• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SLI with different cards

Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
...my slightly different 970s are technically different right?
It's a known problem with some 970s, probably due to different memory vendors (or memory architectures) used over time.
I can use SLI now but the control panel still suggests using an SLI connector, is this normal? I've tried flipping mine around and switching between both ports multiple times to no avail. It's totally possible my bridge doesn't work but it was new and sealed while being such a simple piece it seems unlikely to be the point of failure. I haven't seen any noticeable performance change whether or not it's connected though
Probably due to the suspected difference in memory vendors / architecture used in those cards, the data exchange over the SLI-bridge fails, leading to this error message.
Which means the data gets exchanged over the PCIe bus, which is not optimal and can hinder performance in some cases.
I'm wondering if it's as easy as booting into test mode any time I want to use SLI or if it's not so simple to switch between.
Test mode is needed in order to load the patched driver. If you disable it, Windows fails to load the patched nVidia driver and falls back to a generic Windows driver.
So there's no easy way to switch back and forth between an unpatched and patched nVidia driver.
 

DARTH_Nitrous_2020

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
1 (0.02/day)
Which guide did you follow?

There's never been a patcher which works with that driver version.

Latest matching patcher and driver versions are 1.7.1 & 388.71.
Installation is outlined in this post (start reading below the video):

Newer driver versions have to patched manually, using the offsets published by volunteers in this forum.
Hi i have a answer i see you say the version of differentsli 1.7.1 i want to prove with 2 gtx 1050 same model and vram where i can find the link please and what driver i have to install i see driver in 411

YES! I very much agree with you, the bridge can really bring huge performance improvements, I hope everyone who sees should prepare a bridge, even if you don't need it!
the new patch work but with equal gpu i want to probe with 2 gtx 1050

Hi i have a answer i see you say the version of differentsli 1.7.1 i want to prove with 2 gtx 1050 same model and vram where i can find the link please and what driver i have to install i see driver in 411


the new patch work but with equal gpu i want to probe with 2 gtx 1050
is a question no answer i asking if work?
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
Two identical GPUs is very likely to work.
Generally, I recommend using the following instructions:
To get patch offsets for newer drivers, backread this forum.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
58 (0.13/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Big Ass Xena
Processor various v3 turbo hacked xeon
Motherboard Asus Z10PA-D8
Cooling 2x CoolerMaster Gammax GTE
Memory 8x8Gb Hynix DDR4 ECC REG 2133mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Cerberus 1070Ti 8Gb
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb
Display(s) Dell U2311H
Case Chieftek ATX from trash
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Dell standard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Can sli hack work on non sli supported cards? like nvs cards?
I want to make a fun projekt G98 GPU quad sli. I know it is a very low spec and even if it works it will be like a 5-10fps in games but i want to try it.
Two Quadro NVS 450 (dual gpu, same pcie bridge chip as the 7950GX2) all gpus have 256mb ram, cards are same vendor, same type... (was 6 usd each card, and it is works on windows 10!)
139440_20200804_161633.jpg139440_20200805_094241.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
There's a small chance this might work, if the cards still run under driver 388.71 (for Win 10), which can be patched with DifferentSLIauto 1.7.1.
For 2xx drivers, there's no patch available.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
58 (0.13/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Big Ass Xena
Processor various v3 turbo hacked xeon
Motherboard Asus Z10PA-D8
Cooling 2x CoolerMaster Gammax GTE
Memory 8x8Gb Hynix DDR4 ECC REG 2133mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Cerberus 1070Ti 8Gb
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb
Display(s) Dell U2311H
Case Chieftek ATX from trash
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Dell standard
Software Windows 10 Pro
There's a small chance this might work, if the cards still run under driver 388.71 (for Win 10), which can be patched with DifferentSLIauto 1.7.1.
For 2xx drivers, there's no patch available.
driver latest nvs 342
sys file patched in safe mode, disabled signature check
driver loaded, but the second gpu on the first card gives error code 43 and next restart it gives BSOD nvlddmkm.sys page fault in non paged area. If only one card present driver are loaded but still no SLI on the menu, just maximus. (cuda mode works on 4 gpu)
modded.PNG
i think that the nvs driver not support sli mode, only the geforce driver? But this card dont work with geforce driver?
What if i edit the bios on the card to 9300gs? I have external bios writer.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
But you did install the patched driver using the Install.cmd script, which has been modified with the correct driver location paths, as per instructions?
Just copying over won't work.

AFAIK the NVS driver file is identical to the GeForce version, that's why the patch was working successfully.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
58 (0.13/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Big Ass Xena
Processor various v3 turbo hacked xeon
Motherboard Asus Z10PA-D8
Cooling 2x CoolerMaster Gammax GTE
Memory 8x8Gb Hynix DDR4 ECC REG 2133mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Cerberus 1070Ti 8Gb
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb
Display(s) Dell U2311H
Case Chieftek ATX from trash
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Dell standard
Software Windows 10 Pro
But you did install the patched driver using the Install.cmd script, which has been modified with the correct driver location paths, as per instructions?
Just copying over won't work.

AFAIK the NVS driver file is identical to the GeForce version, that's why the patch was working successfully.
I copied the sys file, and run the patcher and the install script as admin But i saw the script not copied the file. But i modified the security owner of the sys file to everybody write/read. And i copied the the sys file manualy.

Ok the scrips runs fine now. Restarted and still no sli menu. Only maximus multi gpu. Driver is 342.01 that is the last for this card. (very old G98 Gpu) Patcher is 1.7.1.
sli1.PNGsli22.PNG
I use only one dual gpu card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
You have to follow the instructions closely; just copying things around will not work.
As outlined in this post (start reading below the video):
SLI with different cards
Particularly the part about finding the correct driver file and changing the install script.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
58 (0.13/day)
Location
Hungary
System Name Big Ass Xena
Processor various v3 turbo hacked xeon
Motherboard Asus Z10PA-D8
Cooling 2x CoolerMaster Gammax GTE
Memory 8x8Gb Hynix DDR4 ECC REG 2133mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Cerberus 1070Ti 8Gb
Storage Samsung Evo 850 250Gb + Kingston HyperX 480Gb
Display(s) Dell U2311H
Case Chieftek ATX from trash
Audio Device(s) Genius Cavimanus
Power Supply Super Flower 750w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Dell standard
Software Windows 10 Pro
i corrected the path. it is signed but not.
script.PNG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
This looks like the install has been done correctly.
You now have the patched driver running.
If you're lucky, you have gotten the SLI button, with even more luck, you have running SLI.
But it's also entirely possible that none of these things work...
 

spectrometer

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
4 (0.09/day)
Hi everyone. as much i wanted to back read all the procedures in doing a SLI connection, I cannot comprehend much of it. Please help me find ways to SLI my crossfire only motherboard setup below:

Mobo: Asus Prime H270-PRO
GPU: 2x EVGA 970 ssc
GPU driver: 440.97
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

I already tried DifferentSLIAuto1.4 but was given an error when patching in "nvlddmkm.sys". Thank you for the future help.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
1. Backread the forum to find offsets for the desired nVidia driver version (offsets are not known for all versions however)
2. Download that specific driver version at nVidia and install
3. Install instructions for DifferentSLIauto can be found in this post:
 

spectrometer

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
4 (0.09/day)
Hi @P!nkpanther. thank you so much for the feedback. as i much wanted to back read all the content, i just want to know your feedback regarding my rig. Is this all possible doing SLI in a crossfire only motherboard? I just run around checking that the title itself is SLI with different card (as i have a 2x 970).

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
348 (0.28/day)
Location
Switzerland
System Name https://valid.x86.fr/6t2pb7
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte - GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LED DDR4-3000 16GB
Video Card(s) https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4362/msi-gtx-1080-ti-gaming-x
Storage Western Digital - Black PCIe 256GB SSD + 3x HDD
Display(s) 42" TV @1080p (main) + 32" TV (side)
Case Cooler Master HAF X NV-942
Audio Device(s) Line 6 KB37
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 775W
Mouse Roccat Kova / Logitech G27 Steering Wheel
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 v1803
...just want to know your feedback regarding my rig. Is this all possible doing SLI in a crossfire only motherboard?
Generally it's possible on Crossfire mobos, but even then, not every install turns out to be successful, for a variety of reasons.
Also in order to use the latest 4xx drivers, you need Windows 10.
On Windows 7, you're stuck with the legacy patch (1.7.1 together with nVidia driver 388.71 )
In that case, start here:
 

spectrometer

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
4 (0.09/day)
Generally it's possible on Crossfire mobos, but even then, not every install turns out to be successful, for a variety of reasons.
Also in order to use the latest 4xx drivers, you need Windows 10.
On Windows 7, you're stuck with the legacy patch (1.7.1 together with nVidia driver 388.71 )
In that case, start here:
Thanks alot. been back reading it for a couple of hours. better i will install windows 10 and crap, my brain is melting down. :confused::confused:.
 

DiletLemon

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2020
Messages
1 (0.02/day)
Just got my 1050 2gb and 1050 Ti 4gb in SLI using version 376.60 and DifferentSLI 1.6.1. Going to try to use a newer driver.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
434 (0.41/day)
System Name Macbook Air Late-2013
Processor Intel Core i5 1.3Ghz
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Intel HD Graphics 5000 1536MB
Storage 256GB SSD
Display(s) 13.3" 1440x900
Off topic of current context, but I'll always remember when I had my SLI of BFG NVIDIA 9600GT, damn it was good. I could say to my hardware teacher that SLI was a thing and there was future as, in my case, it cost less to buy 2x 9600gt than 1x 9800gt.
1597636960673.png


I was wondering why my PC was slower with 2 GPU when I only had 1GB ddr2. I bought 8GB hyper-x and everything changed.... I could run vista and crysis with my Q6600!!! Haaaa nostalgia
 

Blazin33

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
Evening gents, was wondering if you can help me with this conundrum and I’m sure you can,

I have two 1080ti cards and I plan to add the second one to my z170a motherboard to get a rendering time boost with blender’s multigpu support. It doesn’t require the cards have an sli bridge or nvlink. I would however like to use the cards to get a performance increase in Witcher 3. With a single card the game struggled to maintain60fps at 4k.

my cards are from different manufacturers. One is a EVGA sc2 1080ti and second card is a MSI gaming x 11g 1080ti. Both cards have the same memory. Is it safe to assume I will have no problems with DSA ? The reasons I would prefer not to just buy an sli connector is the cards are different height (quite significantly) the sc2 is a much shorter card. This makes using a HB bridge impossible without butchering the bridge and bending the board. I could buy a longer flexible cable but I would also like to keep a significant gap between the cards for cooling reasons. As you know the 1080ti cards get very hot.

Last question is there anyone else running two 1080tis from different brands without issue using different sli auto ?

thank in advance.
 

Attachments

Nemeses

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
6 (0.02/day)
Anyone know of a way to run two 2080 Ti's in x8x4 SLI (bypassing the traditional 8-lanes-per-card requirement)?
Using a X570 PCIe 4.0 ITX board (bifurcated to x8x4x4).
 

Blazin33

New Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2020
Messages
2 (0.06/day)
Ok I got it working :)
I can report the patch works fine with dual 1080tis different brand and clocks with no bridge. The only part missing from the guide is that in order to run the final install script you have to boot into safe mode. Also the driver was not in system 32 for me. It was in a different folder. DRIVERSTORE, and then a number of other folders. My mother board was not straight forward for disabling secureboot and was not saving my edits. Had to flash bios. ASUS z170a. Also could not enable sli in control panel unless I killed some processes first which kept auto restarting.

I am now able to run Witcher 3 at a frame rate that never drops before 60 with everything maxed out at 4k on a 43 inch monitor. Looks glorious. Never thought I’d be able to do this but here I am. It’s buttery smooth too with no micro suffering. I assume communication over pciexpress is the reason I get no micro stutter ?
 

1UCKER

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2020
Messages
1 (0.05/day)
Location
Ukraine
Hi everyone
I would like to sli same videocards, but as long as my mobo doesnt support it, i woulkd like to ask you guys is it even possible
My specs:
mobo Asus asus p8h67-v le (supports crossfire, but doesnt support sli)
video Asus gtx 760 2x
Works under Windows 10
Will it work?
 
Top