• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thanks to Windows 11, Scalpers Buy Out Add-on TPM 2.0 Modules

D

Deleted member 211695

Guest
i'm curious to see how this will work for older motherboards that you can buy the TPM and add it. Because even with doing that Haswell doesn't meet the cpu requirements for windows 11.

Intel 8th gen and up.
I'm one of the few that got ahold of a TPM 2.0 20-pin for my motherboard, I ignorantly thought my 4th gen 4.3 GHz i7-4790K would be supported. I was mistaken. while I may have been able to acquire the TPM, my CPU and any intel cup below 8th gen are not supported because they feel like it.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
4,572 (1.04/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2021
Processor AMD RyZen R7 5800X @4550MHz 1.298V
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal + CM MasterGel Pro TP
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws V Black 4000 MTs (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ OC RX6800 16GB DDR6 2205Cclk / 2000Mclk
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) AOC 24G2 IPS 144Hz FreeSync Premium 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 front panel upgrade
Audio Device(s) RX6800 via HDMI + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W 5.1 Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G815
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 20H2)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
I'm one of the few that got ahold of a TPM 2.0 20-pin for my motherboard, I ignorantly thought my 4th gen 4.3 GHz i7-4790K would be supported. I was mistaken. while I may have been able to acquire the TPM, my CPU and any intel cup below 8th gen are not supported because they feel like it.
Well atleast you can more than your money back for it so sort of makes up for the waste of time
 
D

Deleted member 211695

Guest
Yup, checked the net last night for a TPM module for an ASRock H97 Performance board with a i7-4790K on it. $40 from 3rd party on Newegg was cheapest I could find from a quick look. Nuts!
I had to order a TPM too, but i neglected to see that our i7-4790Ks will not be supported. the same goes for any intel chip below 8th gen. dumb ass Microsoft

Have a TPM 2.0 now but still not supported :(

Well atleast you can more than your money back for it so sort of makes up for the waste of time
I guess you are right my friend. do you think i should just sell it or maybe hold out hope that the requirements will change?
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
4,572 (1.04/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2021
Processor AMD RyZen R7 5800X @4550MHz 1.298V
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal + CM MasterGel Pro TP
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws V Black 4000 MTs (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ OC RX6800 16GB DDR6 2205Cclk / 2000Mclk
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) AOC 24G2 IPS 144Hz FreeSync Premium 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 front panel upgrade
Audio Device(s) RX6800 via HDMI + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W 5.1 Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G815
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 20H2)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
I guess you are right my friend. do you think i should just sell it or maybe hold out hope that the requirements will change?
yeah I'd just sell it MS are not going to change their minds and back track on allowing older CPU's
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
2,301 (1.53/day)
Location
Buenos Aires, Argentina
System Name System V
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth // a bunch of 120 mm Xigmatek 1500 RPM fans (2 ins, 3 outs)
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage SHFS37A240G / DT01ACA200 / WD20EZRX / MKNSSDTR256GB-3DL / LG BH16NS40 / ST10000VN0008
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Whatever build of Windows 11 is being served in Dev channel at the time.
Benchmark Scores Corona 1.3: 3120620 r/s Cinebench R20: 3355 FireStrike: 12490 TimeSpy: 4624
do you think i should just sell it or maybe hold out hope that the requirements will change?
I don't think they will back down on this. If nothing else, you're not missing out much by staying on Windows 10.

EDIT: BTW, they're also putting similar restrictions on Windows 10 feature upgrades.
Windows Processor Requirements Windows 10 21H1 Supported Intel Processors | Microsoft Docs
You say you have a 4790K, so Devil's Canyon, so Haswell. If you don't get the 21H1 (or May 2021) update, it's probably because your CPU is not on the supported list.

EDIT2: Disregard the previous statement, since it seems this restriction is even older but has not applied. My old Core i3-4330 doesn't show up in those lists but I have a rig with that processor that has been updated to the 20H2 version.
 
Last edited:

VEGGIM

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
8 (0.02/day)
yeah I'd just sell it MS are not going to change their minds and back track on allowing older CPU's
Well thing is windows 11 will be uefi only and they are stripping the 32bit from it. This means any 16 bit applications you have will not work with windows 11. 32 bit applications however will. This also means any windows before windows 8 era computer if not upgraded is dead.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
119 (0.07/day)
It is a world were we the people need to learn to protect ourselves instead of relying on government and corporations to protect us like pathetic little sheep.
That's security through ignorance, literally, if you are following updates in the field of security. For a very basic one, how the hell are you going to protect yourself from a website hosting JS-based Spectre attacks? How can you be so sure that the top website you visited has not been hacked to host such attacks?

For physical security, if you failed to protect yourself, well, the worst case scenario is getting injured or killed. I mean, criminals or bad luck can only do so many stuff in a day. World won't burn.
In the digital world, millions of devices or accounts are at stake. You are feeling safe not getting Spectre attacks, not because you are genius, but because this thing is undetectable and is (probably) patched early on, or because the criminals thought targeting less-experienced users is easier and more profitable for now.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
1,293 (2.52/day)
System Name Chip
Processor Amd 1600 AF
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar Max
Cooling Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x 8g ddr4 2666mz
Video Card(s) Msi Gaming x 1060 6g
Storage 5.5 tb hd 220 g ssd
Display(s) Normal moniter
Case Deepcool smater
Why do you think this? The official compatability tool suggests otherwise.
a yt video clearly demonstrating its not mandatory
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,932 (3.21/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
a yt video clearly demonstrating its not mandatory
A youtube? Of a beta? Gotcha. Don't count on that working forever.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
1,293 (2.52/day)
System Name Chip
Processor Amd 1600 AF
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar Max
Cooling Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x 8g ddr4 2666mz
Video Card(s) Msi Gaming x 1060 6g
Storage 5.5 tb hd 220 g ssd
Display(s) Normal moniter
Case Deepcool smater
A youtube? Of a beta? Gotcha. Don't count on that working forever.
Thats true but im willing to be there will be some way to give you a local acount anyway
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
16,049 (5.97/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Audio Device(s) Situational :)
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II (Best K/B ever... <3)
Software W10 x64
I might go all XP-ish over this Windows 10 installation I have going right now. Growing attached to it. Stahp, MS, please.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,932 (3.21/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Thats true but im willing to be there will be some way to give you a local acount anyway
Local account is a seperate thing from making it install without the hardware root of trust it wants.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,325 (5.54/day)
Location
USA
here in Gougelandastan (New Zealand)
That just made me laugh..

how the hell are you going to protect yourself from a website hosting JS-based Spectre attacks?
Simple: NoScript(or disabling JS). However, and I KNOW I've said this in other treads, Spectre/Meltdown attack CAN NOT SUCCEED REMOTELY! Physical presence is REQUIRED.
How can you be so sure that the top website you visited has not been hacked to host such attacks?
I'm not going into a dissertation on how and why that is easily protected from.
For physical security, if you failed to protect yourself, well, the worst case scenario is getting injured or killed.
You seem to be taking this to an extreme NO ONE will ever face.

Protecting ones self on the internet is somewhat involved, it's not rocket science.

Quit with your sad flame baiting.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
119 (0.07/day)
However, and I KNOW I've said this in other treads, Spectre/Meltdown attack CAN NOT SUCCEED REMOTELY! Physical presence is REQUIRED.
Yes, they absolutely do. I'm curious where you hear the physical presence part from. Most likely you are referring some other vulnerabilities released around the same time. Not the Spectre.

Spectre only exploits CPU microarchitectures. Any code gets running on the target platform can theoretically perform the attack. The range of attack is dependent on the specifc variant and attack vectors. However your browser password is definitely within reach for JS-based Spectre attacks. That's why the very first fixes lands on Chrome and Firefox with big warning signs if you don't swallow the update.

Simple: NoScript(or disabling JS).
This is a solution indeed. But that's a "Internet surfs you" solution in 2021.


Let me present my ideas better. User expertise is never the best strategy in security. It is kind of like the last line of defense while the attacks are extermely scalable and still evolving. Long gone are the days of "up a firewall and good to go", and "Spectre CAN SUCCEED REMOTELY" is the new reality. Self protection only is like using pistols against enemies from street thugs all the way up to Russian tank hoards. Normally, the tanks are fended off by the Army as it should be.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,806 (0.97/day)
System Name [Daily Driver -- Home Server]
Processor [Ryzen 5 3600X -- Intel i7-3770K]
Motherboard [Asus TUF GAMING X570-PLUS -- ASUS P8H61-I R2.0]
Memory [64GB G.Skill Ripjaws (16GBx4) -- 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws (4GBx2)]
Video Card(s) [PNY RTX 3070Ti XLR8 -- IGP]
Storage [500GB Crucial P2 M.2 , 2TB Samsung 860 QVO SSD -- Crucial BX500 2TB]
Display(s) [27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 34" Samsung at 1440p -- SSH]
Case [Fractal Meshify-C -- Lian Li Mini-ITX]
Power Supply [CORSAIR RM 650 -- EVGA 550 B5]
Mouse [Logitech G Pro -- SSH]
Keyboard [Logitech G810 -- SSH]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit -- Ubuntu]
will be going to Linux anyway now, so scalpers and M$ can eat it. damn, it feels good to be free once and for all. Linux to the moon!

Made it one reply before the "LOL LiNuX is BeTtEr, M$ BaD" post...

Nix has its uses, but literally no one besides the other 7 daily linux users care that you suffer thru inconvenience because "M$ iS BaD"
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
306 (0.05/day)
Location
virginia, usa
i'm curious to see how this will work for older motherboards that you can buy the TPM and add it. Because even with doing that Haswell doesn't meet the cpu requirements for windows 11.

Intel 8th gen and up.
I'd hope it would work, at least if you picked up a TPM2.0 module and have it on. Does the system meet the other requirements as well? If not, a few tweaks in BIOS might be needed.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
1,293 (2.52/day)
System Name Chip
Processor Amd 1600 AF
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar Max
Cooling Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x 8g ddr4 2666mz
Video Card(s) Msi Gaming x 1060 6g
Storage 5.5 tb hd 220 g ssd
Display(s) Normal moniter
Case Deepcool smater
You seem to be taking this to an extreme NO ONE will ever face.
oh yes that time i forgot to enable TPM 2.0 and i got killed
Realisticly that chip cant do anything so i 100% agree with this
it dont need to be enabled
Seems to just be artifical eof to me
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,932 (3.21/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
52,561 (8.31/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I think modders will find ways to get W11 to install on older hardware very very quickly

MS having official support saves them a lot of work and effort, but sheeit, we know they wouldnt bother blocking it unofficially working - they WANT people on their OS, they just want to save on costs patching and fixing shit on old hardware

I bet they're going to use this as a new security method, to try and give W11 a better security reputation
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,325 (5.54/day)
Location
USA
I think modders will find ways to get W11 to install on older hardware very very quickly
Oh yeah. There is a modding group already working on it.

MS having official support saves them a lot of work and effort, but sheeit, we know they wouldnt bother blocking it unofficially working - they WANT people on their OS
Oh, that's a good point! Not offically supported but they won't stop anyone from doing it anyway? I'd be ok with that on a personal level. I still think it's total humbuggery to even post such requirements.

they just want to save on costs patching and fixing shit on old hardware
Typical lazy-a$$ microsoft..

I bet they're going to use this as a new security method, to try and give W11 a better security reputation
Perhaps.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
2,356 (1.32/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX3060 12GB (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/d6y4u)
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV272U (DisplayPort) and HP 2311x (DVI/HDMI)
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
Secure boot is not mandatory
Why do you think this? The official compatability tool suggests otherwise.
I don't have Secure Boot enabled on my motherboard and the compatibility checking tool says that my system can be upgraded to Windows 11 just fine.

As for why I don't have Secure Boot enabled, I have no idea how to enable it on my motherboard. I tried to enable it in UEFI but it gave me some cryptic message about it not being able to be enabled and that's when I said, 'fuck it' and went on my merry way.
 

woom

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2021
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Upgraded my AMD 3800X to windows 11 all good ,also did my 4790k with Z79X MB AND A 3570K all ugraded from w10 pro.
 
Top