• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

TechPowerUp OSD Server: new beta build

gegegreen

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
very good software but I can bring myself to abandon definitely for its inability to save the settings and restore them afterwards again we can not export to a INI file for example .
I'm tired of constantly re my settings again and again, a pity that this function is not been planned.
I think the devellopement is stopped?? damage I adored this little software.
thank you for the work, thank you for trying
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,323 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,727
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
very good software but I can bring myself to abandon definitely for its inability to save the settings and restore them afterwards again we can not export to a INI file for example .
I'm tired of constantly re my settings again and again, a pity that this function is not been planned.
I think the devellopement is stopped?? damage I adored this little software.
thank you for the work, thank you for trying
Sorry to see no one responded to you. How ever if you do see this or if anyone else is wanting to save them self's from redoing the settings here you go.

Start Command Prompt and type Regedit
Regedit can be found under Start\Accessories

HKEY_CURRENT_USER>Software>techPowerUp>OSDServer then you just right click were it says OSDServer and export.

WARNING messing with the registry can stop the OS from working right and even stop it working so be careful.

Anyways..I use openhardwaremonitor and was curious if support for it could be added to work with this program..

I do wounder why this has not been added to the forums Our Software section ?.. Maybe because it's beta but still personanly think it should be added to get more attention.

And last of all thanks Wiz..
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,075 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,992
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
very good software but I can bring myself to abandon definitely for its inability to save the settings and restore them afterwards again we can not export to a INI file for example .
I'm tired of constantly re my settings again and again, a pity that this function is not been planned.
I think the devellopement is stopped?? damage I adored this little software.
thank you for the work, thank you for trying
just to clarify. you are asking for a feature to export settings so you can take them to another pc?

or is there something wrong with settings not getting saved between restarts?

I do wounder why this has not been added to the forums Our Software section ?.. Maybe because it's beta but still personanly think it should be added to get more attention.
osd server is kind of a pet project of mine that i work on when i have free time/bored. then i realize people dont care about it, get dissapointed, ignore it for a while, only to work on it again some time
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,323 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,727
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
just to clarify. you are asking for a feature to export settings so you can take them to another pc?

or is there something wrong with settings not getting saved between restarts?



osd server is kind of a pet project of mine that i work on when i have free time/bored. then i realize people dont care about it, get dissapointed, ignore it for a while, only to work on it again some time
Maybe a lot of people miss it due to just being a thread in the video section.

And as for interest i like the app\tool lot. However you did not say if openhardwaremonitor support been added yet or if it will be t some point.

Unless it supports another CPU app that shows CPU clock temps and voltages please say.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
osd server is kind of a pet project of mine that i work on when i have free time/bored. then i realize people dont care about it, get dissapointed, ignore it for a while, only to work on it again some time
Its my go to app for monitoring fps/gpu stuff in game.

Also, since I just thought about it. One of the games I play has a pretty comprehensive in game stats monitor. One of the things it does is tell you how long the cpu is taking to send data to the gpu or something. It is to see if you cpu is the bottleneck. I found that pretty usefull for that game at least. The game is natural selection 2.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,323 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,727
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Just got a issue with TPU OSD and that was running Max Payne 3 which we started to play tonight and what happens is that is just courses a black screens with a crash.

Here's the windows crash report

Faulting application name: MaxPayne3.exe, version: 1.0.0.82, time stamp: 0x50bbea2b
Faulting module name: OSDServer.dll, version: 0.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x4fbbf912
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000054ec
Faulting process id: 0xe70
Faulting application start time: 0x01cdedfa3638d111
Faulting application path: D:\Max Payne 3\MaxPayne3.exe
Faulting module path: D:\games\TechPowerUp OSD Server\OSDServer.dll
Report Id: 81771eaf-59ed-11e2-bc4b-bc5ff41eda3c
 

NJCermak

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
I know not one person is going to make much of a difference, however, I just wanted you to know that I very much appreciate your program. Due to certain circumstances, I'm unable to use MSI or EVGA's RTSS iteration. Fortunately, I stumbled upon your little program. I've been using it for awhile now with very few, minor hiccups. I think (if you're still developing this at all or not), that this could become a very lightweight, versatile program in conjunction with GPU-Z.

Alas, I just wanted to maybe give you a little bit of a push and some kudos if you needed it for some motivation! :toast:
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,323 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,727
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Could not agree more and i believe the only reason that wiz has not updated it is just due having the time..

Hopefully he finding some time every so often to make it as good as any other TPU app.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
I raise my hand to say "useful".

I would also raise my hand to including other sensors not just GPUZ data. ie CPU temp and FB-DIMM temp. Then the OSD would contain all the info I wanted in one neat simple package.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,323 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,727
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
I raise my hand to say "useful".

I would also raise my hand to including other sensors not just GPUZ data. ie CPU temp and FB-DIMM temp. Then the OSD would contain all the info I wanted in one neat simple package.
Like to see that too, all so would like to see a extract setting's button too so people would not have to fiddle in the reg.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,323 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,727
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Shame not many use it as i still think it's the best for having in game details of your GPU and CPU.

Then again it is hard as hell to find.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,803 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,577
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
i wish it would get 64 bit application support, bcs with new games being 64 bit i would love to use this, bcs it's sooo much easier then MSI OSD and works better then FAPS (FRAPS).
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,323 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,727
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
i wish it would get 64 bit application support, bcs with new games being 64 bit i would love to use this, bcs it's sooo much easier then MSI OSD and works better then FAPS (FRAPS).
Works perfectly fine for me in Vista and Win 7 and i use it with every game i play without issue. Well if i start Arma up 1st i get a issue due to battleye kicking off :p..
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,803 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,577
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
Works perfectly fine for me in Vista and Win 7 and i use it with every game i play without issue. Well if i start Arma up 1st i get a issue due to battleye kicking off :p..
i am not talking about Windows, i am talking about games, i haven't had luck with any of the games i got that can run 64 bit applications (the exe file is for 64bit only) stats don't come up.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,385 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,021
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Don't lose heart W1zzard! You have admirers of this project! I think it's great!