• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Thinkpad T480 - Throttlestop questions

chunky_lafunga

Hi all (and particularly @unclewebb )

I've been using Throttlestop for over 18 months now and have done a lot of reading during that time to get to a comfortable range of settings. Thanks unclewebb for your work and previous responses on other forums.

Laptop

Laptop: Thinkpad T480
CPU: i5-8250u
GPU: MX150
Windows power options: 'High performance'
Windows version: Windows 10 version 2004 / OS Build 19041.630 / Experience 120.2212.31.0

I have a couple of questions at this point I'm hoping to get help on;

1) PROCHOT incident

I've recently started gaming more (Team Fortress 2). In the last week during play, the computer froze (no BSOD) and became very slow to respond. I managed to exit out of TF2 and opened up Throttlestop to see that 'PROCHOT 97c' was ticked. When I unticked it, it would get ticked back on a few seconds later.

A reboot resolved this, however as I said it's happened twice in one week so I'm wondering what happened to cause this PROCHOT box to keep ticking itself on. I've attached my logs, it happened around 1:56pm-1:58pm from memory, sorry I can't be more specific.

2) GPU undervolting

Currently I have the Intel GPU undervolted to -50.8 (and iGPU unslice box is greyed out by default, although I can change that with the 'unlock adjustable voltage' box). Would you suggest that I;
  1. just change the Intel GPU back top 0, because it's not worthwhile undervolting? Or
  2. should I unlock adjustable voltage for iGPU and change that to -50.8 too?
3) CPU undervolting

Everything I had previously read suggested that CPU Core and CPU Cache should be undervolted by the same amount. However more recently I read that CPU Core and CPU Cache should be undervolted to different values. Could you please clarify for me?

4) Upgrading Throttlestop version