• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SK Hynix 4 Gigabyte HBM2 Stack Availability Paves the way for Vega

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
39,979 (8.39/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
SK Hynix, the principal supplier of high bandwidth memory (HBM) stacks to AMD since its pioneering Radeon R9 Fury series, released an updated HBM2 specifications document that pins availability of 4 gigabyte (32 Gbit) HBM2 stacks to the first quarter of 2017. This paves the way for mass-production and market availability of AMD's upcoming Radeon "Vega" graphics chip, which feature two such 4 GB HBM2 stacks, making up 8 GB of total memory.

SK Hynix H5VR32ESM4H-H1K memory stack, which will be integrated by AMD onto its Vega10 multi-chip module (MCM), ticks at 1.60 Gbps (per pin), with a cumulative bandwidth of 204.8 GB/s per stack. With two such stacks, Vega10 could feature 409.6 GB/s of memory bandwidth, assuming AMD uses the reference clock speeds for these stacks.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,670 (5.31/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
MCM referencing the memory and gpu or dual GPU's?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
809 (0.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
System Name [H]arbringer
Processor 4x 61XX ES @3.5Ghz (48cores)
Motherboard SM GL
Cooling 3x xspc rx360, rx240, 4x DT G34 snipers, D5 pump.
Memory 16x gskill DDR3 1600 cas6 2gb
Video Card(s) blah bigadv folder no gfx needed
Storage 32GB Sammy SSD
Display(s) headless
Case Xigmatek Elysium (whats left of it)
Audio Device(s) yawn
Power Supply Antec 1200w HCP
Software Ubuntu 10.10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1780855 http://www.hwbot.org/submission/2158678 http://ww

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,670 (5.31/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
Referencing the interposer with gpu and 2 stacks of hbm2 on top.
Thanks you. I was about to be mildly pissed if the Vega 10 gpu was just a pair of 480's glued together with a pool of hbm. That would be the biggest let down this week
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.35/day)
There must be a typing error. Those bandwidth numbers don't make any sense. Wasn't HBM1 at 512 GB/s already? And even if you move the period around, 4096 GB/s doesn't sound right. That's 4 TB/s. Or am I missing something here?
 

ppn

Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
910 (0.48/day)
clocked to 1.6. Down from expected 2.0Ghz.
 
Last edited:

FootLong

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Fury had 4 stacks of HBM and Vega has 2.

There must be a typing error. Those bandwidth numbers don't make any sense. Wasn't HBM1 at 512 GB/s already? And even if you move the period around, 4096 GB/s doesn't sound right. That's 4 TB/s. Or am I missing something here?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,297 (2.14/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
There must be a typing error. Those bandwidth numbers don't make any sense. Wasn't HBM1 at 512 GB/s already? And even if you move the period around, 4096 GB/s doesn't sound right. That's 4 TB/s. Or am I missing something here?
Fury had In total from four double stacked ram chips at 1Gb/s per pin. =512
Vegas two quad stacked memory chips at 1.6Gb/s per pin =400 does seem low but it's likely a cost saving thing having two.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,616 (1.94/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Its not like the HBM bandwidth gave them a huge performance lead with Fury..... HBM was a bandaid to other cache issues and their proof of concept to ready them for one day integrating HBM on die without a interposer.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
3,191 (1.69/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX // XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.796 Firestrike | P31.547 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
That 410~ GB/s has to be enough. But maybe they'll run it with higher frequencies.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.95/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Its not like the HBM bandwidth gave them a huge performance lead with Fury..... HBM was a bandaid to other cache issues and their proof of concept to ready them for one day integrating HBM on die without a interposer.
I don't think that's possible or at least not practical. They would have to cut way back on the amount of memory if they were to embed it in the chip.


Fury had four stacks of HBM not because they needed the bandwidth, but shipping a high end card without 4 GiB of RAM wouldn't sell. Even at 4 GiB they likely lost some potential buyers. HBM2 having a lot higher density means they don't need many stacks. They lose bandwidth because of it but they make up for that by providing at least 8 GiB of VRAM.

I eventually expect a GPU that has four stacks (1 TB/s, 16 GiB). It is very clear that won't be available in the initial offerings.
 
Last edited:
Top