• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

The Dedicated PhysX card FAQ - Read this before asking any questions!

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,385 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,025
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Sometimes it depends on the game. You will need to go in and delete certain physx.dll's once in a while to get it to work. Either way I would do the swap even if you don't plan on using the card for PhysX.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
the 8800GT is overall faster card
Yes I know it's faster :) I called the 8800GT newer didn't I? I also posted 2 threads, I also made more error's this isn't my morning so bare with me :laugh:

But yes anyways I know it's faster, I've never had to bother before now though as always had NVidia as a main GPU so is it simple to get going and is the gains really worth the 8800GT with the added head and power over the 9500GT for the amount of PhysX games out there... either option has got be better than using my CPU for PhysX right?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,825
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes I know it's faster :) I called the 8800GT newer didn't I? I also posted 2 threads, I also made more error's this isn't my morning so bare with me :laugh:

But yes anyways I know it's faster, I've never had to bother before now though as always had NVidia as a main GPU so is it simple to get going and is the gains really worth the 8800GT with the added head and power over the 9500GT for the amount of PhysX games out there... either option has got be better than using my CPU for PhysX right?
8800GT is considerably better than the 9500 for PPU use, however power is the tradeoff
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
I've just used the PhysX mod with my 9500GT, ran 3Dmark 11 and got the same score as I would without it? Used Furmark too which show's I'm only using the 9500GT? (I have nothing attached via display to that card).
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,825
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I've just used the PhysX mod with my 9500GT, ran 3Dmark 11 and got the same score as I would without it? Used Furmark too which show's I'm only using the 9500GT? (I have nothing attached via display to that card).
did you go into the NV COntrol panel and ensure that Physx was enabled on the 9500GT and not the CPU?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
did you go into the NV COntrol panel and ensure that Physx was enabled on the 9500GT and not the CPU?
No, I'm unable to enter the control panel unless I plug a monitor into one of the 9500GT's display ports.

Should I do that? :eek:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,825
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
No, I'm unable to enter the control panel unless I plug a monitor into one of the 9500GT's display ports.

Should I do that? :eek:
worth a shot but perhaps a program like rivatuner/afterburner should allow it
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
Where would I look for this in AfterBurner?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
Where would I look for this in AfterBurner?
EDIT: If for example I do a run with 3Dmark Vantage and I look through the results and it says "PPU Disabled: true - PPU Used: false" does that mean my PhysX isn't working? :/
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,939
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
Hmm, it's not working :(
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Hmm, it's not working :(
With Fluid mark you have to delete a few of its PhysX files. Not sure which, though a quick search(possibly in this thread) should tell you.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
So has anyone been able to get this to work with windows 8?

I've tried a couple of months ago, but I couldn't get physx to use the card instead of the CPU.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,988 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
So has anyone been able to get this to work with windows 8?

I've tried a couple of months ago, but I couldn't get physx to use the card instead of the CPU.
I've had some luck with hybridiz mod off ngohq forum
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,988 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
Got borderlands 2 to work with my 8800GT with that mod! thnx alot for the tip:)
No problem I think it safe to say the mod method might need updateing as physx mod1.5 has limited usage now.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
No problem I think it safe to say the mod method might need updateing as physx mod1.5 has limited usage now.
That's indeed the way it seems.

Also, would I be correct when I conclude that the 8800GT can't always keep up with physx in borderlands? I seem to get some slowdowns at busy scenes, but they appear to be less serious than the slowdowns I have on CPU physx alone.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
That's indeed the way it seems.

Also, would I be correct when I conclude that the 8800GT can't always keep up with physx in borderlands? I seem to get some slowdowns at busy scenes, but they appear to be less serious than the slowdowns I have on CPU physx alone.
8800GT is more than enough. I've used a GTS250, an 8600GT, and a 9500GT. None of them slowed down due to PhysX over-taxing the card.
Have you set PhysX to "High"(or "Advanced" or "Hardware", can't remember how it's named in Borderlands) in the options? And did you make sure to select the 8800GT from the nVidia Control Panel as the PhysX adapter? It seems to me you're still running PhysX on the CPU.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
8800GT is more than enough. I've used a GTS250, an 8600GT, and a 9500GT. None of them slowed down due to PhysX over-taxing the card.
Have you set PhysX to "High" in the options? And did you make sure to select the 8800GT from the nVidia Control Panel as the PhysX adapter? It seems to me you're still running PhysX on the CPU.
Well, GPU-Z does show the 8800GT is under load (between 5 and 50%). Actually, I think the load on the 8800GT lessens when theres fps drops.

Not sure what's going on, but I suppose something might be off with all the dll's I need to either leave or move(according to the hybridiz mod tutorial).

Also when I try opening the control panel, it says i need to connect a display to the 8800GT, but whenever I do that, windows seems to go into an infinite screen initialisation loop and I get two flickering black screens with just the cursor.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Well, GPU-Z does show the 8800GT is under load (between 5 and 50%). Actually, I think the load on the 8800GT lessens when theres fps drops.

Not sure what's going on, but I suppose something might be off with all the dll's I need to either leave or move(according to the hybridiz mod tutorial).

Also when I try opening the control panel, it says i need to connect a display to the 8800GT, but whenever I do that, windows seems to go into an infinite screen initialisation loop and I get two flickering black screens with just the cursor.
That is odd.
Have you tried any other games that utilize PhysX?
Deleting/moving some of the game's PhysX files may do the trick. I know with Mirror's Edge and FluidMark you need to do this.
Are you trying to play Borderlands 1 or 2?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
That is odd.
Have you tried any other games that utilize PhysX?
Deleting/moving some of the game's PhysX files may do the trick. I know with Mirror's Edge and FluidMark you need to do this.
Are you trying to play Borderlands 1 or 2?
Borderlands 2.

It looks like its sending all the physx rendering data towards the 8800GT, but then discarding that and using the CPU anyway.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Should be plug and play.
You mentioned you tried plugging a screen into the 8800GT. Did you do that while in Windows or plug it in with the PC off then boot?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Should be plug and play.
You mentioned you tried plugging a screen into the 8800GT. Did you do that while in Windows or plug it in with the PC off then boot?
While in windows.

Supposed it was just plug&play. Edit: does the same when I turn off the PC, plug in the monitor, and then turn it on again.

I just compared the fluidmark scores i get when using GPU Physx with the scores i get using CPU. its 50 for GPU vs 22 for CPU, so its definitely working. I'll try putting all the dll's back except for the ones he somewhere states in his post. I might've just misunderstood the poster, his text is a bit fragmented =D
 
Last edited:

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
Any luck?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
sadly, no. I tried leaving as many Nvidia DLL's out as possible without preventing the game from running. To no avail. also tried running it with other combinations, same result.


I'm not exactly experienced with this, but could it be that only a part of physx is getting accelerated? I noticed that cuda wasnt ticked in the gpu-z window, while physx was. That, and that both the hybrid fix, and the borderlands map have references to cuda(so it must be important right?). One could argue that fluidmark could correctly work, while borderlands doesnt, because fluidmark doesnt use cuda?

I'll try and backtrack/redo my whole installation tomorrow(using the new beta catalyst huehue), unless I/someone come(s) up with another solution.