it is sadly not even close. Says my laptop is at 700MHz so I was kinda confused. The user entering it in manually might be the best choice still.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
#78
Yeah I tried grabbing it from the registry but it is sadly not even close. Says my laptop is at 700MHz so I was kinda confused. The user entering it in manually might be the best choice still.
Well, if it gives bogus values like that, having the user enter it manually probably makes the most sense: if the program gives values that aren't even close to the real values, then it's not very useful
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
321 (0.10/day)
Likes
55
System Name i5
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ 3.2ghz 1.1v
Motherboard MSI P55-GD65
Cooling Deepcool ICEEGDE 400 Ni + Deepcool Rockman
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Crossfire 2x AMD R9 270 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB
Display(s) Acer 22" AL2216W 1680x1050
Case 120mm,140mm,220mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Topower SilentCool 500w
Software Windows 7
#79
i think user input is better,
user can input different speed and get an idea if overclocking is worth it or not
 
Last edited:

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#80
Ok ends up that my error checking was severely flawed, and nobody ever caught it because nobody put in 9000 MHz as their CPU frequency. So, to fix this for now, I will take out error checking until I get my homework done. When I am finished I will find a good solution to the problem.

Edit: Expect a new version at 6pm.
 

Attachments

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#81
A suggestion on that too:

If the input is invalid, set the usercontrol's BackColor to Pink. If the input is valid, set it to White. Do this in the TextChanged event. For example:
Code:
Private Sub txtClockSpeed_TextChanged(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As EventArgs) Handles txtClockSpeed.TextChanged
  Try
    Convert.ToUInt16(txtClockSpeed.Text)
    txtClockSpeed.BackColor = Color.White
  Catch
    txtClockSpeed.BackColor = Color.Pink
  End Try
End Sub
Prior to actually using the data (your calculate button), make sure all nececessary BackColors are not Pink.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#82
A suggestion on that too:

If the input is invalid, set the usercontrol's BackColor to Pink. If the input is valid, set it to White. Do this in the TextChanged event. For example:
Code:
Private Sub txtClockSpeed_TextChanged(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As EventArgs) Handles txtClockSpeed.TextChanged
  Try
    Convert.ToUInt16(txtClockSpeed.Text)
    txtClockSpeed.BackColor = Color.White
  Catch
    txtClockSpeed.BackColor = Color.Pink
  End Try
End Sub
Prior to actually using the data (your calculate button), make sure all nececessary BackColors are not Pink.
I will try adding this in later. I have tried to do this:

Code:
Private Sub Text1_Keypress(KeyAscii As Integer)
Dim str As String

str=".0123456789"
If KeyAscii>26 then
   If Instr(str,chr(KeyAscii))=0 Then
       KeyAscii=0
   End if
End If
End Sub
But it would simply not work.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#83
Yeah, Try...Catch is much better. It will throw an exception, and subsequently catch it, if the conversion failed. ;)
 
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
1,514 (0.48/day)
Likes
257
Location
South California, The desert.
System Name My Computer
Processor Core 2 Q9550 4Ghz 1.23volts
Motherboard Gigabyte
Cooling Corsair
Memory OCZ
Video Card(s) Galaxy
Storage Western Digital
Display(s) Acer
Case Lian li
Audio Device(s) Asus
Power Supply Corsiar
Software Microsoft
Benchmark Scores 25,000 3dmark06 at 4.35Ghz processor, 835core card!
#84
It said i would producting

Thats what it estimated for my WCG

Nice little program :)
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#85

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#86
Three more suggestions:
1) Autocheck BOINC version according to CPU architecture. This can be done via:
Code:
System.Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE")
If the result is equal to "x86", it is a 32-bit OS. If the result is equal to "AMD64", it is a 64-bit OS.

Taking it a step further, find boinc.exe or wcg.exe (not sure on that one) and detect if it is running 32-bit or not. I'm not certain this is possible though...


2) Auto-clear Speed and Usage when someone clicks in it. If Text = "MHz", Text = "" on text change, for example.

3) Maybe accept GHz or MHz. If there is no decimal point, assume MHz. If there is a decimal point, assume GHz. I can type up some code for that too if you want it.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#87
I was going to have it find boinc.exe or wcg.exe but I realized some people install them in different places.

I did not put in auto checking for a 32 bit or 64 bit cpu cause some people run 32 bit boinc instead of 64 on their 64 bit system.

And for the ghz or mhz thing, I think I will stick to mhz only.

Edit: Regarding processor architecture, I realized that the mobile versions on the C2D were thought of the same as the desktop time.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#88
Also, here is the latest version.

EDIT: FordGT90Concept, you are in the credits.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#89
i was wandering if you could put in how long it would take to get the number it says like a i7 at 100% is around 22k but how long does it take to do that like in a hour, 22hours
. you know
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#90
It was a lot of work but I finally cracked it:
Code:
    Private Declare Function IsWow64Process Lib "kernel32" (ByVal hProcess As IntPtr, ByRef Wow64Process As Boolean) As Int32
    Public Function IsRunningApp64Bit(ByVal name As String) As Boolean
        If Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE") = "AMD64" Then
            Dim processes As Process() = Process.GetProcessesByName(name)
            If processes.Length > 0 Then
                Dim wow64 As Boolean
                Try
                    Dim ret As Int32 = IsWow64Process(processes(0).Handle, wow64)
                    If ret > 0 Then
                        If wow64 = False Then
                            Return True ' Not emulated (32-bit on 32-bit or 64-bit on 64-bit).
                        Else
                            Return False ' Emulated (32-bit on 64-bit).
                        End If
                    Else
                        Return False ' There was a problem.
                    End If
                Catch
                    Return False ' Problem with getting process info.
                End Try
            Else
                Return False ' Process not found.
            End If
        Else
            Return False ' 32-bit OS.
        End If
    End Function
Run it for "boinc" and also "wcg" (I think). If it returns true for either one of them, check 64-bit. If it does not, check 32-bit.


Edit: Required imports:
Code:
Imports System

Edit: I only have BOINC (64-bit) installed here so I don't know what the process name for WCG would be. Just make sure to drop the ".exe" and it should work.
 
Last edited:

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#91
i was wandering if you could put in how long it would take to get the number it says like a i7 at 100% is around 22k but how long does it take to do that like in a hour, 22hours
. you know
I understand but an unsure if I want to add it in. The program is after all PPD Estimator, the units being in days!
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#92
It was a lot of work but I finally cracked it:
Code:
    Private Declare Function IsWow64Process Lib "kernel32" (ByVal hProcess As IntPtr, ByRef Wow64Process As Boolean) As Int32
    Public Function IsRunningApp64Bit(ByVal name As String) As Boolean
        If Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE") = "AMD64" Then
            Dim processes As Process() = Process.GetProcessesByName(name)
            If processes.Length > 0 Then
                Dim wow64 As Boolean
                Try
                    Dim ret As Int32 = IsWow64Process(processes(0).Handle, wow64)
                    If ret > 0 Then
                        If wow64 = False Then
                            Return True ' Not emulated (32-bit on 32-bit or 64-bit on 64-bit).
                        Else
                            Return False ' Emulated (32-bit on 64-bit).
                        End If
                    Else
                        Return False ' There was a problem.
                    End If
                Catch
                    Return False ' Problem with getting process info.
                End Try
            Else
                Return False ' Process not found.
            End If
        Else
            Return False ' 32-bit OS.
        End If
    End Function
Run it for "boinc" and also "wcg" (I think). If it returns true for either one of them, check 64-bit. If it does not, check 32-bit.


Edit: Required imports:
Code:
Imports System

Edit: I only have BOINC (64-bit) installed here so I don't know what the process name for WCG would be. Just make sure to drop the ".exe" and it should work.
Ok I have decided to do this:

Maybe one person has this calculator on 1 PC, and then they want to calculate their other PC's and not have to put this program on their computers, then this should work.

NOW: I like the program F@HMon. Ever used it? It calculates the time a WU will take to complete, PPD, etc. If we start making this all automated, I will make a program like F@HMon for WCG, HOWEVER: Is there a program like this already? If not, I will start to automate all parts of the calculator and start work on WCGMon.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#93
F@H just calculates F=ma over and over and over again. The workload doesn't change so it is easy to estimate how long each individual WU will take given how many calculations there are to perform. WCG/BOINC, on the other hand, handle a multitude of different kinds of tasks so it isn't easy to accurately estimate how long any given task will take to complete. Not to mention, WCG/BOINC already do this (see Tasks tab).



By the way, I'd use that code to select the default BOINC type (32-bit or 64-bit). The user can easily check the other option if it isn't for their computer.


Edit: Another suggestion:

I assume the code to calculate the points isn't very intensive. As such, you could easily remove the Calculate button and make TextChanged, SelectedIndexChanged, and CheckedChanged all point to the Calculate code. That way, if everything is valid, it will calculate it as the information becomes available.
 
Last edited:

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#94
Edit: Another suggestion:

I assume the code to calculate the points isn't very intensive. As such, you could easily remove the Calculate button and make TextChanged, SelectedIndexChanged, and CheckedChanged all point to the Calculate code. That way, if everything is valid, it will calculate it as the information becomes available.
Excellent idea, however, this might be problematic once your previous idea is implemented.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#95
The 32-bit/64-bit code? That should occur only once on startup (in the Form constructor).
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#96
Ok as promised:

0.1.2: Many fixes. Please put in original post [Ion].

EDIT: Also, FordGT90Concept, the button looks so pretty don't make me remove it! (I am changing code as we speak)
EDIT2: O wow errors are flipping out, computer crashed... need to fix my error reporting badly!
 

Attachments

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#97
Worked fine for me.
Neat work!
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#98
Worked fine for me.
Neat work!
Now I want some screenshots if you don't mind. Try putting putting non-integers into the field, etc.

EDIT: Look at what we did over a weekend guys!

Screenshot is of all the versions of the program!



Now, does anyone have an idea for a better UI?
 
Last edited:

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#99
I'm not sure if you were asking for something like this?

 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.