• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thermaltake 7" Addon LCD

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
The Thermaltake Mozart TX case has a unique 7" drive bay which was designed for installation of this LCD screen. The LCD panel is hidden inside the case until activated, then it slides out driven by a motor. An additional feature is the integrated touchscreen which lets you use your PC just by pointing with a little pointing device on the screen. Even though its native resolution is not something that is common in the PC world, the display's great scaler can still achieve excellent video quality and well readable fonts.

Show full review
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
depends .. i would say it qualifies as case modding and all case modding is "useless". yet there are still people that create amazing stuff
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#4
Pretty sweet, but completely unnecessary!
Could also be used for a server, a big monitor takes up too much space so some servers don't have one. Though such a screen could be handy when the server doesn't respond to commands via the network.
 

DBH

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2004
Messages
97 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#5
Forget that provided it can be modded this is excellent use for a mini PC. Especially contractors who are always on the move you could put together a small yet powerful box and plonk one of these things in it and there will be no need to lug a monitor about because 7" is sufficient for standard tasks.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
216 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
#6
Could also be used for a server, a big monitor takes up too much space so some servers don't have one. Though such a screen could be handy when the server doesn't respond to commands via the network.
That is true. But I'm thinking more along the lines of an average conumer!

:p
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,732 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,645
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#7
lol thats pretty cool for almost compltly useless :D you know they sell products esp. for lnetwork pc they look like a laptop (the mousepad and lcd) and a whole shitload of buttons for switching computers
 

Protius

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
1,410 (0.33/day)
Likes
18
Location
Wonderful Ohio
Processor E6420 @ 3.6 -1.4v
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme Lapped
Memory GSkill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR1000 @1080 5-5-5-15 2t 2.1v
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
Storage 74gb Raptor 16mb cache & 500gb sata2 WD Cavaliar
Display(s) SAMSUNG 226bw 22" widescreen
Case Lian-Li PC-A05 w/ window & top 120mm blowhole
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music-Logitech Z-530 (5.1)
Power Supply CORSAIR 550VX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#8
if i had extra extra cash i'd get it, but it is pretty much a waste
 

-Thrilla-

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
62 (0.01/day)
Likes
31
Location
N.Vancouver, BC, Canada
Processor AMD Opteron 144 skt 939
Motherboard DFI SLi-DR
Cooling Stock Heatpipe + Coolermaster heatpipe
Memory OCZ Plat EL Rev.2 2x 512 dual channel
Video Card(s) XFX 6600gt PCI-Ex 128 with Arctic Silencer
Storage Western Digital 80gig IDE
Display(s) Samsung 19" LCD
Case Tisonic Breeze
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Enermax Noisetaker v2 470watts
#9
How much does it cost and where do I get one.
 

bcurko

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor E2200
Motherboard DS3L-P35
Cooling Intel Stock
Memory 2GB Generic
Video Card(s) HIS 3650
Storage 160GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 19inch Widescreen
Case Cooler Master CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Generic 500w
Software Vista Home Premium
#10
i wanna get one im in here in SYDNEY NSW AUSTRALIA does anyone know where i can get one PLZ tell me i dont have to mod my tt armour black cause i SUCK at modding
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Mansfield, TX
Processor Intel i7 920, 950, Xeon 3570,E8700, E8400, Q9450
Motherboard Asus:Rampage II Gene, Maximus II & III Formula, EVGA Classified
Cooling LN2 Dragon F1, Custom Single Stage, Corsair H50, TRUE 120, Noctua NH-U12P SE2
Memory Crucial 8500 & 5300 Corsair: Dominator's & GT's DDR3-1866 + DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 3 X Saphire HD5850's, XFX 5770, 2 X EVGA GTX 295 CO-OP's, BFG 280GTX's, ASUS 4870's
Storage 2 74GB WD Raptors,2 320GB WD's,3 320GB Segates, 1 500GB Seagate
Display(s) Dell 2407FPS & 3007WFPHC
Case Tagan Black Pearl, Antec: P180 Mini Black & White Antec 900, Silverstone SG03
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2 Platnium
Power Supply Corsair HX850, OCZ GameXtream's 700w, OCZ 1000w, Antec Quattro: 1000w & 850w
#11
Where can I buy one of these in the states right now?!!
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
102 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Oh no, last time i listed this a dude showed up at
Processor P4 3.2ghz pressy
Motherboard Abit ic7 max-3
Cooling All PolarFlo TT series w/ some DD maze4 blocks too
Memory 2x 512mb G-skill pc4400 TCCD
Video Card(s) X850XT PE
Storage 2x 300gb sATA maxtor
Display(s) CTX 17" lcd
Case Custome modded Koolance pc2-650
Audio Device(s) standard sound blaster
Power Supply kingwin ABT-600cw
Software XP pro, Macromedia 8 suite, SwishMax, PS CS2....etc..etc
#12
Registered just to say great review man ;)
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#13
what.....an amazingly useless accessory. i'll admit though due to its design it would look very cool on my pc :p
 

beachbum86

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
102 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
Oh no, last time i listed this a dude showed up at
Processor P4 3.2ghz pressy
Motherboard Abit ic7 max-3
Cooling All PolarFlo TT series w/ some DD maze4 blocks too
Memory 2x 512mb G-skill pc4400 TCCD
Video Card(s) X850XT PE
Storage 2x 300gb sATA maxtor
Display(s) CTX 17" lcd
Case Custome modded Koolance pc2-650
Audio Device(s) standard sound blaster
Power Supply kingwin ABT-600cw
Software XP pro, Macromedia 8 suite, SwishMax, PS CS2....etc..etc
#14
what.....an amazingly useless accessory. i'll admit though due to its design it would look very cool on my pc :p
Not useless at all, dont even to bring a monitor with you to a lan to watch pRon on your rig :p
 

Zero2Fear

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Motherboard Asus A8N5X
Cooling Zalman CNPS7700-Cu
Memory Corsair XMS Pro Extreme Gaming Memory, 2048MB DDR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7800GT CO, 256MB GDDR3
Storage 120GB Seagate IDE 7200RPM + 2 x 320GB Western Digital S-ata II + 1 x Maxtor 160GB IDE 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 730BF
Case NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC97 Audio
Power Supply Sunbeam Nuon 450W
Software Windows XP Pro NL SP2, SnipeR's Redemption Retestrak - Fully Cracked(twice since authentication)
#15
Hey since im gonna buy this thing. How is the resolution adjusted?

Does it run on the Reso u send by ur vid card? Cause mine sends out a 1280x1024 to my Big LCD screen. How is that regarding the 7" Tt one? Is that adjusted inside the little screen or adjusted by your own reso?

Thanks in advance, Zero2Fear
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#16
guys this thing is standard single din car stereo dash size... buy a car stereo lcd scrin itl mod into any case just the same. just find one with inputs and features u need in yur price range. some lower end models can be had for like 69.99. AND car stereo stuff is 12 volt just like pc's.
 

Zero2Fear

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Motherboard Asus A8N5X
Cooling Zalman CNPS7700-Cu
Memory Corsair XMS Pro Extreme Gaming Memory, 2048MB DDR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7800GT CO, 256MB GDDR3
Storage 120GB Seagate IDE 7200RPM + 2 x 320GB Western Digital S-ata II + 1 x Maxtor 160GB IDE 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 730BF
Case NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC97 Audio
Power Supply Sunbeam Nuon 450W
Software Windows XP Pro NL SP2, SnipeR's Redemption Retestrak - Fully Cracked(twice since authentication)
#17
True, this probably is just the same as a car screen, works the same thing, only i dont wanna mod things up to be precise for this, i want it to work 100%. So that why im getting something like this.

//EDIT:

And yet another question, what does the LCD screen shows u? The same as on your normal screen or something else? and how is that adjustable?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#18
it wont take any more modding to make a car screen work then this.... i would be williing top bet money on it... the bracket they use for this with the bend in tabs is exactly the same as whats used for car stereos. they only thing u would hafta mod would be the power wire harness... and barely even it i bet.
 

Zero2Fear

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Motherboard Asus A8N5X
Cooling Zalman CNPS7700-Cu
Memory Corsair XMS Pro Extreme Gaming Memory, 2048MB DDR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7800GT CO, 256MB GDDR3
Storage 120GB Seagate IDE 7200RPM + 2 x 320GB Western Digital S-ata II + 1 x Maxtor 160GB IDE 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 730BF
Case NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC97 Audio
Power Supply Sunbeam Nuon 450W
Software Windows XP Pro NL SP2, SnipeR's Redemption Retestrak - Fully Cracked(twice since authentication)
#19
I wont take the chance of doing that, i allways break stuff when i do this :p
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#20
i should start buying flip up car screens, building a harnes and trim plate for them then sale them to PC guys....
 

Zero2Fear

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Motherboard Asus A8N5X
Cooling Zalman CNPS7700-Cu
Memory Corsair XMS Pro Extreme Gaming Memory, 2048MB DDR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7800GT CO, 256MB GDDR3
Storage 120GB Seagate IDE 7200RPM + 2 x 320GB Western Digital S-ata II + 1 x Maxtor 160GB IDE 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 730BF
Case NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC97 Audio
Power Supply Sunbeam Nuon 450W
Software Windows XP Pro NL SP2, SnipeR's Redemption Retestrak - Fully Cracked(twice since authentication)
#21
Well, seriously dude, im not asking this. I appreciate your help with this, but its not getting me any further. Thanks for your reply but.. :)

The things i want to know:

- How is the resolution adjusted?

Does it run on the Reso u send by ur vid card? Cause mine sends out a 1280x1024 to my Big LCD screen. How is that regarding the 7" Tt one? Is that adjusted inside the little screen or adjusted by your own reso?


- nd yet another question, what does the LCD screen shows u? The same as on your normal screen or something else? and how is that adjustable? Example can i play a game on my big screen and show a movie on my small one?
 

ATIonion

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
1,015 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#22
guys this thing is standard single din car stereo dash size... buy a car stereo lcd scrin itl mod into any case just the same. just find one with inputs and features u need in yur price range. some lower end models can be had for like 69.99. AND car stereo stuff is 12 volt just like pc's.

i would like to see a car stereo motorized lcd screen for $69.....can you post a link to that....

kenwood has a motorized touchscreen lcd, but it won't interface with your pc, nor will the built in dvd player...so ya, you can get a motorized lcd made for a car (avg $$ is around $600-$1000) but it won't interface at all with your pc...

this thing is kinda cool....not sure if i could make good use of it, but for less then $300 it could work well in a micro-atx system....or what i am thinken is putting it in my bathroom wall (just a couple of feet in front of the stool) then run it to my HTPC...that would rock...i could post at TPU whilst doing my business:laugh:


EDIT::can't be for sure, but it looks as if it just plugs into your video card...and you set its res. through your card...
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#23
they run with an s-video input or vga input and basically all video cards today can handle dual displays so you can show it in mirror mode where it shows the same thing on both screens or expanded where it acts like a seperate monitor so yes it would do a game on big monitor and movie on the little one. as long as yur computer can handle pushing that much stuff out... the worst thing is u will hafta run a video cable from the video card back into the case. but u hafta do that with the one in this review too...

EDIT:

the touchscreen on it wont work as a mouse no. but it will hook up to a computers video output and display it on the thing... also u r looking in the wrong category of car stuff. u just want a display, not one that has dvd player and audio stuff built into it. they r DIRT CHEEP. i will post one when i get home and aint behind a schools proxy that blox ebay and reseller sites.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
500 (0.10/day)
Likes
42
Processor dual G34 6128he
Motherboard h8dg6
Cooling OEM
Memory 48gb DDR3 ECC REG
Video Card(s) onboard
Storage 12x 3tb 4x 15k sas
Display(s) crappy lcd
Case chenbro rackmouunt
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply seasonic 3x redundant
Software ProxMox
#24
one more thing... look for chinese knock offs of name brand stuff... they r usually more hacker friendly anyways...
 

Zero2Fear

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Motherboard Asus A8N5X
Cooling Zalman CNPS7700-Cu
Memory Corsair XMS Pro Extreme Gaming Memory, 2048MB DDR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7800GT CO, 256MB GDDR3
Storage 120GB Seagate IDE 7200RPM + 2 x 320GB Western Digital S-ata II + 1 x Maxtor 160GB IDE 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 730BF
Case NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC97 Audio
Power Supply Sunbeam Nuon 450W
Software Windows XP Pro NL SP2, SnipeR's Redemption Retestrak - Fully Cracked(twice since authentication)
#25
can't be for sure, but it looks as if it just plugs into your video card...and you set its res. through your card...
My vid card has 2 DVI's at the back side, one is going to my big screen and the 2nd one is free. Im probably gonna use that one for the small screen. But how can i find out that it can do that? Or maybe u know it?

they run with an s-video input or vga input and basically all video cards today can handle dual displays so you can show it in mirror mode where it shows the same thing on both screens or expanded where it acts like a seperate monitor so yes it would do a game on big monitor and movie on the little one. as long as yur computer can handle pushing that much stuff out... the worst thing is u will hafta run a video cable from the video card back into the case. but u hafta do that with the one in this review too...

EDIT:

the touchscreen on it wont work as a mouse no. but it will hook up to a computers video output and display it on the thing...
My computer can do such things. Im running on a 3500+ Single core atm and it can do that, im gonna get a E6600 so it probably still can do that :p.

Hmmz, as told above here it looks like u CAN use the touchscreen as a mouse:S

also u r looking in the wrong categoryof car stuff. u just want a display, not one that has dvd player and audio stuff built into it. they r DIRT CHEEP. i will post one when i get home and aint behind a schools proxy that blox ebay and reseller sites.
Im not looking for just a car screen with a DVD player in it. Im looking for detailled information about this LCD screen ;)