1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Life is never fair. I wanted that 2nd 480 so bad. Waited many years for sli 4880s while using my sli 285s... finally I get one, now just one more.... all stock sold out.... now daddy needs a 680/ 670... bah.... for xmas
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  2. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Maine
    What's the problem?
     
  3. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    The board boots ok with one card in the first pci-e slot. Anything other than that (and believe me i've tried numerous cards and/or jumpers configuration) equals no boot. Hangs at B8 iirc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Maine
    Did you try to plug in the 6 pin power for the pci express slots? Are the red lights on below each pci express slot?
     
  5. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Each red led under the pci-e slot did light up when a card was installed. Did plug the other two 6 pin in addition to EPS 8 pin. A second or two of post, then it hangs. Tried stock clocks, 5 different cards. Each works fine alone in slot 1, add anyone into any other slot. Again, :banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Maine
    There's a third 6 pin just above the first PC express slot, below and to the left of the CPU 8 and 6 pin connectors. That one is for the PC express slots. The red leds are always suppose to be on even without a card in, unless it's disabled.
     
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,961 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,619
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    And I thought my SuperMicro H8QGL-IF+ mobo's were complicated. WTF, Is there enough 6-pins on that board?
     
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Has anyone been able to get a non fermi GPU to fold in the same rig as a fermi GPU?

    I have been trying but can't figure it out.
    I'm trying to fold on a gtx460 and a 8800gts g80
     
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (8.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,234
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    How well do 6850's fold fellas?
     
  10. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,191 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    601
    from the PDF manual

    Intel® TurboMode Tech
    Select Enabled to use the Turbo Mode to boost system performance. The options
    are Enabled and Disabled.
     
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    According to Buck it doesn't work well. For that reason, I passed up a G92 card a couple months back...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Thanks.
    Even if it doesn't work well, is it possible to do at all?
     
  13. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    He couldn't explain to me how to do it--so I can't really say.


    EDIT: I have the GTX470s up and folding P8057s :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012
    p_o_s_pc and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,961 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,619
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    G80 cards will not fold with GF100/GF104. I do not know why, but there is a conflict between the clients. It's one of those weird F@H things.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thank you. Not the news i had wanted but thats okay. I guess thats what the empty slot in the E2140 rig is for :laugh:

    can a 8600GT GPU2 client fold with a gf100/gf104 or is it all nonfermi Nividia GPUs cant fold in the same system?
     
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I don't think that would work. It's all the same client for pre-Fermi cards.


    It's looking like GPU folding won't be something I can sustain when I'm actually in the dorm. With the fans on the GTX470s at 75%, they were both pushing nearly 110C. With the fans at 100%, it's a more manageable just-under-85C. But the noise of the fans like this is unbelievable.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thats a disapointment...kinda but thats fine, I have a gtx465 thats on its way to me so no big deal..


    also i know its a gtx460 not a gtx470 but just to rub it in....(not sure why it shows GPU MHZ change,as they have been at 750 for 2 days stright now) also my actual fan speed doesn't show on there, as its controlled by a 3pin on the mobo but its running at 1200rpms and can't even hear it over my xiggy fan thats running ~1k rpm


    [​IMG]
     
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,903 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    No. Just will not. Bummer.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  19. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Thank you Buck for PMing me details on the QRB WUs the other day. I set up my P55 machine (running 3x 460s) and it's reading 130K PPD. One of the cards is working on a huge 16975pt 8057 WU while the other two are doing 2387pt 8054s. Didn't get to my other clients yet but I hope to get at least the other 470, 465 and 460 on the betas when I get my computers settled again.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    how are you getting so many points from a gtx460 jstn? I am only getting about 9k ppd from mine.

    I assume i am missing something i need to setup to get the WU's that you are gettting.
    Would you mind PMing me(you or anyone that can help) with details of the setup or a link to giving info on how to do it?
     
  21. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,992 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Well, it looks like the 2 GTX470s pull about 150k PPD or so. A bit less than I was expecting, but still awesome. I managed to get in 3 WUs (~45k points) before either power was cut or the RAs unplugged everything (all of my remote rigs were off when I woke up this morning).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,291 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    I may have to break down and buy a 580 for a system or two.

    I added about 20 cores today to SMP. Will add another 12 next week.
     
    mstenholm says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,872 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,143
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Check your logs to see if you're running 2.22. It sure sounds like you're running 2.25-my GTX460 is trouncing your GTX470-shouldn't happen.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Well, the systems have gone offline now--I'll check on Sunday.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)