• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange shutdowns

new_rez

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
446 (0.11/day)
Likes
3
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel B2 conroe core 2 duo E6300 @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA965P DS4
Cooling Case = 5x80mm Thermaltake silent Fans, 2xDelta 80mm Fan, CPU = Thermalright Ultra-90 + 120mm fan
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ gold
Video Card(s) HD6850 oc - 965gpu - 1100 mem
Storage 80Gb Seagate 7200rpm 8Mb Cache, 80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm 8Mb Cache
Display(s) Samsung SM205BW 20"
Case Thermaltake XaserIII
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic!
Power Supply Hiper 580W HPU-4M580
Software Windows 7 64bit ultimate
#1
Hey guys,

My Dads PC has developed this really wierd problem. Whenever you open up WMP, Real player or MSN, the screen turns off and then restarts. Its really strange. Anyone got any ideas on what it could be?

He's got XP, Gefore Ti4200, AMD athlon 2200, 512 ram. Im trying to persuade him to upgrade, but he wont :shadedshu

Atm i'm just Downloading new graphics drivers and doing a system clean.

Any ideas would be very useful :)

Thanks,
Harry
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.73/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#2
If it's any counsellation I have the same thing. I reduced it's frequency by downloading the latest drivers for my motherboard chipset and a new BIOS. Other than that, in my case, it's my PSU that's the problem.
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#3
Next time you boot windows hit like F8 I think it is and you should be able to disable; "automatic restart on system failure" so if you are BSODing then it will give you the bsod instead of just restarting. If it doesn't give you one its something to do with the PSU like truewill said
 

new_rez

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
446 (0.11/day)
Likes
3
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel B2 conroe core 2 duo E6300 @ 3.3Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA965P DS4
Cooling Case = 5x80mm Thermaltake silent Fans, 2xDelta 80mm Fan, CPU = Thermalright Ultra-90 + 120mm fan
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ gold
Video Card(s) HD6850 oc - 965gpu - 1100 mem
Storage 80Gb Seagate 7200rpm 8Mb Cache, 80Gb Maxtor 7200rpm 8Mb Cache
Display(s) Samsung SM205BW 20"
Case Thermaltake XaserIII
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeMusic!
Power Supply Hiper 580W HPU-4M580
Software Windows 7 64bit ultimate
#4
Thanks for the replys guys. A while back we thought the power supply was dodgy. The computer would turn on, but we would get no signal input and somethings wouldn't powerup. I suppose it my dads fault for not getting a decent one.

I'll still persuade him to upgrade. It shouldn't cost more than £150 for a PC that will suit him. Maybe if I spill water on it... lol.

Ill check out if it is BSODing.

Thanks,
Harry
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#5
Ok, once your check if its a BSOD kinda write out what the BSOD said and we can determine if its RAM or the hdd, could be the HDD if it was an all-of-a-sudden thing.
 

CH@NO

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
901 (0.23/day)
Likes
59
Location
Toluca, Mexico
System Name Thank God you're back!!!
Processor Intel Core i3 2100 @ 3.1GHz (stock)
Motherboard ECS H67H2-M3
Cooling Stock + 1 X 80mm Thermaltake red LED
Memory 1 X 4 GB Kingston 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) coming soon
Storage 1TB Seagate SATAII + 500GB Hitachi USB (External)
Display(s) Samsung 20" LED Widescreen
Case coming soon
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek HD 6ch Audio
Power Supply Generic 450W with 20A on the 12v+ rail
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores coming soon
#6
Hey guys,

My Dads PC has developed this really wierd problem. Whenever you open up WMP, Real player or MSN, the screen turns off and then restarts. Its really strange. Anyone got any ideas on what it could be?

He's got XP, Gefore Ti4200, AMD athlon 2200, 512 ram. Im trying to persuade him to upgrade, but he wont :shadedshu

Atm i'm just Downloading new graphics drivers and doing a system clean.

Any ideas would be very useful :)

Thanks,
Harry

Hi Harry.

Maybe your problem resides on a SW conflict, unistall newer programs than the date your PC start to reset, Like another member said press F8 key on the startup (before the Win XP boot logo appears) and select from the menu "disable auto reset" option, so if occurs again the Blue Screen surely give you something to take care of this issue that you have.

Or get rid of the SO and reinstall it again..........that surely solve your prob.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#7
Look into the sound card (drivers), considering that you have this problem every time the computer tries to make noises :p.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
530 (0.14/day)
Likes
35
Location
Montevideo, Uruguay
System Name EMMA <3
Processor AMD Athlon X2 3600+ Brisbane @ Stock
Motherboard GigaByte GA-M57SLI-s4 (I also hate it -.-)
Cooling Stock and many Fans :D
Memory 2GB G.Skill (2 x 1GB DDR-2 800 CL5-5-5-15) @ Stock
Video Card(s) ECS 8600GT @ Stock
Storage Samsung (120GB IDE)
Display(s) Compaq V70 (Plz Viewsonic 1903w hurry up!!!)
Case Case xD
Audio Device(s) Realtek dunnowat 7.1 onboard
Power Supply Eurocase 450w
Software Vista Ultimate x32
Benchmark Scores Poor, horrible xD
#8
Look into the sound card (drivers), considering that you have this problem every time the computer tries to make noises :p.
Then it'll crash when windows start and makes that lill music xD
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#9
A very easy fix for this would prob just be to reinstall windows:toast:, just back up your important files
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#11
I am 99% sure the problem is caused by a bad ram stick. Se if you can run memtest for at least a good hour without errors.
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#12
and what is your RAM setup? (channels size, size per stick ect)
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
this problems are because bad ram or your temperature on the cpu its to highor de fan cooler its not working ... clean and watch if every thing is ok
 

Zeratul_uy

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
530 (0.14/day)
Likes
35
Location
Montevideo, Uruguay
System Name EMMA <3
Processor AMD Athlon X2 3600+ Brisbane @ Stock
Motherboard GigaByte GA-M57SLI-s4 (I also hate it -.-)
Cooling Stock and many Fans :D
Memory 2GB G.Skill (2 x 1GB DDR-2 800 CL5-5-5-15) @ Stock
Video Card(s) ECS 8600GT @ Stock
Storage Samsung (120GB IDE)
Display(s) Compaq V70 (Plz Viewsonic 1903w hurry up!!!)
Case Case xD
Audio Device(s) Realtek dunnowat 7.1 onboard
Power Supply Eurocase 450w
Software Vista Ultimate x32
Benchmark Scores Poor, horrible xD
#14
this problems are because bad ram or your temperature on the cpu its to highor de fan cooler its not working ... clean and watch if every thing is ok
Ivan?!?! Is that you??!?!
 

Zeratul_uy

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
530 (0.14/day)
Likes
35
Location
Montevideo, Uruguay
System Name EMMA <3
Processor AMD Athlon X2 3600+ Brisbane @ Stock
Motherboard GigaByte GA-M57SLI-s4 (I also hate it -.-)
Cooling Stock and many Fans :D
Memory 2GB G.Skill (2 x 1GB DDR-2 800 CL5-5-5-15) @ Stock
Video Card(s) ECS 8600GT @ Stock
Storage Samsung (120GB IDE)
Display(s) Compaq V70 (Plz Viewsonic 1903w hurry up!!!)
Case Case xD
Audio Device(s) Realtek dunnowat 7.1 onboard
Power Supply Eurocase 450w
Software Vista Ultimate x32
Benchmark Scores Poor, horrible xD
#16
Ale hey im giving some solutions here.... what s your opinion??
:D Welcome to TPU!!! :D

Well, in my point of view is the same as JrRacingFan, I have a stick that restarts the pc :D
In other hand, it also can be a heat problem coz AMD Athlon 2200+ heatsink (assuming you use the stock one) isn't sooo good...

@new_rez, try to enter the BIOS when the pc restarts and go to the "Hardware Monitor", see how your temps are there.
 

Fox34

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,048 (0.48/day)
Likes
96
Location
Venice
System Name Amber
Processor AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+ Toledo 3.0GHz/2.0GHz 1.5V
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI Expert
Cooling Air: 1 80mm-Intake-top | 4-120mm 3-intake-1-exhaust | Proc 120mm blue orbII | N.B-T.T Key 3|
Memory 2GIG, 4x512 Kingston Hyper-X DDR333 PC 2700@167Mhz |2-2-2-5|-7-1T-8(CPU-Z) Dual channel
Video Card(s) 2 PNY Verto 8600GT'S in SLI, 670MHz/540MHz(Core)800MHz/700MHz
Storage 320 Gig Western digital SATA
Display(s) Sony 17" LCD 1280x1024 @ 75Htz
Case Sunbeam clear acrylic
Audio Device(s) Native Instuments Guitar Rig 3
Power Supply 520 Watt Aspire Dual rail +12#1 16 amps +12#2 18 amps(I think)
Software Fedora Core 8, Windows Vista
#17
In addition to checking your temps, check your shutdown temps and compare them to what your running at, before your restart and go into your BIOS, run a benchmark hardcore to heat of your proc so you can see an estimate of what it runs at load, easier would be to get everest and check your temps from windows while running a benchmark.