• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The POS Dell

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#1
LOL,

So, I officially I hate Dell Computers. Well I know its not the dell's fault, but my girlfriends DELL is a POS. A K7 computer could run better then this thing. So, about a month ago one of my good friends came into town from New York (visiting Cali) and he's very smart with computers and worked on this dell and reformatted it for my girlfriend. Now last night she told me her computer is extremely slow (P4 2.0ghz, 512mb ram, unknown HD) so I restart and defrag. This defrag literally took almost an hr. to do and thats NOT normal IMO. After the defrag still same thing SLOW. Ran anti virus, and spyware programs and still same crap.

Alright so here is the questions, I want to reformat this POS do I need any drivers from DELL? I am not sure what model it is but its farely old computer from DELL. I did not see how my friend reformatted this comp and I don't want to bother him with this POS :D Any suggestions or things I could do to find out... Oh she does not have any manuals or CDs that came with the computer. Chicks... :banghead: hahah. If not its a loss cause and I am throwing it out the window like that one commercial! :nutkick:

J
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.03/day)
Likes
29
#2
Well if you have the original Windows disk from Dell that will have all the drivers on it.

Oh, just saw you have no disks....ummmmm, dunno then dude!

I don't really think you'd need any drivers anyway apart from ethernet and maybe the gfx card (if it has one)
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
245 (0.06/day)
Likes
3
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard GIGABYTE F2A85X-UP4
Cooling Air cooling
Memory Corsair 8GB DDR3 XMS3
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD7750
Storage 1x 1TB SATA Hard drive w/ 64MB cache @ 7200RPMs
Display(s) DELL 19"/PRINCETON 19"
Case Black Antec ?
Audio Device(s) On-Board High-Definition w/ Yamaha HTR-5740 reciever and jamo 5-speaker surround sound
Power Supply 500 Watt Cool Master
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate edition
#3
if you've formatted it and it is still slow then go out and buy a $60, 80GB hard drive from walmart, thats probably the problem.......
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.03/day)
Likes
29
#4
In Dell's there is an option in BIOS for the hard drive. You can set it to silent or performance. Set it to performance. My Dell does that :D
 

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#5
Alright well I'll see what I can do, if no the thing is going in the garbage! :laugh:
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,371 (2.14/day)
Likes
1,002
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#6
But...but...but. It's a Dell DUUUUUDE. Is this windows ME, 2000, or XP? If it's XP, try just analysing the HD and see how fragmented it is, if it's really bad, it can take a long time, espically with a slower processor. It takes my XP2200 machine FOREVER to run the defragmenter.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#8
why dont you download EVEREST or PC Wizard, scan your system and make a note of all the installed components. Then search the net for any drivers you will need (ie graphics, motherboard etc) download them and make a CD/DVD containing all the software you will need to get the DELL up and running again after you format it ;)
 

JdPower

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
308 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @2.7Ghz 1.55v
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Bios Version 0602)
Cooling Thermaltake Blue ORBII, 5 120mm Blue LED Fans, 1 200mm Fan.
Memory 2Gigs of Platinum Corsair XMS Series (2.5-3-3-6 / 2.7v)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon X1950XTX Crossfire Ready @ 729/1116
Storage Western Digital 250GB SATA 3.0
Display(s) Samsung 19" Widescreen 4MS Response Time LCD
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply Hiper 580W Type R
Software Windows XP Pro SP2 Genuwine
#9
why dont you download EVEREST or PC Wizard, scan your system and make a note of all the installed components. Then search the net for any drivers you will need (ie graphics, motherboard etc) download them and make a CD/DVD containing all the software you will need to get the DELL up and running again after you format it ;)
:D

Where is a +rep bar when you need it for this guy. Never thought about doing that. Thanks this I will do...

:toast:
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#10
:D

Where is a +rep bar when you need it for this guy. Never thought about doing that. Thanks this I will do...

:toast:
Cool....so I am good for something :)

I would look for the following drivers:

Motherboard
Onboard graphics
Onboard sound
LAN
USB2.0

But tbh if you find an actual driver for your mobo it will probably include all that you need :)
 
Last edited:

rizzo

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core2Duo E7500 2.93 @ 3.74
Motherboard MSI G41tm-E43
Cooling Ultra Chilltec tec , Thermaltake Extreme Spirit II Northbridge Cooler
Memory 2x1gig kingston @ 1020mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX650
Storage 2xSeagate 160gig Sata HD in Raid-0
Display(s) LG 20in
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) on board Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Purepower 600w
Software win7
#11
You should just go to dells website. They should have all the drivers you need.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531 (0.35/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#12
rizzo's right there. i do tech work on dells of vasty varying ages at my school, dell's website has always worked like a charm. if not, google the device you are looking for +"drivers". that should turn up something.
and the best thing to do w/o spending any $$$ is a reformat. imho.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
314 (0.07/day)
Likes
71
Location
West Bend, Wisconsin
System Name HP Envy 700-414
Processor Intel Core i5 4570 3.20 ghz
Motherboard hewlett packard AF47
Memory 12 Gigabyte
Video Card(s) Intel HD 4600
Storage 2 Terrabyte
Display(s) Pavillion 22bw ips led backlit monitor
Case tower HP Envy 700-414
Audio Device(s) Integrated IDT 92HD65C Audio
Power Supply Internal 460W (100V-240V)
Mouse Logitech m100
Keyboard Logitech K120 USB
Software Windows 10 home 64bit 1709(OS build 16299.125)
#13
Dell are supposed to be very good computers. I heard HP'S are even worse then Dell but I don't really know for sure. My HP is 2 years old and is running like a champ.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.48/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#14
dell have a service tag on them, go to the dell site, go to support/driver section, then put the tag number in and it will take you to a page with all the driver files you need.

and yes long defrag times are common on systems that dont get defraged regularly, took my server 32hrs to defrag ones because the app i had been using to auto defrag it stoped working properly!!!!!!(supid O&O defrag sucks)

my advice for 3rd party defrag software is Perfect Disk, currently its the best choice, diskkeeper a step or 2 behind.

now remmber this is a dell, its a p4 at 2gz(slower then a 700mhz p3) and its only got 512 ram, so its not gonna be fast no matter what you do, ur best bet probbly is to have somebody check if its ATX for you then price cheap board/chip combos on newegg, if its atx based u could just throw in a via c7 1.5gz or 2gz rig(mini itx) and that would cover her needs and be one hell of alot faster/cooler then what its got in it now, and would save on the eletric bill to boot!!!!
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531 (0.35/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#15
if bootup times are bogging you down, i'd highly recommend a m$ proggie called bootvis. essentially, it monitors the startup process on your comp and records what data is used off the hdd first. then, it moves all that data to the beginning of the hdd so its there on boot.
shaved about 30 sec off my boot time. as soon as it comes out of preboot splash, i have logon. no xtra services trying to come up either.

theres good instructions for it somewhere on this site, search for bootvis. i think aleccstar has some.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.48/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#16
bootvis....hehe, they need a shutdownvis to figuar out why the longer windows xp is installed the slower it shutsdown :p
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531 (0.35/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#17
ha! agreed. and why sometimes it just won't shutdown at all.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998 (0.48/day)
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#18
i left my buddys system shutting down one night as i went to bed, it was still trying to shutdown when i got up 14hrs later(had been awake for almost 3 strate days) i finnely gave up on it and backed up his main files and wiped the system, after reinstal including all the apps he had installed and used the system had over 4gb extra free space, i personaly think thats due to removing all the dell crap from it, he then gave the system to his wife and had me build him an amd system(he had been playing with my system and liked it), he recently upgraded the chip to a p-d (best one he could get) for her and put in 2gb ram kit, and its still slower then his 3800+ x2 with 2gb ram hehe, he may endup getting both of us K8L chips when they finnly hit the market(dual core versions not quad, no need for quad in home systems, spend the extra on another 2gb ram kit ;) )