• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Thoughts on this mother board

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#1
Gigabyte - 965P -DQ6

I've had it for some time now, even with a Pentium D 3Ghz Dual Core or HyperThreading - I'm not sure yet, but anyways i'd just like a few of your thoughts or even experiances?
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#2
hmmm no life on this? :(
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#3
Come on guys...
 

crtecha

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,407 (0.73/day)
Likes
204
Location
ipsay meechigan
System Name Coolin Runnings
Processor AMD X4 Phenom 9950 B.E. @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4 BIOS Ver. F6
Cooling CM Vortex 752
Memory apacer PC6400 800mhz x 2
Video Card(s) Two ATI Radeon 4850's in xfire
Storage Seagate 7200.9 320gig+250gigx2
Display(s) Acer P191w 19' wide
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Power trio 550watts
Software Windows 7 x64 Build 7100
#4
Looks to be a pretty good board although im not familiar with Intel all that much. I do like my Gigabyte quite a bit. I've had a few small issues with it that ended up being user error. What do you primarily do with your rig?
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#5
Mainly just everyday general use, even a 2ghz single core with 1gb ram would work for me... but then every now and again i like to do a bit of gaming maybe burnout or NFS, nothing major though.

I've seen the Gigabyte borad in action with the Pentium D i have... and wow it OC's great! unlike my AMD :(

I'm not after anything special, an upgrade would be nice, so my thoughts was a long the lines of maybe sell most of my current rig and buy a Q6600 or something or even a E8400?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#6
TBH, an AMD rig w/ a PhenomII720Black is great bang for buck if you're looking for an upgrade from the Pentium-D or Athlon6400.... and it overclocks very very well :) (unlike your 6400+ which is pretty much at the limits)
 

crtecha

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,407 (0.73/day)
Likes
204
Location
ipsay meechigan
System Name Coolin Runnings
Processor AMD X4 Phenom 9950 B.E. @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4 BIOS Ver. F6
Cooling CM Vortex 752
Memory apacer PC6400 800mhz x 2
Video Card(s) Two ATI Radeon 4850's in xfire
Storage Seagate 7200.9 320gig+250gigx2
Display(s) Acer P191w 19' wide
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Power trio 550watts
Software Windows 7 x64 Build 7100
#7
That could be a good idea its always good to upgrade. I agree with icewind your not gonna get much outta that 6400+. Too bad cause its a good chip just very little overhead.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#8
Yeh i see your point Icewind.

BUT for the cost of a Phenom II + an AM2+ mobo would be a little more than a Q6600 right? and the Q6600 is still a decent upgrade from my current rig right? so bang for buck... that would be my best choice of upgrade?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#9
If you want to keep things simple then the Q6600 or any other Intel Core2 cpu would be great. I don't mind a little trouble so the 720BE is nice, it overclocks well, runs cool.

I had the Q6600 before and it gets pretty hot once you start cranking the clock on it.

In the case of gaming I say I would rather go w/ the 720BE, but if you do a lot of other CPU-intensive or multithreading task, then go ahead w/ the Q6600

Whichever way you go, it's definitely A LOT better than what you have now.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#10
Forgot to mention that w/ AM2 you can still use the AM3 CPUs, whereas w/ the LGA775 you're kinda stuck. Since I7 is LGA1366 and I5 is LGA1156
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#11
Well my 6400+ is a hot chip anyways so to be fair.. i'd probably have around the same temps with an OC'd Q6600.

...Wait, i can use any AM3 chip in my AM2/AM2+ mobo?

From the sounds of it, it might not be worth bothering with going Intel at this point in time, just get a rig put together, sell it, buy AM3 CPU :p
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#12
Gigabyte = worth less than my dogs poop. You asked for my thoughts :p Idk I didn't like the 965 chipsets. The 975 were pretty awesome tho.

Well my 6400+ is a hot chip anyways so to be fair.. i'd probably have around the same temps with an OC'd Q6600.

...Wait, i can use any AM3 chip in my AM2/AM2+ mobo?

From the sounds of it, it might not be worth bothering with going Intel at this point in time, just get a rig put together, sell it, buy AM3 CPU :p
I ran my PII 720 in a ASUS 580X and 740G fine.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.45/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
My asus p5wd2 with 965 chipset was pretty good.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#14
Gigabyte = worth less than my dogs poop. You asked for my thoughts :p Idk I didn't like the 965 chipsets. The 975 were pretty awesome tho.
Hmmm your right i did ask for your thoughts :p

BUT the mobo + CPU i have, i've seen it hit 10ghz - now im not sure if the CPU users hyper threading or dual core, BUT i've seen with my own eyes 10GHZ (5ghz on each)

Now even myself have argued the fact that is not possible... but anyways i just want to get it going again, it was my brothers rig n he passed away, so what ever it costs i'd like to keep some part of it, or as recently mentioned to sell it and buy an AM3 chip :p
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#15
well... pentium D's even at 5GHz a core still sucks lol... but yea, if you have an AM2+ board... check the bios updates to see if you can drop an PhenomII in or not, (they do have AM2+ phenom IIs, like the 920 and 940 which are going pretty cheap now as well since their DDR2/3 counterparts just released)
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#16
Also the Windsor you have is 90nm and a 125W proc, so yea, it'll generate some heat, but my Phenom 720BE hits 3.5GHz on stock voltage and doesn't get hot at all. (Granted I am currently using a Thermalright U120)
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#17
the 965 chipset is really good, it generaly gets slightly better memory performance than the p35, and can clock up with the best of them.

i would stick with it and get a Q6600 or something along those lines... even my cpu would be a big upgrade but a Q6600 will be an epic upgrade, seriously afterwards youll be back here exclaiming how much faster it is.

oh and dont forget to overclock, expect about 3ghz with almost no voltage bump and 3.2ghz or maybe a little better with a substantial voltage bump, if your not into overclocking then feel free to undervolt it, my e2140 can drop to 1.100v [the lowest my motherboard will let it] being clocked all the way up to 2.4ghz

its default clock is 1.6ghz, all the dual core and quad core "core2" chips generaly clock about the same, between the 65nm chips, the 45nm chips often clock a bit better

i am not sure how well the 965 chip clocks on air but, my intention with my board is to get a Q8200, since they have a low multiplier it wont be hard to get it to run 533mhz fsb, for running the memory at 1066mhz with a 1:1 ratio, since the p35 can hit like 600mhz on air, i wonder if the 965 is any different
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#18
I was thinking either a Q6600 or Q8400 (i said E8400 earlier by mistake)

They are around the same price range at the minute (special offer on the Q8400).

Overclocking with this board was my intention, but then someone pointed out it might be worth getting an PII over a Q6600... either way i think it will be a sweet upgrade from my current, The Pentium D scores around the same as my AMD 6400+using the Lavelys Everest tests. So yea i need a new CPU now i think... even more so its been a few years since i brought anything major for my rig... or even done anything major to it :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#19
i am not sure how well the 965 chip clocks on air but, my intention with my board is to get a Q8200, since they have a low multiplier it wont be hard to get it to run 533mhz fsb, for running the memory at 1066mhz with a 1:1 ratio, since the p35 can hit like 600mhz on air, i wonder if the 965 is any different
I had the Asus P5B w/ a Q6600 at one point... the board did very well (can't say the same about the Q6600 w/o voltage). The board did well to a little past 500mhz but there was a FSB hole from 401-465 LOL
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#20
The 965 chipset is still a good overclocking board, it just lacks the option of N/2 ratio for half multipliers for 45nm. So if your planning on going with a 45nm chip, shop carefully and make sure the board can be flashed to support the chip you buy. Oh and make sure you set your ram ratio 1:1.

After all is said and done, IMO, you should look into a P35 board AT MINIMUM.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#21
Ummm ok i forgot to mention i'm not much of an overclocker... more of a self tought enthusiast who's never had a half decent overclockable mobo + cpu :(

So talking about the N/2 ratio for half multipliers really don't mean much to me right now or the ratia being set to 1:1 :(

The board though supports almost if not all the 775 cpu's :D

Why would i look into a P35 board when i have the 965P, am i missing something?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#22
Half multipliers: e8500 = 9.5x but on the 965p it (possibly mind you I havent read up on the bios support yet) would be the equivalent of the e8400 = 9x

If you already own the 965p then disregard my statements, but as for P35, much much better at overclocking a quad, which is why I mention the 1:1 ram ratio, the nb is much stronger and can help push your ram.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#23
No mention of the Q8500 in the support list but i'm guessing it is fine with half multipliers as it supports Q9300/Q8300/E6500 etc.

But not to forget to mention this, I'm not wanting something to put my current system to shame, although that would be nice if i could... but just something that i can put together and be somewhat faster than my current rig, and sell the parts out my current rig, which will in turn will help pay for the parts for the new rig, weather i stick with AMD and go with the PII or change to Intel's 775 socket for awhile. Im more towards a PII as im pretty much a AMD fan :D ... but now its kinda comming to speed over personal likings
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#24
As far as a cpu thats faster than the 6400+, you are going to want to look at quad core or an e8k. Other than wouldn't be worth the "upgrade". Go 720BE, will provide more bang for buck. Q9300 seems to be the most logical processor choice with a budget in mind.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
223 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
Location
Boston Area, MA
Processor Core i7-930
Motherboard Asus P6T
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus HD4850-1GB
Storage OCZ Summit 120GB
Display(s) Dual Dell SP2208WFP 22in
Power Supply Corsair 520HX
#25
As far as a cpu thats faster than the 6400+, you are going to want to look at quad core or an e8k. Other than wouldn't be worth the "upgrade". Go 720BE, will provide more bang for buck. Q9300 seems to be the most logical processor choice with a budget in mind.
I think if he wants Quad a PhenomII 940 wouldn't be a bad idea either as he has DDR2 anyway, and the prices are rock bottom now to make way for the 945, 955