1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    This is just a thing that's drifted in from america, it's all a big Scam anyway

    That said i manage to pick up a receiver and some speakers in Best buys closing down sale so it's not all bad
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  2. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Hows its a scam?
     
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    The retailers have a tendency to raise their prices the day before hand and/or advertising things as money off when they are actually charging the price they normally charge

    EDIT:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  4. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Just watching Human Centipede 2, daymn it's hard to get off to this... I will persist though!
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I'm getting a sapphire 6870 1gb referance card, on tues/weds. I sold my xfx 6850 to a mate for £60 and am buying the 6870 off Mitsirfishi for £80 (thx bud) I considered it a worthy little upgrade for £20.

    I also bought my corsair f60 ssd off Mitsirfishi for £50 too so thx to him for that as well. A trusted trader.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Awww... I want a HD6850 :'(
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I'm sorry bud, if I had no buyer I would have offered it on tpu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    You can have a 6950 fully flashed to 6970 that works sometimes :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,135 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Why sometimes, I recall you (or possibly Scam?) mentioning about going to the green side for a change, would consider a trade if so, though the whole " works sometimes" thing dont sound that great :laugh:
     
  10. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    Why on earth do people buy multifunction printers?
     
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Limited space, disabilities, convenience, stupidity? Printers fuckin' suck anyroad. I'm just finishing some overtime fixing 3 MFDs.

    FU Epson!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,028 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    UK
    That's the point, the printers are rubbish, i decided that i was fed up with all the dots and distortions my multifunction printer was giving me, so i found an old HP scanner from 2003, and went experimenting

    Imagine my suprise when i end up 20 minutes later, with a 347 Megapixel image :eek:
     
  13. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    There isn't a single bit of that sentence that reassured me... lol.
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I have a question for you clever gits.

    I've went to the shop next to my house for close to 15 years because of it's convenience etc and I get on well with the owners.

    The owners decide to close up shop from Spar to Nisa. They do this in order to get a government grant for setting up new business. Anyway all of a sudden they have decided to levy a charge of 70p for every transaction that uses a debit card. They have also decided to levy a charge of 70p if you do not buy groceries from them. Now in a week our family would easily spend 20 - 30 in this shop. My mum and dad both smoke hence why.

    Yesterday I decided I've had enough of this and said flat out I refuse to pay for not buying groceries from their shop and they had no reply for this. I know that charging for debit card usage is legal but charging a customer for not buying something I think is illegal. Anyone know if I am right ?
     
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm... I don't think it is illegal but it sure is cuntish. They reserve the right to refuse sale for whatever reason I know that, but for charging for not buying specific goods, that doesn't make sense.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I had three 2GB 6950's, all reference, all flashed to 6970, I sold 2 of them and since then I got a 560Ti and a 570, sold the 570 and kept the 560 because i was so impressed with it, at 1040mhz it is faster than the 570 was alebeit clocked 190mhz higher.

    The last 6950/6970 works most of the time but on the odd occasion it artifacts then goes blank screen...... if i reboot most often it works again, I probably did something when I put a gelid icy vision cooler on it, although I had them on the other 2 without problems.

    Dr pepper...........

    it is in fact illegal to make a charge for something that does not exist, every time you buy something, by handing over the money you enter into a contract with the seller, if there is no item then there can be no contract which makes the transaction illegal, you need to inform your local trading standards people what is happening and let them investigate, at no time will they inform the shop who made the complaint, pop in your postcode here to find out your local office...........

    http://www.tradingstandards.gov.uk/advice/consumer-advice.cfm
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I've noticed that the artifacts I get (when the core & RAM clocks are high) are temp related. Would you recommend the Gelid cooler?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I love it, for the price it is very effective and pretty easy to fit, the only downside is that there is no PWM control for the fans so you either need to run them at 100% or use a fan controller. At 100% the fans are about as noisy as the reference cooler at around 45% but the card was idleing at 27C and never got past the mid 50's...... when running them at about 50% the idle was about 33C and max at load around mid 60's.

    If your interested i might have a spare, although you would probably need to get a pack of ramsinks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    You can get a adapter that connects to the cards fan connector then you connect the fan to that, for pwm control.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    But surely the wiring for the first piece (the gelid cable) does not have the wireing so how would that work?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Tatty_One says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,819 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,740
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Might have that in the box then lol as there are a couple of cables in there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Got a Z68 Extreme 3 Gen 3 and 2500k set up in my rig now. Nifty cpu, loads up everything at startup a lot faster. Got the speeds set to stock as its around 40c with the xiggy cooler.

    THX is just some software i thought it was something built into the onboard sound. BIOS reset button on the IO panel is handy.

    I slated AMDs mounting scheme but it takes a min to get it attached even if its hard to position the cooler on AMD compatible coolers. MY GOD the screw things i tried to use are horrible! Even the push pins i endup using where difficult to get tight. Took literally a couple of hours of swapping brackets before i just lucked it with the push pins. Seems simple but for no reason one of the pins would not tighten and the screw bracket things just dont work on this motherboard.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2011
  24. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,735 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    What did you have before?

    I'm looking at moving to a 2600k in Jan.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  25. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Phenom II x4 955 (B3 stepping) 3.6ghz 1.375v but recently i had it at 3.8ghz stable 1.45v, 2600mhz cpu/nb. Highest i saw temps go on my xiggy where the low 40s Celsius (recently). Motherboard i used was an ASUS M4A79XTD EVO; even though its the non USB 3.0 version and 7 series chipsets dont take Bulldozer, its rock stable and a nice board for Phenom IIs. Everything else is the same in my specs.

    I paid £120 for the 2500k second hand (new supposedly, it works) and £112 for the Asrock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen 3. Im going to sell the old cpu and motherboard which should cover the price of something.

    Apparently the main gains for Sandybridge are for Crossfire and SLi. I haven't tried a game or encoding (cpu intensive programs) on the 2500k yet but im single card so it will be nice to see if there is any difference. Virtu can help with encoding video or re-encoding ect but the program has to support Intel quick sync. The 2600k didn't interest me as i have no use for hyperthreading and i saved a bit of money.

    Been eyeing up this monitor (which ive linked before) but i kinda dont want to spend more money, no idea what id do with my old monitor either. Iiyama Prolite X2377HDS 23" IPS Panel LED HDMI.. |...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)