• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

|TPU's|## GeForce GTX 480/470 Club House ##|

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
thanks. I just installed it and first impression on noise is none. I was expecting to turn the pc on and get welcomed with the fan, but I never heard it.

I am shocked and quite thrilled at the fact that they included a 6ft? hdmi to mini hdmi cable instead of just an adapter. A+ on that

I am also shocked that I am idling at 74c :-( Furmark took it to an ice cold 94c @ 60% fan
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
thanks. I just installed it and first impression on noise is none. I was expecting to turn the pc on and get welcomed with the fan, but I never heard it.

I am shocked and quite thrilled at the fact that they included a 6ft? hdmi to mini hdmi cable instead of just an adapter. A+ on that

I am also shocked that I am idling at 74c :-( Furmark took it to an ice cold 94c @ 60% fan
To check the idle temps you need to wait for the gpu to cool down; even after entering 2D mode it's still hot and consuming more than it would after a fresh boot-up. At least that happens with my GTX 480.
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
I installed the card, hit the desktop, installed drivers then rebooted. when I cam back I looked at temps. Plus its brand new out of the box so maybe the TIM needs to cure and then I might see temps lower.. but right now it's about 75c and i have a window airconditioner blowing towards my PC with the case top off.

I just opened BC2 and I laughed. Laughs of disappointment! LOL

I know the ATI cards bench a bit better on BC2 from the reviews I read but for a $360 card I am not impressed with this card thus far. Especially since the 5870 I had was only $40 more than this card and this card gets 30-35 fps less on average at lower settings than the 5870.

now of course I didnt pick this card up for the bang for buck... don't get me wrong I understood this card was overpriced and is supposed to be the competitior to the 5850 not the 5870.

so far the only thing I like about this card was the fact it came with a 6ft hdmi cable!

this sucker is friggin hot! doesnt perform as I would have expected and the driver keeps crashing in badaboom as Im trying to test transcoding to compare to the 8800gtx i just removed.

ahh well.. I will play with it some more, I am about to install just cause 2 so maybe that will work out better with the physx stuff and what not.

stay tuned
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,569
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
sorry for hearing that.... And image quality?

You know I went back to my GF9600 from the dead Ati 5850 and BC2 was slower of course, but the looks, visuals, are nicer with the Geforce (its personal and monitor related too, i know)....
 

pr@$r1g

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
59
Likes
13
Location
InDiA.x GhY
System Name PR@$R1G +1
Processor !7 950
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Cooling Venomous-X
Memory Kingston KHX2000C8D3T1K3/6GX
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GTX470
Storage 2x 500gb Seagate RAID-0
Case CM SCOUT
Audio Device(s) Realtek 889
Power Supply Seasonic M12D 850W
Here's Some 3dMark's

01


03


06


Vantage


that's tad low for 01 I dont know why / My 5770 used to score some 61k @ 1055 core

May be a multi-core slowdown with i7 :laugh:
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
has anyone replace the TIM on there cards yet?

from what i have seen it drops load temps by 10c
Uhm, thats an overstatement IMHO, why would nvidia design such an awesome HDT heatsink and use a crappy and bad installed tim
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,569
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
i will tell on monday night!!! just got a confirmed for the arrival of the BBQ470 :)
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
i will tell on monday night!!! just got a confirmed for the arrival of the BBQ470 :)
If you call a 470 a BBQ, what is a 480 then? :laugh:
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
well.. all bullshit aside. throw temps and power consumption out the window. this card is for eye candy without a doubt. ive been messing around with BC2 and im really impressed on the pure quality of graphics this card can produce and while keeping better than playable FPS.

2 of these in SLI with metro 2033 cranked to its max... too spooky for me
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
106
Likes
11
Location
FL, USA
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel 2600K OCed @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty P67 Motherboard
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme
Memory 16GB Corsair 1866 DDR3 Ram
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 770 4GB
Storage 480GB - 2xCorsair SSD in RAID0
Display(s) BenQ P-MVA 24" LCD 1920x1200
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro
Power Supply Corsair 750 Watt PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit
has anyone replace the TIM on there cards yet?

from what i have seen it drops load temps by 10c
I personally did this with my GTX 470. I used OCZ Freeze Thermal Compound.
It was super easy to replace the TIM on this card. Man the compound that came with my GTX470 was everywhere hehe and yeah I did look like crappy TIM too.

My temps didnt go down with 10c but it did go down with a full 6-8c. I am def. happy with the results.

I should also mention, now that I own the GTX470 for 2-3 weeks. Man this thing can overclock like crazy and run perfectly stable.

I own the EVGA GTX 470 SC card. Which comes with default stock of Voltage:975mW Shader Clock:1250MHz and Memory Clock:1801
Well I overclocked it to:
Voltage: 1025mW
Shader Clock: 1600
Memory Clock:1815
Running on stock air.
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
I personally did this with my GTX 470. I used OCZ Freeze Thermal Compound.
It was super easy to replace the TIM on this card. Man the compound that came with my GTX470 was everywhere hehe and yeah I did look like crappy TIM too.

My temps didnt go down with 10c but it did go down with a full 6-8c. I am def. happy with the results.

I should also mention, now that I own the GTX470 for 2-3 weeks. Man this thing can overclock like crazy and run perfectly stable.

I own the EVGA GTX 470 SC card. Which comes with default stock of Voltage:975mW Shader Clock:1250MHz and Memory Clock:1801
Well I overclocked it to:
Voltage: 1025mW
Shader Clock: 1600
Memory Clock:1815
Running on stock air.
Are you playing metro 2033? any screen shots for this or the metro 2033 clubhouse thread?
 

pr@$r1g

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
59
Likes
13
Location
InDiA.x GhY
System Name PR@$R1G +1
Processor !7 950
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Cooling Venomous-X
Memory Kingston KHX2000C8D3T1K3/6GX
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GTX470
Storage 2x 500gb Seagate RAID-0
Case CM SCOUT
Audio Device(s) Realtek 889
Power Supply Seasonic M12D 850W
Hi mates cheers :toast: , I have something to share

 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
NICE!!! Love to see some TPU peeps ranking on the bot!
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606
Likes
9,331
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606
Likes
9,331
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
how do you get the idle clocks so low?
open GPUz at desktop, allow card to idle maybe 30 seconds.

I cant remember where at the moment, but there is also a windows setting that will override the bios and make the card run full speed.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,259
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
open GPUz at desktop, allow card to idle maybe 30 seconds.

I cant remember where at the moment, but there is also a windows setting that will override the bios and make the card run full speed.
windows CP Power options high performance. make sure link state power managment is off or on "high performance"

you can also force them in like evga precision by moving it 1mhz and hitting apply.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
142
Likes
26
Location
Лиманск
System Name The Monolith
Processor Intel Core i7 2600 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77M
Memory Mushkin Enhanced Radioactive 8GB DDR3 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 FTW LE
Storage 2x Intel 330 Series 180GB RAID 0 + WD Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) LG Flatron IPS235B
Case Lian-Li PC-7HX
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD + Audio Technica ATH-A900X
Power Supply Antec TruePower New 750W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
windows CP Power options high performance. make sure link state power managment is off or on "high performance"

you can also force them in like evga precision by moving it 1mhz and hitting apply.
In EVGA Precision you can set separate 2D/3D clock speeds and fan speeds. This feature was hidden in older versions (and not available in even older versions), but it is now standard and not hidden in the new v1.9.3.

http://www.evga.com/precision