• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SLI Hack and 460 GTX need help please

bear2790

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
206 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
System Name HAL
Processor Athlon II x 3 440
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermaltake TMG IA1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston DDR3 1066 CAS7
Storage Western Digital 150GB Raptor
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" LCD
Case ThermalTake V9
Power Supply SeaSonic X750
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#1
I started out with a 460 GTX 768MB and wanted to go SLI. Someone suggested I use SLI Hack since I have a 790X mobo. The patch installed no problem so I bought a second 460 768MB only they sent me a 1GB model.

Will the difference in memory size cause the SLI option to not show in the nVidia Control Panel? Because I can't find any way to enable SLI.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,278 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
The difference in memory size should not matter, the 1GB card will just be limitted to using 768MB.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#3
You lucked out in the sense it's a better card in addition to more vram but yeah if you are SLI'ing them you essentially lose those benefits, at least the extra RAM.
 

bear2790

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
206 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
System Name HAL
Processor Athlon II x 3 440
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermaltake TMG IA1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston DDR3 1066 CAS7
Storage Western Digital 150GB Raptor
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" LCD
Case ThermalTake V9
Power Supply SeaSonic X750
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#4
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,278 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
And you are making sure to select the "SLI Enabled" option when you reboot?
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#6
kinda off and ond topic at the same time.... could the SLi hack be used on a P67 mobo that doesnt have official SLi support? originally I thought the hack was only for intel P35/45 and X38/48 mobo's but it seems to work for AMD chipsets too.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,278 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
kinda off and ond topic at the same time.... could the SLi hack be used on a P67 mobo that doesnt have official SLi support? originally I thought the hack was only for intel P35/45 and X38/48 mobo's but it seems to work for AMD chipsets too.
In theory it should work to enable SLi on any motherboard with two PCI-E x16 slots, since it just masks the real chipset as one that supports SLi and inserts the SLi certificate needed to enable SLi.

I know it has been used on P55 boards that didn't support SLi.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8

bear2790

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
206 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
System Name HAL
Processor Athlon II x 3 440
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermaltake TMG IA1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston DDR3 1066 CAS7
Storage Western Digital 150GB Raptor
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" LCD
Case ThermalTake V9
Power Supply SeaSonic X750
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#9
yea, when I boot I select the SLI option (it automatically selects it if you don't give input) and it just ain't working.

Since I was sent a 1GB card instead of the 768MB I figure I'll sell it and make a little profit and then maybe sell the other 460 and get a 470 or open box 480

Though I'd give SLI a try but IMO, it's not worth it
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,267 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,073
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
SLI cable connected? it needs to be.
 

bear2790

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
206 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
System Name HAL
Processor Athlon II x 3 440
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermaltake TMG IA1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston DDR3 1066 CAS7
Storage Western Digital 150GB Raptor
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" LCD
Case ThermalTake V9
Power Supply SeaSonic X750
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#11
oh yea, SLI cable was connected, hack patch installed and selected on boot up, power to both PCI-E connectors - everything that could be done was done - it just didn't work out this time 'round.

I was using drivers version 260.99 Win 7 64 bit

Maybe it's the 64 bit stopping it from working? Anyways, I've already moved on. Thanks for the help folks :)
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#12
oh yea, SLI cable was connected, hack patch installed and selected on boot up, power to both PCI-E connectors - everything that could be done was done - it just didn't work out this time 'round.

I was using drivers version 260.99 Win 7 64 bit

Maybe it's the 64 bit stopping it from working? Anyways, I've already moved on. Thanks for the help folks :)
you might of moved on but have you tried the latest 1.0patch from xdevs, here is the link
http://www.xdevs.com/sli/SLIPatch_v1.0_final.exe
Works with my @xgtx570 on driver 266.58,Windows 7 64bit with 790fx chipset