• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.09/day)
Location
UK
Looking at the image on the tray tab i would suggest to pinch the tabs together and slide the tray in the direction of the arrow.
All very easy when you know how ,out first time thanks. :)
It comes down to don,t force it like if you were to put something in the wrong way. in a PCo_ONot sure if i will get round to doing anything with it.Bearing in mind it needs caps changing.At least i can get rid of the old case and PSU that has packed up. :)
Best answer from you Jacky thanks again. :)
 

Attachments

  • DSC00944.JPG
    DSC00944.JPG
    6.4 MB · Views: 43
Last edited:

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
All very easy when you know how ,out first time thanks. :)
It comes down to don,t force it like if you were to put something in the wrong way. in a PCo_O
Looks like a Pentium 4 (or Celeron). Do you have an AGP card for that?
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.09/day)
Location
UK
Looks like a Pentium 4 (or Celeron). Do you have an AGP card for that?
Yes i do. i have two one was the one that came with my Athlon 2400 i took that out and put the 9600 in there..The one i took out was 5200 basic one.Yes it is 4 2.8 one
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Yes i do. i have two one was the one that came with my Athlon 2400 i took that out and put the 9600 in there..The one i took out was 5200 basic one.Yes it is 4 2.8 one
9600 is a good basic level card. Beats the crap out of FX 5200. :)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,593 (0.69/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Unlockable to full 16 pipes? Nice!
Some X800 GTO's will unlock too - Mine did. :cool:

It depends on the chip in the card and when it was made, later ones having the traces to the extra pipes laser-cut instead of just being disabled in the card's BIOS.
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Some X800 GTO's will unlock too - Mine did. :cool:

It depends on the chip in the card and when it was made, later ones having the traces to the extra pipes laser-cut instead of just being disabled in the card's BIOS.
Yeah, I remember. Wasn't Sapphire GTO2 pretty sure to unlock to X850 XT PE?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2021
Messages
83 (0.08/day)
Location
Republic of Hrvatsko Zagorje
Was GTO2 PCIe or AGP card?
Anyway, unlocking was only possible with VIVO cards (Rage Theater) if I remember correctly. FireGL does not have Rage Theater chip :). It may just be that they all have uncut GPUs?
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Was GTO2 PCIe or AGP card?
Anyway, unlocking was only possible with VIVO cards (Rage Theater) if I remember correctly. FireGL does not have Rage Theater chip :). It may just be that they all have uncut GPUs?
GTO2 was PCIe. My bet goes to uncut GPU for the FireGL.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.09/day)
Location
UK
9600 is a good basic level card. Beats the crap out of FX 5200. :)
So it seems from the you tube videos.Someone on here pointed out that some caps have gone the two near the ram slots.I will have to learn how to soldier before i attempt that task. o_O See if you can see any more caps that going dead.I also got the floppy drive out weather or not that works is another thing.o_OI also took out the
CD drive and the IDE cabals.:)The person who mentioned about the caps said the ram slots need cleaning.Noticed that the cooker has been cleaned .
 

Attachments

  • DSC00946.JPG
    DSC00946.JPG
    7.3 MB · Views: 42
  • DSC00947.JPG
    DSC00947.JPG
    6.4 MB · Views: 42

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
So it seems from the you tube videos.Someone on here pointed out that some caps have gone the two near the ram slots.I will have to learn how to soldier before i attempt that task. o_O See if you can see any more caps that going dead.I also got the floppy drive out weather or not that works is another thing.o_OI also took out the
CD drive and the IDE cabals.:)
Yeah, they are bulging by the looks. That's probably pre-ROHS era so it should be with leaded solder, which is a good thing when it comes for repairing.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.09/day)
Location
UK
Yeah, they are bulging by the looks. That's probably pre-ROHS era so it should be with leaded solder, which is a good thing when it comes for repairing.
I have done very little soldering in my time just basic stuff.So will have to watch some videos on it and get a decent Soldering iron. :)I have more than enough IDE cabals now. :)
 
Last edited:

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
I have done very little soldering in my time just basic stuff.So will have to watch some videos on it and get a decent Soldering iron. :)
Replacing caps is something even a novice can do. Just make sure that the polarity is correct, otherwise the magic smoke will appear. :D
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.09/day)
Location
UK
Yeah. Just make sure that the polarity is correct.
Yes i will when i get round to doing it. :) I like this guys videos on preparing old PC,s and other electronic gear.:)
. :)His got loads of stuff there for repair. o_OGood deal for five PC,s £70. :)His putting caps in the third one and said what you said about putting them in the wrong way. o_OLooks like he hit the jackpot with this one.
After finding out how to get into the case open.o_O
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
228 (0.14/day)
general question: what are you using to overclock NVIDIA cards (GeForce FX+) with Forceware driver version (>100) that are not working anymore with RivaTuner?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
2,097 (0.51/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
general question: what are you using to overclock NVIDIA cards (GeForce FX+) with Forceware driver version (>100) that are not working anymore with RivaTuner?
Riva should still work all the way to 200 drivers.
Can you be more specific?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
619 (0.09/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-850
Mouse HP gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
I seem to remember using CoolBits 2.0 on my Gf6 6800 Ultra.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
228 (0.14/day)
Riva should still work all the way to 200 drivers.
Can you be more specific?

I'm testing a FX5700 but RT is unable to detect frequencies both with 169.21 and 175.19, but works fine with 71.84, so I thought that ForceWare 1xx broke something with RT
If it's not the case, what could be the issue? I'm using RT 2.24c, clean WinXP SP3 install (OS + intel INF + ForceWare + RT)

CoolBits 2.0 regedit did nothing if applied on 169.21, not tested with the others
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,593 (0.69/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Now here's something that's cool yet also just short of useless - If that really.
These didn't even come close to it's performance expectations and that's why not too many were ever sold - Cool as a collector's piece but that's about it.
Got it cheap sometime ago and it's never been used - Still BNIB aside from opening it just to see what was in there.
I may do something with it one day, maybe not.

101_1107.JPG
101_1111.JPG
101_1112.JPG
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
1,755 (1.49/day)
My friend had a similar Thermaltake heatsink to the TEC unit. One weekend, my brother, friend and I got together for some primitive LAN gaming (over 10base2). In the midst of a Red Alert skirmish his computer froze. He was pissed. On trying to figure out what went wrong I felt his thermaltake heatsink and it was scorching hot. It turned out the thermally controlled fan on the Thermalfake heatsink had failed
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,593 (0.69/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
My friend had a similar Thermaltake heatsink to the TEC unit. One weekend, my brother, friend and I got together for some primitive LAN gaming (over 10base2). In the midst of a Red Alert skirmish his computer froze. He was pissed. On trying to figure out what went wrong I felt his thermaltake heatsink and it was scorching hot. It turned out the thermally controlled fan on the Thermalfake heatsink had failed
Well, it no wonder why it went to "Red Alert"......
I think I'd be on it too under that circumstance.

Yeah, these aren't great and even basic watercooling is better overall.
One of Tt's cooling innovations that didn't quite work out.
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,756 (2.62/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Well, it no wonder why it went to "Red Alert"......
I think I'd be on it too under that circumstance.

Yeah, these aren't great and even basic watercooling is better overall.
One of Tt's cooling innovations that didn't quite work out.
At least back in the day manufacturers were innovative. Today everyone just copies what others do.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
447 (0.47/day)
Location
Tornado Alley
System Name Main W10
Processor i7 2700K
Motherboard Gig Z77 HD4
Cooling Xigmatech Tower Cooler
Memory 16 GB G-Skill 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080ti 11GB
Storage WD Gold 2 TB HD
Display(s) Acer 27" 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) JDS Labs Element DAC/AMP
Power Supply Rosewill Hive 650 watt
Mouse MX 518
Keyboard Cherry 3000 with Blues
A good video from Phil if you are working with AGP.

The ATI FireGL X3-256 (Radeon X800 Pro AGP equivalent).​

 
Top