• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Simulating Operating system

Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#1
is there a way i can simulate an operating system with Network connection??
like running windows 2000 on windows 7 while i can also simulate hardware settings for older tech on my machine ?
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#2
Can't you do that in a VM environment?

Edit: after reading it again, specifically " simulate hardware settings for older tech on my machine ? " can you elaborate a bit more?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#3
yea like i want to play some old games, but i dont have cash to buy a hole new pc of old hardware, so like i want to play a game from 2000 but it needs to meet some kind of hardware like 16 bit stuff or 8 bit
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#4
yea like i want to play some old games, but i dont have cash to buy a hole new pc of old hardware, so like i want to play a game from 2000 but it needs to meet some kind of hardware like 16 bit stuff or 8 bit
DOSBox and VMWare are a good start if it's just for playing older games.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#5
buy from gog.com :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,902 (2.21/day)
Likes
6,571
#6
What game is that anyway? I run games even from the 90s and they work fine even without dosbox (and even under windows 8 with any hardware)
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#7
game nox
i tryd all kind of complication settings win 95 up to windows xp service pack 3 none gives stability
i did used to play earth 2140 in a virtual simulator with win 95
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#8
buy from gog.com :toast:
This is an option, though if you already own the original install media why should you have to pay for it again?

Have you tried DOSBox?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#9
Im running a game from 2003, rainbow six, i had to uninstall the microsoft "other hardware" mouse and keyboard and lower the audio bit rate too, on win 7, works fine.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.06/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#10
This is an option, though if you already own the original install media why should you have to pay for it again?
GOG.com uses dosbox for a number of games :) no CDs, drm free so make your own backups if you need. Do you like inserting disc 2? I don't.
 

UbErN00b

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
255 (0.13/day)
Likes
44
Location
Ingerland
System Name le me gaming and porn rig!!
Processor 2500k
Motherboard GA-Z68X-UD3-b3
Cooling Air baby!
Memory 8GB 2000mhz dual channel
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor X HD 7950 3GB
Storage Corsair Force 3 240GB & 2TB HDD
Display(s) Catleap 1440p ;)
Case CM Storm Sniper
Audio Device(s) HUD-MX1 headphone amp/DAC
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#11
GOG.com uses dosbox for a number of games :) no CDs, drm free so make your own backups if you need. Do you like inserting disc 2? I don't.
I can make an iso and store my media wherever I want, so no, I don't have to mess about with inserting disc 2 and also don't have to pay for media I already own just because it's not off the shelf compatible with a modern OS environment.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#12
Im currently using virtualbox and it's been decent at running windows server 2012.

on my new system server 2012 is gonna be the main os and it's got a much better version of hyper-v built in so Imma use that.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,133 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,699
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#13
Try running some VMs is Virtual Box or VMware. You could even dual boot your rig and make a partition on a hard drive with the required OS on it.