1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    4th time this year? On the same rig? If so, I'd start looking at the PSU.
     
  2. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,734 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I missed it, so i'm having to 'acquire' it by other means.
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,602 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ive got 2 850watt units. 1 have died on each (thermaltake toughpower 850 and chieftec a135 850) and another 2 on my ocz stealthxtreme 2 600w.

    First I thought it was the CPU but both my Q9450 and my both Q6600 are unstable at stock... :eek:
    one of the Q6600 is running fine in my other PC...
    2 ram kits both 10passes stable.
    HDDs are good. tested all of them even an SSD which was bought from freedom (thanks pal :))
    GPU is my 3rd one, seems fine, tested with a 3850,3870,gtx280 and another gtx570 same issues
    Really clueless..
    need a new board sharpish.
     
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Getting some goodies tomorrow - a GTX 560 ti , M8000X mouse and an HX 750W PSU

    I should see some improvement over my HD 5770 right? :)
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    I'm testing out the Dell 750watt psu on my pc, it seems fine. Has 4x18amp rails, max 700watts on 12v, its quiet too, and I checked it with my mm and it seems fine. It fits the dell xps case better than mine though, but I suppose it has the leads cut to the size required.

    I opened it to clean it, and it is very well made and has a lot of big transistors in it. The design is unlike any i've seen in a psu though, it has two pcb's facing each other both with transformers etc on them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Bullet Dodging Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,574 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,500
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Just a bit! Mine does 980mhz on stock volts and at that speed it matches a stock 570, once you get into the realms of a small voltage hike and 1050mhz then you are talking rocket propulsion...... mine at 1050mhz is pretty much as fast as my 6950 fully flashed to 6970 running at 940mhz.

    For the 560, I find the EVGA Precision tool to be the best and most stable to use for overclocking and voltage tuning.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Hey guy's hope you've all had a good Christmas :)

    Now I'm curious... would a GT220 be a useful physX card and if so how much should I be paying for one?
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  8. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Recieved it at 9.45 this morning and have been open mouthed ever since trying all my games one after the other :laugh:. I'm only at 1680x1050 and it's blitzing everything with ease at stock with major image quality.....I'm in heaven. I'll probably leave it at stock 24/7 but will definitely be trying to see what potential it has at some point this evening, after all, I am a TPUer :) I have the feeling though that my CPU will limit the increase I will see with any overclocks. (BTW I bought the ASUS Direct CU II version...runs cool as a cucumber and pretty much silent)

    Compared to my HD 5770 this card is a frigging beast :) I'm also loving my new mouse after my trusty G5 went kapputt yesterday. Very smooth and comfortable in the hand:eek:;)
     
  9. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Hi Techtu,i picked up a gt220 from bestbuys (lakeside) shutting down sale(final closing date=15th jan)-there's still a fair few goodies to be had from there tho the websitre if fubar now..
    got a 50" 3d smart tv for £550 mwahahah
    the gt220(1gb version) was £24 but i cant verify the physx qualities as yet as i only have a single pci-e mobo atm.
    gpu seems alright tho...
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  10. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    lifeonmars:

    How much was the 560 ti? and is it the new 448 version?

    just curious :)

    Mightymission:

    I just recently got a 50" 1080p plasma for £450, but it is quite a basic model with no smart ness (not even iplayer :( ) and no 3d of course. The picture is pretty good but I was reading that since it is an LG the input lag would be bad and it wouldn't be suitable for games ! Damnit. Still it rocks for TV and MKVs :)

    What make and model is yours may I ask? There is a bestbuy nearish me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    dunno mate im about to move home so i didnt bother unboxing it.i think it may be a sharp one though..i just see the price and thought it was worth snapping up even if it was just to jog on again after...
     
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Not the 448 version and it was £172. Probably could have got cheaper but I wanted it next day thanks to ebuyer :) Ordered at 10.45 last night, delivered before 10 this morning :)
     
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    After a massive metric sh*t ton of personal problems me and the family have had to move house and massively downsize. Looks like I'm going to have to sell one of my most prized possessions - my MM U2UFO :(
    I'm just waiting for the mrs. to mention the Raven 2 being too big...
     
  14. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,734 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Anyone got any old PCI-E Graphics Card that i can pop in a work computer.

    Literally need it for JUST video out put, lol.
     
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,602 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    London, UK
    saphire 3850 256mb, still good for gaming. I reckon it is overkill for you....
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,767 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,816
    Location:
    London,UK


    Nvidia GT210 if youre interested
     
  17. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    bloody hell scam it aint been your year brother!
    here's hoping the next one is better for you and your family :cheers:
    i'l pass on the u2ufo but if you got 4gb ddr2 and a gpu better than gt220 i'l take them off your hands :)
    that e2160 was a great little clocker,i got it to a lofty 2.8ghz!! i know right,smaddy stap me!
    i just swapped it for a q6600 that only does 3.5ghz :/
    need moar memz now tho...
     
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,602 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    London, UK
    i have some 4x1GB 667 chips. had them at 800mhz no sweat
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  19. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Anyone got a mechanical keyboard? I am considering treating myself. The cheapest ones (with cherry mx blue switches which seem to be good ones) seem to start at £60-70, it's a bit of an extravagance but hey we use keyboards all day every day why not splash out?

    Thoughts welcome.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,330 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Home
    If you need to reward yourself or your old keyboard has reached its last legs, you can give it a try. Otherwise, don't bother yet.
     
  21. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    i've only got 2 sluts tho mate,so i was hoping for 2x2gb.the 2x1gb in atm isnt really enough for batman etc,giving an avg of 20 odd frames..
     
  22. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    2 sluts eh?

    well there's your problem.
     
  23. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,057 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    I know right!
    though dropping to the lowest memory divider will limit my overclock on this mobo so i guess i should look ebay for 800mhz and higher ram or get another 775 mobo..
     
  24. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,377
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Well pps it's nearly that time and hope you have all had a good 2011 and here's to a better 2012, currently celebrating on my own with a lickle vodka and coke, yay me :wtf: :laugh:
     
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,330 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Home
    Happy New Year lads, lets hope 2012 will bring us more awesome!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)