• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[SOLVED] - Attempting to make a graph in LibreOfficeCalc using an exponential Y-axis but i keep getting it wrong

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
So here's the original linear graph:

Screenshot from 2020-04-29 10-33-51.png

And here's the modification of the Y-axis to logarithmic:

Screenshot from 2020-04-29 10-34-54.png

I want each horizontal line to represent double the previous one, instead of ten times as much, so how do i do it?

The file from which i made the chart is attached but, so far, the totals column hasn't been filled yet: had to compress it into Zip format because ODS extension isn't allowed in attached files.
 

Attachments

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (6.06/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Not really sure what you're asking for but you can use sheet.columnrow to address data from a different sheet. e.g. make a new sheet then do =Sheet1.B2 to copy the original value. If you want to do an additive thing: =Sheet1.B2+Sheet1.B3 then propagate that down the entire column. Get the raw data you want and graph away.

Placing a $ makes it absolute so it won't increment when dragged.


The first graph already looks like what you want, no?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,164 (1.17/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
you have to play with minor/major interval values
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
Not really sure what you're asking for but you can use sheet.columnrow to address data from a different sheet. e.g. make a new sheet then do =Sheet1.B2 to copy the original value. If you want to do an adative thing: =Sheet1.B2+Sheet1.B3 then propagate that down the entire column. Get the raw data you want and graph away.

Placing a $ makes it absolute so it won't increment when dragged.


The first graph already looks like what you want, no?
Nope. In the 1st graph, each horizontal line is 200 higher than the previous, which is a linear increase.

Instead of the logarithmic scale of the 2nd graph:

- 10000
- 1000
- 100
- 10
- 1

In the Y axis, i want something like:

- 3200
- 1600
- 800
- 400
- 200
- 100
- 50
- 25

you have to play with minor/major interval values
Tried to mess with those but, so far, without success.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,164 (1.17/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
i dont think you'll be able to represent geometric progression with only start value and interval while not having info on how major/minor interval impact scaling intervals of the graph
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
i dont think you'll be able to represent geometric progression with only start value and interval while not having info on how major/minor interval impact scaling intervals of the graph
This is supposed to be an attempt @ representing the progression of infected COVID-19 cases in Portugal. I've since added the accumulated totals.

Thus far, we have over 24K infected cases so the graph should go @ least as high as 25600, as per the scale i suggested in my previous reply. This will increase but, since the next value is 51200, there's a long way to go to reach it, hopefully.

My plan was to do this for several countries and then compare the shape of the lines from the charts.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,328 (4.08/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
From what I can understand what you want basically is instead of having a logarithmic scale in base 10, you want it in base 2. So each equally spaced tick on the vertical axis represents an increase in 2x instead of 10x. Right ? I don't think there is any straight forward way of changing it unfortunately, I could only find this :

 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (6.06/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Seems to work. Select graph -> Format -> Axis -> Y-Axis then make the tabs match below.
graph.png

scale.png

numbers.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,137 (0.31/day)
From what I can understand what you want basically is instead of having a logarithmic scale in base 10, you want it in base 2. So each equally spaced tick on the vertical axis represents an increase in 2x instead of 10x. Right ? I don't think there is any straight forward way of changing it unfortunately, I could only find this :

I agree, there is no an option to select log base - glad to be mistaken.

But how is that any different than what it is now except in labeling? If the inputs are the same then nothing changes other than the labels...which you could hide and replace (Format -> Axis -> Y-Axis -> Label tab -> untick box).
It shows power law, base 2 that is.
 
Last edited:

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
From what I can understand what you want basically is instead of having a logarithmic scale in base 10, you want it in base 2. So each equally spaced tick on the vertical axis represents an increase in 2x instead of 10x. Right ? I don't think there is any straight forward way of changing it unfortunately, I could only find this :

Correct: that's what i want, then do it for a few countries and then compare the shape of the lines of the various graphs.

But how is that any different than what it is now except in labeling? If the inputs are the same then nothing changes other than the labels...which you could hide and replace (Format -> Axis -> Y-Axis -> Label tab -> untick box).
The shape of the lines changes.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,137 (0.31/day)
Portugese! Eat yoghurt! And reach out to these guys who made the study. They are Greek and the study is only 4 years old.
I have an intuition that 'this' follows the nations who are most lactose intolerant. Sorry, if you find that disturbingly simple, much of null hypotheses are.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,164 (1.17/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
you can change log base in excel.
didnt seen such option in libreoffice.
Capture.PNG
and i have to update my installation too ^^
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (6.06/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I edited my post trying what Vya Domus linked, seems to work as intended.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,328 (4.08/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Correct: that's what i want, then do it for a few countries and then compare the shape of the lines of the various graphs.


The shape of the lines changes.
You could just take the values for the y axis and take the log 2 of them and use those for the plotting with no logarithmic scale.
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
I edited my post trying what Vya Domus linked, seems to work as intended.
I must be doing something wrong:

Screenshot from 2020-04-29 13-33-38.png

The current file with the accumulated totals is in attach, zipped again. It's only up to yesterday's results, so far.

You could just take the values for the y axis and take the log 2 of them and use those for the plotting with no logarithmic scale.
Dunno how to do that :(

you can change log base in excel.
didnt seen such option in libreoffice.
View attachment 153189
and i have to update my installation too ^^
No longer use Windows, so that's not an option.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,137 (0.31/day)
I must be doing something wrong:

View attachment 153190

The current file with the accumulated totals is in attach, zipped again. It's only up to yesterday's results, so far.


Dunno how to do that :(


No longer use Windows, so that's not an option.
Have you tried to select the minimum '1' and minor interval '2'?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (6.06/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I must be doing something wrong:

View attachment 153190

The current file with the accumulated totals is in attach, zipped again. It's only up to yesterday's results, so far.


Dunno how to do that :(


No longer use Windows, so that's not an option.
It's really important to set Major Interval to 0.30103 and Minor Interval Count to 10.
Untitled.png
 

Attachments

  • Like
Reactions: HTC

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
Have you tried to select the minimum '1' and minor interval '2'?
Figured out my mistake: forgot to select "logarithmic scale" ... DUH ... :banghead:

This is what i was searching for:

Screenshot from 2020-04-29 13-44-14.png


Now, to polish things up, i just need to figure out the formula to have the accumulated totals more easily ... because i added the totals one by one ..., then change the names of the columns in the charts to "daily" and "accumulated", respectively. None of which i know how to do ...

Then repeat this but for other countries, and finally compare the shape of the lines in the graphs.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,137 (0.31/day)
Figured out my mistake: forgot to select "logarithmic scale" ... DUH ... :banghead:

This is what i was searching for:

View attachment 153199

Now, to polish things up, i just need to figure out the formula to have the accumulated totals more easily ... because i added the totals one by one ..., then change the names of the columns in the charts to "daily" and "accumulated", respectively. None of which i know how to do ...

Then repeat this but for other countries, and finally compare the shape of the lines in the graphs.
You're doing great. Don't let it overbear on you.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (6.06/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Might I suggest the Column and Line graph?
 

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
Might I suggest the Column and Line graph?
I posted the file with the data: you can see how i did it.

It would be much easier if, instead of inputting two sets of data (the daily totals + the accumulated totals), i could do it with just the daily totals and have spreadsheet calculate the rest for me.

I also added the dates one by one as well.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,164 (1.17/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
both solutions (with log2 of the data and with log scale of the axis)
i think log scales will fit your needs better

edit:
I posted the file with the data: you can see how i did it.

It would be much easier if, instead of inputting two sets of data (the daily totals + the accumulated totals), i could do it with just the daily totals and have spreadsheet calculate the rest for me.

I also added the dates one by one as well.
in the c3 cell add " =C2+B3 "
then move the cursor over the + at the bottom right of the cell hold Lclick and drag down along the column until you reach last row with data (or a bit more if you plan to add more data later)
 

Attachments

Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: HTC
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,137 (0.31/day)
would be much easier if, instead of inputting two sets of data (the daily totals + the accumulated totals), i could do it with just the daily totals and have spreadsheet calculate the rest for me.
You could formulate if you set a different column adding the two upper columns into the field down a rank. So you have daily change(incidence)=x1, former total(prevalence, old)=x2, daily total=(prevalence, new). X3 is then x2 in the next rank. I haven't thought of it any other way, outside of iterations.

You set C3 to "=B3+C2" and C4 to "=C3" once rule is trained by you entering it(have to press enter for the whole C column), further modifications to field B(you just type in today's incidence) ought to train the next columns.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: HTC

HTC

Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,148 (0.92/day)
Location
Portugal
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14, with the AM4 mounting kit
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Fractal Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 850M 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Software Ubuntu 19.04 LTS
You could formulate if you set a different column adding the two upper columns into the field down a rank. So you have daily change(incidence)=x1, former total(prevalence, old)=x2, daily total=(prevalence, new). X3 is then x2 in the next rank. I haven't thought of it any other way, outside of iterations.

You set C3 to "=B3+C2" and C4 to "=C3" once rule is trained by you entering it(have to press enter for the whole C column), further modifications to field B(you just type in today's incidence) ought to train the next columns.
But C4's value should be "=C3+B4" and not only "=C3", no?
 
Top