• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Theory of DDR3 Voltage Limitations for Bloomfield Gains Ground

Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#26
It's not like they can prove you were using high voltage sticks, can they? Give it a shot and RMA it in hopes they'll take it. (That's if it's true.)
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
242 (0.07/day)
Likes
46
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Processor Intel Xeon X5650 @ 3.6Ghz - 1.2v
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Assassin
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 120
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ PC1600
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce GTX 780 3GB
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro + 3TB + 3TB + 2TB
Display(s) HP ZR22w
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Antec HCG-620M
Software Windows 7 x64
#27
why release a motherboard or better yet an entire platform when nothing that exists today will work with it? sure... maybe a few sets of ram will work, but why even have ddr3 when its gonna be running ddr1 and ddr2 speeds?

im sure memory companies will make ram that complies but jeeez.... it would be better for intel to unlock this BS voltage link.
Dude only OC kits need higher than 1.5V.
Any standard PC1066 or PC1333 memory module needs 1.5V. (= 99% of the market)

Example:
http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...sp?root=us&LinkBack=&ktcpartno=KVR1333D3N9/2G

Why do people say stupid stuff? Nobody knows ...
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,325 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#28
It's not like they can prove you were using high voltage sticks, can they? Give it a shot and RMA it in hopes they'll take it. (That's if it's true.)
The only thing is, it's your processor, and not motherboard or RAM that gets bricked. 'Tis a painful task...to RMA a processor.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#29
you dont call ppl stupid on TPU and get away with it.

the fact is nehalem operates around 1.0v and ddr3 CANNOT OPERATE AT THAT VOLTAGE.
 

s3rv3r

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#30
My OCZ DDR3 1600 PLATINUM 1.90V, I can put on garbage, because the Core i7 just work with memories 1.65V. If the people have DDR3, can forget. You need spend more money with DDR3 AGAIN
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,325 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#31
Dude only OC kits need higher than 1.5V.
Any standard PC1066 or PC1333 memory module needs 1.5V. (= 99% of the market)

Example:
http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/con...sp?root=us&LinkBack=&ktcpartno=KVR1333D3N9/2G

Why do people say stupid stuff? Nobody knows ...
At least going by the Newegg, a sizable number of DDR3-1333 (the standard Bloomfield IMC officially supports), are > 1.5V kits.



^ PC3-10600 kits http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&SpeTabStoreType=&Order=BESTMATCH&srchInDesc=



^The only PC3-10660 kit there



^ PC3-10666 kits http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&SpeTabStoreType=&Order=BESTMATCH&srchInDesc=

Click on the links > advanced search > click on the "Voltage" drop-down, to see for yourself.

And please, don't call people stupid, we are t3h ov3rcl0ckers. We are worried because our overclocking gets into a mess, at least with the memory modules you get today.
 
Last edited:

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#33

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#34
I find it hilarious that Nehalem only officially supports 1333.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#35
no one is seeing my point at all.
I think what hes trying to say is that most DDR3-1066 and DDR3-1333 operate at approx 1.5 to 1.8 and if someone wants to overclock them they will have to raise the voltage and since they cant go over 1.65 this will limit the RAM overclock. Furthermore DDR3-1333 is inferior to current DDR2-1066, besides some DDR2 operates at 1200+ at good timings while DDR3 modules dont so there is no advantage to using these DDR3 modules.

@hat, i beleive its 1066, 1333 is overclocked not officially supported, correct?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#36
I wonder if this will affect all boards or just the X58 (and other boards from Intel Chipsets)... This would be a perfect time for nvidia to bring out a board with unlinked voltages.
 

pjladyfox

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
232 (0.07/day)
Likes
43
System Name Eternal
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H50 water cooling system
Memory 8GB Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5870
Storage Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA2, 7200.11 750GB SATA2, and 7200.10 500GB SATA2
Display(s) SAMSUNG 245BW 24" LCD
Case Antec Three Hundred - custom mnpctech.com
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889 onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software Windows 7 Home 64-bit Retail
#37
why release a motherboard or better yet an entire platform when nothing that exists today will work with it? sure... maybe a few sets of ram will work, but why even have ddr3 when its gonna be running ddr1 and ddr2 speeds?

im sure memory companies will make ram that complies but jeeez.... it would be better for intel to unlock this BS voltage link.
I'm thinking, and keep in mind this is just a guess, that Intel may be trying to force either individually or both JDEC and the RAM makers to come up with a ratified spec for memory speed and voltage. If memory serves JDEC was going to ratify at one time a DDR2/DDR3 2.0V spec but then memory makers just started cranking out faster and faster speeds while bypassing the verification process and they just stopped just short of making it final figuring they were going to do whatever they wanted JDEC be damned.

Personally I think this entire increasing voltage/speed willy-nilly is not really doing us any favors. I mean why the heck should you have to go in and manually tinker with your voltage and speed settings just to get something to run as advertised? Do not get me wrong I like tinkering as much as the next girl but this has gotten to insane amounts of silly in a rather short period of time.

I guess we'll see one way or the other as time goes by and word gets out about this.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#38
what im saying is this...

nehalem operates at ~1.0v STOCK CLOCKS

IF the ram voltage is the same 1.0v THE BOARD/RAM WONT EVEN POST

to get the ram to boot you'd have the chip pretty close to its max voltage.

to solve this memory manufactures would have to develop ddr3 that can run around 1.0-1.6v depending on clocks. that is a tall order if you ask me.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
497 (0.15/day)
Likes
117
Location
Hampshire, UK
System Name If you name your systems, get a girlfriend...
Processor i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom waterloop around Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 10 x64
#39
One thing I don't understand is why Athlon could support all DDR voltages from it's early days.

Does anyone know what's technically different in built in memory conroller in K8 / K10 ?
I mean... voltage-wise..
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
497 (0.15/day)
Likes
117
Location
Hampshire, UK
System Name If you name your systems, get a girlfriend...
Processor i7 4770k
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Custom waterloop around Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Software Windows 10 x64
#41
Well, since the memory controller is integrated into the core, you have to think about CPU voltage.

There are obviously some drivers that seperate CPU logic from package pins, so there is possibility to 'translate' voltage.

I don't understand why it's so limited.

Athlons can drive 2.2V DDR2 while core voltage is at 1.1V for example.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#42
what im saying is this...

nehalem operates at ~1.0v STOCK CLOCKS

IF the ram voltage is the same 1.0v THE BOARD/RAM WONT EVEN POST

to get the ram to boot you'd have the chip pretty close to its max voltage.

to solve this memory manufactures would have to develop ddr3 that can run around 1.0-1.6v depending on clocks. that is a tall order if you ask me.
Chill out mate. The memory controller and the RAM are synced only.

The memory controller syncing is purely only a monopolistic deterrent which Intel is using since AMD's offerings wont provide any dividends to users; i.e. AMD's proccessors are having a hard time competing. Thus Intel CAN "screw the customer over" by preventing the users from overclocking through this so-called design flaw.

Sure it might turn people away, but then again when you look back to AMD's offerings you'd probably look at the other Core 2 offerings instead.

Basically in short intel doesnt want you having as much value for money as possible; by running low end core i7 as fast as the top end one. Theres NO competition in the CPU market atm and this is one of the repercussions to the consumer.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
595 (0.17/day)
Likes
167
Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
System Name RIG1/Laptop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 black/i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-D3/Acer
Cooling AC Freezer A11/OEM
Memory Kingston HyperX @1600 4GB X2 + Golden Empire Black Dragon @1600 2GB X2/8GB DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) (TUL)ATI Radeon 5830 PCS+/Intel HD 530 - GTX 950m
Storage 1x250-1x2TB-3x1TB/1TB Toshiba
Display(s) Acer S243HL+LG W2243/OEM
Case TT Armor/Acer Barebone
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply TT ToughPower W0155 RE 1000Watt/165 Watt power brick
Mouse G9x
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit/Win10 pro 64bit
#43
maybe intel is a little behind because this is its first try with integrated mem contr or they do not want the i7 to be oc able because none would by their top series cpu at around 2000$ maybe....
 

Poisonsnak

New Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Saskatoon, SK
Processor FX-8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme lapped & shimmed
Memory Patriot Viper Extreme 8GB DDR3-1866 9-11-9-27 1.65V
Video Card(s) MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 6970 875/1375
Storage Crucial M4 0309 64GB
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows [8] Developer Preview
#44
Chill out mate. The memory controller and the RAM are synced only.

The memory controller syncing is purely only a monopolistic deterrent which Intel is using since AMD's offerings wont provide any dividends to users; i.e. AMD's proccessors are having a hard time competing. Thus Intel CAN "screw the customer over" by preventing the users from overclocking through this so-called design flaw.

Sure it might turn people away, but then again when you look back to AMD's offerings you'd probably look at the other Core 2 offerings instead.

Basically in short intel doesnt want you having as much value for money as possible; by running low end core i7 as fast as the top end one. Theres NO competition in the CPU market atm and this is one of the repercussions to the consumer.
Agreed. Plus think about it, if the bloomfield boards seriously had to run DDR3 at 1.0V to post, and as a result no boards would post, do you honestly think intel would sell any?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,139 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,635
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#45
Basically in short intel doesnt want you having as much value for money as possible; by running low end core i7 as fast as the top end one. Theres NO competition in the CPU market atm and this is one of the repercussions to the consumer.
I agree. :toast:. Nvidia chipsets FTW!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,170 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#46

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#47
That site that unboxes it looks like it has lots of viruses.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#48

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,325 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#49
That site that unboxes it looks like it has lots of viruses.
What part looks like a virus? Is your AV program showing up something? If so, I'll rehost the images for you. If you're refering to the site text looking garbled, you need the Chinese font installed to display as well....Chinese.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#50
maybe intel is a little behind because this is its first try with integrated mem contr or they do not want the i7 to be oc able because none would by their top series cpu at around 2000$ maybe....
:toast: Very close to the TRUTH ;);)