• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Titanfall Install Will Take Up 48GB On PC

Joined
Jan 25, 2014
Messages
1,660 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,070
System Name AMD Black Widow
Processor AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-780T-D3L (rev. 4.0)
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212 EVO
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 2x4GB 1600MHz KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 2GB OC GDDR5 Twin Frozr 3
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB 64MB 7k SATA600 Blue WD10EZEX
Display(s) LG W2453SQ-PF
Case Thermaltake Chaser A31 Black
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme Power plus 460w
Software Windows 7 64bit
#1
Titanfall is scheduled to release on March 13th.
Quoting the article:
''The PC version will be a 21GB download, but once unpacked is when it becomes a true titan, taking up a sizeable chunk of space with its whopping 48GB install.''

I found the article on: http://www.game-debate.com/news/?ne...ll Install Will Take Up A Whopping 48GB On PC

I might have a 1TB drive but to me this is too big to download. Before asking I didn't try the beta, but watching gameplay footage from youtube I'm sure It's a great and fun game to play.
Still I want to ask (and quote the article again): How big is too big for a game?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#2
wow!!!!!

that is huge for a laggy console port :O
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#3
Eff that!!! Steam would murderize that to take a week!!!!
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#4
3TB gaming raid, no worries on space atm.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,042 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#5
That sounds horrid how can it be so large?

edit: I am amazed that LoL even takes up 10GB? for a game that is essentially Warcraft 3 with 4 maps. This was when I removed it a few months back. I think it was that much, I don't remember but it was excessive!
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
So you want to eat the cookie AND keep it? Fancy shit take up space. Limit the resolution to 800x600 and use ugly ass textures and you can store it on one CD, but the internet would implode from the sound of bitching.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,264 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,070
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
this isnt really bad. because game size is increasing at the same rate that space is getting cheaper the only thing that isnt keeping up is ISP speed availability per area. in which case man up and go buy a physical copy we all did it in 2007 it wont kill us to much now. Though we might need to find out were we put out dvd drives.

this is no diffirent then when we all needed to buy $200 WD 320GB blue drives because unreal tournament took up 14gb befor mods
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.30/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#8
well bf4 uses 34,8 GB with China Rising and Second Assault....
3 packs more to come
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Hmm.. I'm glad someone brought up BF4 and it's size. Now let's look at TF with it's 6v6 player option with very small maps and no single player.. Yeaaaa, right 48gb I think not.. Anyone can see they are blowing up the file size to stop people from torrents. I have plenty of space for games that actually use it. Please give me a game that backs up the 48gb download, because I don't see it with TF. It was going to be a day one buy for me until they said it would be 6v6. I even liked the Demo, but pretty boring with so few players in a map.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Hmm.. I'm glad someone brought up BF4 and it's size. Now let's look at TF with it's 6v6 player option with very small maps and no single player.. Yeaaaa, right 48gb I think not.. Anyone can see they are blowing up the file size to stop people from torrents. I have plenty of space for games that actually use it. Please give me a game that backs up the 48gb download, because I don't see it with TF. It was going to be a day one buy for me until they said it would be 6v6. I even liked the Demo, but pretty boring with so few players in a map.
The complexity of the game has little to do with the amount of space it uses. It is all about how many different textures and how big they are that matters. Compared to the textures, the rest of the game data is tiny.

A 21GB download isn't really that big. Heck, Batman Arkham Originals + Initiation was over 30GB and it was torrented like crazy.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#11
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
277 (0.18/day)
Likes
54
System Name IVY BRIDGE
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling PHANTEKS TC14PE
Memory GSKILL ARES DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 WF OC
Storage SAMSUNG 830 / GSKILL PHOENIX / SAMSUNG F4 / SEAGATE MOMENTUS / SEAGATE HDD 1.5
Display(s) ASUS 24" / DELL 20"
Case CORSAIR AIR 540
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER V700
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64
#12
COD GHOSTS was like 40gb too right?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,919 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,016
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#13
My two biggest games are Max Payne 3 and Battlefield 3. Both are sitting at 34.2 GiB.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
The complexity of the game has little to do with the amount of space it uses. It is all about how many different textures and how big they are that matters. Compared to the textures, the rest of the game data is tiny.

A 21GB download isn't really that big. Heck, Batman Arkham Originals + Initiation was over 30GB and it was torrented like crazy.
True, but I didn't see anything that would justify 48gb's in the demo texture wise.. I referenced BF4 not because of it's complexity, but the amount of objects in the game with different textures. I hope I'm wrong and the game is great, because I'll buy it.. I'm just not going to with 6v6 players. I hope they open it up for pc. Consoles will be limited to 720p until the first patch from what I've read today. I guess we will see. :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,589 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#15
True, but I didn't see anything that would justify 48gb's in the demo texture wise.. I referenced BF4 not because of it's complexity, but the amount of objects in the game with different textures. I hope I'm wrong and the game is great, because I'll buy it.. I'm just not going to with 6v6 players. I hope they open it up for pc. Consoles will be limited to 720p until the first patch from what I've read today. I guess we will see. :toast:
I ran on the 'insane' texture settings. It loaded the textures into the Vram (i think) as Afterburner reported close to 3.9GB of Vram usage. Perhaps over the full map release it simply has a tonne of texture maps to download? It did look quite nice on my system.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,583 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,915
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
I ran on the 'insane' texture settings. It loaded the textures into the Vram (i think) as Afterburner reported close to 3.9GB of Vram usage. Perhaps over the full map release it simply has a tonne of texture maps to download? It did look quite nice on my system.
Yea, my GTX680 only has 2gb.. I hope you're right and they have a lot more to add to the game, because I liked it all. I really enjoyed the parker part of it and the jet packs. :toast:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#17
GTA5 on PC I bet will be either around or bigger
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
910 (0.62/day)
Likes
280
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) 1x NVIDIA GeForce 9500GT 512MB (Zotac ZT-95TEH2P-FSL)
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software GNU/Linux Mint 17
#18
And this will worsen every time they make larger storage devices. Give them 1PB, they will use 1PB... And it continues.

Could it be smaller? Of course, but they're just lazy and want to use all resources available for no benefits. Not a smart decision.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
True, but I didn't see anything that would justify 48gb's in the demo texture wise.. I referenced BF4 not because of it's complexity, but the amount of objects in the game with different textures. I hope I'm wrong and the game is great, because I'll buy it.. I'm just not going to with 6v6 players. I hope they open it up for pc. Consoles will be limited to 720p until the first patch from what I've read today. I guess we will see. :toast:
The Beta was only like 12GB though, so either they weren't using the full resolution textures, or they plan to have way more textures in the final game(hopefully this means more map variety).
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#20
I hope it means more maps personally, if thats it I would be happy
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2014
Messages
1,660 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,070
System Name AMD Black Widow
Processor AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-780T-D3L (rev. 4.0)
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212 EVO
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 2x4GB 1600MHz KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7850 2GB OC GDDR5 Twin Frozr 3
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB 64MB 7k SATA600 Blue WD10EZEX
Display(s) LG W2453SQ-PF
Case Thermaltake Chaser A31 Black
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme Power plus 460w
Software Windows 7 64bit
#21
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#22
I've heard conflicting reports. After a writer put this on my site I did some fact checking and some outlets say it's actually only a 20GB install which is a little more in line with expectations. But I can't find any official quotes to support either.

Apparently the confusion is over this guy reporting on what the boxes say it takes, but then someone else rebukes it by saying the boxes were made in error and it's in the 20's
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#23
so the new one is getting bigger and bigger
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#24
Titanfall is built on the source engine which is first built on PC
and that means what exactly given the amount of modification they have done to the engine?

windows and ios where both born from an ibm os. later modifications mean they are far from the same today so i am unsure of your point?

i play other games based on source all the time, i played the tf beta and found it was more suited to playing with a pad. playing it with a keyboard and mouse it was very sluggish and unresponsive compared to those other source games. that is before we talk about the horrid hit reg where you could see the impact of 3 or 4 rounds before the hud gave any indication and they would keep moving after taking fire only to drop dead 5 yards down the road whilst you was reloading.

size wise i was comparing it to other games i have have played which i have considered to be large at that time. bf3, hitman, saints row 4, sleeping dogs have all been 30gb. of those i would say that maybe the bf games have given the largest ingame world space while others have given a much more detailed world on a smaller scale. again from what i have seen of tf and the level of detail in the maps i would have to guess it must be shipping with about 15 or 20 maps. as they are far from from the detailed worlds like sleeping dogs or hit man and an not on the same scale as the bf maps.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#25
and that means what exactly
It means it's not being ported from a console.

a laggy console port
EDIT: I'm not arguing with you, I also have no faith in these developers, and the game will probably run as efficiently on a PC as a cheeseboard. It just won't be a console port.
 
Last edited: