• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SSD as Boot Drive? How?

Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
82 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Professional P67
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill RipJaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Crucial M4 64GB SSD (Boot) Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 22"
Case Corsair 600T Special Edition White
Power Supply Corsair HX850 Modular
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
#1
Hey,

Well, I have new parts coming in tomorrow and the thing that I'm pretty clueless about is the SSD. I ordered a Crucial M4 64GB as a boot drive, and a Spinpoint F3 for a storage drive. How would I go about installing Windows 7 64-bit on the SSD, and have everything else on the Spinpoint F3 (Users, etc.)?

After googling, this is what I've found: http://www.overclock.net/ssd/664738-how-setup-ssd-boot-drive-secondary.html

Is that how you guys did it that wanted an SSD just as a boot drive? Or is there a simpler way?

Also, should I enable AHCI in the BIOS?

Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,283 (0.93/day)
Likes
527
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#2
Well, I have new parts coming in tomorrow and the thing that I'm pretty clueless about is the SSD. I ordered a Crucial M4 64GB as a boot drive, and a Spinpoint F3 for a storage drive. How would I go about installing Windows 7 64-bit on the SSD, and have everything else on the Spinpoint F3 (Users, etc.)?
Essentially everything that is part of Windows (Users etc.) has to be installed on the Boot Drive. You could store something like, all your programs on the Spinpoint by just making a Program Files-esque folder and whenever it asks for a directory to install to pointing the software there.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
82 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Professional P67
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill RipJaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Crucial M4 64GB SSD (Boot) Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 22"
Case Corsair 600T Special Edition White
Power Supply Corsair HX850 Modular
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
#3
Well would it be fine if I installed Windows 7 just as I normally would but on the SSD, and whenever I install something else just manually select the mechanical/storage drive for it?

Or should I go through the complex route that I linked above which moves the whole Users folder to the mechanical drive, not on the SSD?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
776 (0.23/day)
Likes
193
Location
in retarded hell
#4
Well would it be fine if I installed Windows 7 just as I normally would but on the SSD, and whenever I install something else just manually select the mechanical/storage drive for it?

Or should I go through the complex route that I linked above which moves the whole Users folder to the mechanical drive, not on the SSD?
its not complex, use windows to move the libraries to the mechanical drive for documents pictures music etc etc, when installing a program, just select (for example) d:\program instead of c:\program

 
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
82 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Professional P67
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill RipJaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Crucial M4 64GB SSD (Boot) Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 22"
Case Corsair 600T Special Edition White
Power Supply Corsair HX850 Modular
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
#5
So should I just install Windows like I normally do, but on the SSD instead?

Also, is there anything I have to change in the BIOS when using an SSD?

Thanks again
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#6
So should I just install Windows like I normally do, but on the SSD instead?

Also, is there anything I have to change in the BIOS when using an SSD?

Thanks again
Yep, that's the simplest way.

In the BIOS, switch to AHCI if you want. It will let the drives be hot-swapable (not that you'll hot-swap out your boot drive), but it is nothing specifically required for a SSD - it effects SSDs and HDDs equally. (I think)
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
Congratulations on your upgrade to an ssd for starters, you going to love it.

I do as everyone else says, i just installed windows straight onto it then save all my program files on my normal spindle drives, and when i save a file i just do save as.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,976 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,547
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#8
you can go quite extreme using tune up utillities 2011 for eg and move all user specific files to your spindle drive so that all write intensive stuff is done on spindle not ssd inc downloads saves temp folders logs,all write a lot but dont req any speed normally and deffinately move your system cache to the hd

as said switch to AHCI as it offers better performance and config options then IDE but you might need an F6 SATA AHCI install driver(used at win install) for your mobo i did, i also needed a driver on usb for my ssd, might be worth grabbing before you wipe as it could end in tears
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
82 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Professional P67
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill RipJaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Crucial M4 64GB SSD (Boot) Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 22"
Case Corsair 600T Special Edition White
Power Supply Corsair HX850 Modular
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
#9
Well, I have Windows installed on the SSD, along with the drivers and browser. Now, I'm trying to install other stuff (Steam, games, etc.), but the mechanical drive isn't showing. I'm sure I missed a step?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#10
You need to go into Computer Management to setup the partition(s) on the mechanical drive.

Congrats on the SSD :)
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#11
Well would it be fine if I installed Windows 7 just as I normally would but on the SSD, and whenever I install something else just manually select the mechanical/storage drive for it??
this is the simplest way my friend and would work the best, anything else will get too complex :)
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2011
Messages
82 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Professional P67
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill RipJaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage Crucial M4 64GB SSD (Boot) Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 22"
Case Corsair 600T Special Edition White
Power Supply Corsair HX850 Modular
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
#12
Alright thanks guys! It's formatting the mechanical drive right now. The only things on the SSD are windows 7, drivers for pretty much everything (mouse, kb, video card, mobo), and basic stuff like anti virus and firefox. Everything else (games and stuff) I'll put on the mechanical drive.

Thanks for the help again
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2011
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#13
Some other things you can do that helped my similar install:

1) disable system protection (this will disable the restore function, thus freeing up space on the SSD. I do a secure erase + fresh install every 8 weeks anyways, but your needs might vary).
2) Disable Virtual Memory (this will free up a lot of space, however I would only do it if you have 8gb+ of RAM)
3) Disable Internet Explorer 8 (do this if you only if you don't use IE.)
4) Verify that hibernation is disabled (it's pointless to hibernate using an SSD and this feature takes up a good deal of space.)
5) As others have stated, move your music, docs, videos, etc.. to your mechanical drive (these are files that are less speed sensitive and are more often written to. This saves space and SSD lifespan).

These are a few things that I do on my own system, however, you may have differing needs. After I did these things, I found that I have more space on the SSD for games and what not.