1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Dedicated PhysX card FAQ - Read this before asking any questions!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by erocker, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. Turmeric New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i remember my last pc, bought three nvidia 260, hoped i could get 2 of them in sli and one as dedicated physx... end of story i only used 1 card the 5 years i had the thing, nice project.......crysis 1 was on top back then, could never get that thing playable.
     
  2. jcgeny

    jcgeny

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    155 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    the hybrid physx is no longer working with latest drivers , but 2013 games and before are all playable .
    in xcom-bureau after the middle of game there are plenty of aliens and physx and need a card .
    that is two month i started a new build with 3 gtx570 and a gtx280 , to play mafia2 and batman origin [that does not play with hybrid physx] with a lot of fps . batman origin is not as good as the first and the part where batman is under drugs , but some things are great , that is bad that there is no story and too much fights with too strong enemies .
    the souncard is an asus hdav that has hdmi in-out , the gtx280 does the video in , hard-drives are two pci-e revodrive ;']
    that should be great ....more over because i use a 2x cpu 6 cores 2.8 Ghz and 2 x 24 Go of ram .
    i found nearly all on ebay at very good price . most things are second hand but all cards work and cpus + vgas are all watercooled so i think it is sure they will live long .
    here is how it looks , sorry photo is not great because of not enough lights

    [​IMG]
     
  3. davidm71

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Anyone get a 740GT working as a dedicated physics card?
    I've tried and failed.
     
  4. atanas dimitrov

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    184 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    in Nvidia CP should I set PhysX to GPU or CPU? or leave to Auto what is the difference?
     
  5. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,716 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,007
    It's simply where PhysX computations are run, either on GPU or CPU.

    Auto will let it pick the best path for that game. I'd just leave it there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Glavas_ZG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Tnx Nvidia
     
    dorsetknob, medi01 and CAPSLOCKSTUCK say thanks.
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,291 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,382
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    This has nothing to do with running a dedicated PhysX card.
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  8. IcePick

    IcePick

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Messages:
    34 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Tested with a GTX 970 @1442MHz w/GTX 950 @1101MHz Dedicated PhysX

    Drivers 382.33 Metro Last Light Redux tested with these settings.
    Res: 1920x1080
    Quality: Very High
    SSAA: OFF
    Texture Filtering: AF 16X
    Motion Blur: Off
    Tessellation: Very High
    Vsync: Off
    Advanced PhysX: On


    PhysX on GTX 970 Screenshot (13).png PhysX on dedicated GTX 950 Screenshot (14).png
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)