• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
755 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
So use the Blue slot. And use 3 x 8GB DIMMs for a total of 24GB. In dual channel you lose 33% of your bandwidth.
Unfortunately the ASRock board doesn't like if I run 3 sticks of RAM, and it seems this goes as way back as H55/P55. Any attempt to run 3 sticks results in WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR BSODs, unless I drop back to 2x8GB over the red slots (there is no blue slot on the Z68 Professional Gen3 Fatal1ty)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
So use the Blue slot. And use 3 x 8GB DIMMs for a total of 24GB. In dual channel you lose 33% of your bandwidth.


Honestly, that's not a bad card, especially for the 15quid they were asking.

You should be fine. Get the corners and the center of the board.


Agreed! Excellent soldering job! We can hardly tell it wasn't a factory job.
No you got that wrong, the card was £25 plus the fact that card takes 2x6 pins.And i see a lot of videos like this i can,t see someone who needs another 6 pin one though.Thats why i am sticking with what i have one 6 pin.:)
I see that the GTX 470 has a power draw of 215 w max.Thats interesting the GTX 660 TI has a 150 w max, why that card needs to 2x6 connectors i don,t know. o_O And yet the R9 270 also has a 150w max but only uses one 6 pino_OI see both the HD7850 and the 660 only have a max of 130w.I see my case all ready has a standoff in there by the DVD drive, so will only be one short.
 

Attachments

  • DSC00949.JPG
    DSC00949.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 36
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 1, 2019
Messages
95 (0.06/day)
System Name even lower budget then an old Optiplex :)
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1650 v4 - 3.6GHz
Motherboard Lenovo Orion - X99 chipset
Cooling ID Cooling SE-914-XT
Memory 16GB Micron DDR4 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Quadro K2200 4GB GDDR5
Storage 120GB/512GB SSDs - 3TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UN32EH4003 32" TV/Monitor 1366x768
Case Rosewill FBM-01 mATX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC662
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 550 GA
Mouse MS Wheel Mouse Optical 1.1A USB
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse red backlit USB
Software Windows 10 22H2
Thanks for all the likes on my recent repair post, our 'craziness' is completely appreciated. A 'normal' person would think most of what all of us on this forum do is insane......like what I just went through to save a 21 year old motherboard LOL. :lovetpu:

Anyways, I forgot to mention I originally used a Celeron 1400 in this system. When I had it apart I installed a Pentium III-S 1266 I found cheap. And wow what a difference! The last BIOS I can find for the Lomita board is emachines 1.05e which is the one I modded. It already has the newest Tualatin CPU microcodes as far as I can tell looking at them with a hex editor. The board identifies the P3-S as a Celeron 1266 but everything works fine. Running this on an i810e means the FSB between the CPU and northbridge is 133MHz, but memory is limited to 100MHz. Even so, UT2004 was marginal on the Celeron especially on a big map like Tokara Forest where the FPS would dip into the low 20s. With the slower P3-S it now stays in the low 30s at worst and averages in the 40s so it's smooth enough against bots. Also the original Unreal Tournament 99 ran around 60-65FPS on the Celeron and now 90-100FPS on the P3-S. That extra cache and faster cache timings on the P3-S make a major difference.

The conclusion is, if you can run a Pentium III-S on your Tualatin board and want maximum performance....even the 1266MHz or possibly the 1133MHz versions are better then any Celeron at stock speeds. The fabled 1400 version is quite expensive these days, but the 1266 and 1133 versions can be found reasonably priced!
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
I have just seen this on Facebook market place.The had only pit it on there half an hour before i goy in touch with him,I got back to him and needless to say someone had picked it up. :(it was a 5th generation Intel 2.9 it was peoberly an i7.The PC had packed up.It would have been good for free.He said Windows 11 was on there he built in 2014.He was going to throw it out.o_OAny way at least it has not gone to e waste :)

1671397464230.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,697 (6.45/day)
No you got that wrong, the card was £25
Oops, my bad..
And i see a lot of videos like this i can,t see someone who needs another 6 pin one though.Thats why i am sticking with what i have one 6 pin.
Video's like that are the exception, not the rule. I have never personally seem one of those adapter cable even get warm, let alone melt and fry like that. What I have seen is the 12(16)pin crap NVidia's using melt and fry. But that's another topic.

Unfortunately the ASRock board doesn't like if I run 3 sticks of RAM, and it seems this goes as way back as H55/P55. Any attempt to run 3 sticks results in WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR BSODs, unless I drop back to 2x8GB over the red slots (there is no blue slot on the Z68 Professional Gen3 Fatal1ty)
Sorry, you showed a picture of a Gigabyte board with triple channel RAM and only two DIMMs in place. That's what I was referring to. Sorry about the mix up.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
1,755 (1.39/day)
A complete, scanned copy of Computerworld circa 1987 (even before my time in IT). PC's did rate a headline in this issue (through the mention of the Microsoft 8088 accelerator board for Excel and MS OS/2 operating system [which I never even heard of, nor ever saw]). "Portable" PC's were the forerunners to laptops. It's interesting that Lotus, the first publisher of a spreadsheet program for PC's, is gone while Excel lives on. Why Lotus never sued MS for copyright infringement with Excel I'll never know. This issue even has an announcement for the release of the DEC VT320 terminal which I posted earlier. Back then, the IBM Big Iron mainframe gods wore three piece suits to work, got their own offices, their own department secretaries and walked on water.

https://books.google.com/books?id=M8uwmICKZwMC&lpg=PP17&pg=PP17#v=onepage&q&f=false
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
I just received the USB 3 to USB2 adapter for my PC case.I don,t suppose people outside the UK know that we have a lot of strikes going on here.And the postal workers have been striking off and on for some time now.I have been trying to get the Heatsink Fan pictured into my MSI 7513 Motherboard with no luck. :( As you can see it fits in the back plate.I tried to fit it on the back of the motherboard but 2 of the lugs go in but the other two come out.:(I am going to try and glue it on .The lugs on the Heatsink don,t go in the board.Anyone got any ides?
1671453844124.png
 

Attachments

  • DSC00970.JPG
    DSC00970.JPG
    6.4 MB · Views: 42
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
2,100 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
.I tried to fit it on the back of the motherboard but 2 of the lugs go in but the other two come out.:(I am going to try and glue it on .The lugs on the Heatsink don,t go in the board.Anyone got any ideas
Don't do that.
Find a proper cooler.
 

Keullo-e

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
11,305 (2.70/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Custom loop, Corsair ML/LL fans
Memory 48GB Kingston Fury DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3080 TUF 10GB @ +150/700
Storage ~4TB SSD + 6TB HDD
Display(s) Acer XV273K 4K120 + Lenovo L32p-30 4K60
Case Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 + Asus TUF P1 mousepad
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores It runs Crysis remastered at 4K
Is that a 115x cooler as it won't fit? Or is the motherboard cooling blocking its installation?
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
Is that a 115x cooler as it won't fit? Or is the motherboard cooling blocking its installation?
It should be a 775 one I was trying to do this
but could not find any screws that go pointed at the end. I took the pins off a Dell Heatsink fan that would work but i don,t know how to fix them from moving about.
Quote from 68Olds *I had an Acer that I scrapped because the motherboard failed. I kept the RAM, LGA775 Pentium D, and heatsink/fan. I just looked for the heatsink & realized I tossed it in recycle at some point. I remembered the mounting screws didn't go into a backplate, they screwed into the Acer case behind the motherboard. There was no way to use it on different motherboards.*
Dell screws how do I fix them to the cooler? Do I break the plastic of them? Somehow I have to try to fix them on there with gluing or what? It is a pain having to send that cooler back with it being Christmas and the postal strikes. :(
 

Attachments

  • DSC00975.JPG
    DSC00975.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 33
  • DSC00976.JPG
    DSC00976.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 33
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
648 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
It should be a 775 one I was trying to do this
but could not find any screws that go pointed at the end. I took the pins off a Dell Heatsink fan that would work but i don,t know how to fix them from moving about.
Quote from 68Olds *I had an Acer that I scrapped because the motherboard failed. I kept the RAM, LGA775 Pentium D, and heatsink/fan. I just looked for the heatsink & realized I tossed it in recycle at some point. I remembered the mounting screws didn't go into a backplate, they screwed into the Acer case behind the motherboard. There was no way to use it on a different motherboard.*
If you can find four screws that work with your backplate, that looks like a really good solution in the video.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
If you can find four screws that work with your backplate, that looks like a really good solution in the video.
Well, the ones of the Dell heatsink would do but how do I fix them on the cooler so they don,t move about? o_O
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
648 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
It will have to be done with the motherboard out of the case. You will need to get each screw started loosely, then tighten them in a cross pattern. A magnetic tip screwdriver would be helpful, but not necessary. Personally, I would fit the heatsink to the motherboard once without thermal paste on the CPU, take it off and fit it again with paste on the CPU. It will be a bit of a fiddly process, but should be doable.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
It will have to be done with the motherboard out of the case. You will need to get each screw started loosely, then tighten them in a cross pattern. A magnetic tip screwdriver would be helpful, but not necessary. Personally, I would fit the heatsink to the motherboard once without thermal paste on the CPU, take it off and fit it again with paste on the CPU. It will be a bit of a fiddly process, but should be doable.
Thanks, that's what I was going to do.:) I do have a magnetic screwdriver.:) Most definitely yes. Out of the screws you see in the bag only one fitted, and that is too short.o_OI still would like to know the best way to get the Dell ones put in the cooler so that they don,t move.o_OI have only managed to get fitted in there and that after trying for ages. :(I just sent theHeatsink i got from eBay.
 

Attachments

  • DSC00977.JPG
    DSC00977.JPG
    6.2 MB · Views: 41
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
After trying for ages to get the screws in the CPU Heatsink finally did it. :)I don,t know how the thermal grease is after all that. One thing is for sure I am not taking it off again to upgrade the CPU . I will stick with the E8600:)See photos of it. There is a bit of a gap on the back plate 979. Where do the front and back fans go, can someone circle them thanks.:)I got the front connections sorted when it comes to building it. The thing I am worried about is those delicate LEDs are facing in different ways.o_O
 

Attachments

  • DSC00978.JPG
    DSC00978.JPG
    6.9 MB · Views: 45
  • DSC00979.JPG
    DSC00979.JPG
    6.7 MB · Views: 45
  • DSC00980.JPG
    DSC00980.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 39
  • DSC00981.JPG
    DSC00981.JPG
    6.5 MB · Views: 48
  • DSC00982.JPG
    DSC00982.JPG
    6.6 MB · Views: 46
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
480 (0.27/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard AsRock B550M Pro4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 Esports
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) Hynix 3466mhz CL17 (2x8 Team Dark Z DDR4-4000 CL18 + 2x8 Vcolor Prism DDR4-3466 CL17)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1660 Super 6gb
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1tb NVME + 500gb Samsung HDD
Display(s) Triple monitor setup w/ Viewsonic 1080p 144hz main + 2 Dell Ultrasharps
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x Arctic F14 PWM + 3X Arctic F12 PWM
Audio Device(s) Logitech X530 5.1 Spearkers + Beyer Dynamic DT770 PRO's driven by a Creative Labs Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX750i 80+ Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Leopold FC750R Cherry MX Brown
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional x64
20221220_115942~2.jpg
20221220_115500~2.jpg

20221220_113722~2.jpg

Asus ROG Commando complete with IO shield and proprietary sound card, E6300, 4gb Kingston Ram, Sapphire HD5450 1gb, and a copper core Intel cooler.

Was sold as is since it had been sitting for years but was a working pull prior. Still works fine. I really wasn't in the market for this and didn't want everything the board came with, but for the price I couldn't resist.

I need to stop buying 775 boards but I know myself well enough to know that will never happen :)

After trying for ages to get the screws in the CPU Heatsink finally did it. :)I don,t know how the thermal grease is after all that. One thing is for sure I am not taking it off again to upgrade the CPU . I will stick with the E8600:)See photos of it. There is a bit of a gap on the back plate 979. Where do the front and back fans go, can someone circle them thanks.:)I got the front connections sorted when it comes to building it. The thing I am worried about is those delicate LEDs are facing in different ways.o_O
Nice board. From my experience the p45 platinum isn't the best board for OC but it looks really neat.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
755 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Remember the Club3D HD7950 I posted eons ago on here? It's now alive, with a VTX3D shroud.

IMG-20221219-WA0001.jpeg


If I do have to say anything about it - Sweet Jesus, this thing is criminally hot. The one true rival for the ole' 8800GTX and GTX480/580 series cards thermally wise. Can't deny the performances are absolutely sweet. Wish it had any slight chance of a fan curve whatsoever - even my Gigabyte HD7870 has one!

EDIT: Tried BIOS flashing, before anyone asks. I can't get it to flash, errors out with a Subsystem Mismatch when trying to use a MSI R9 280 VBIOS (the Gigabyte has some rather harsh clocks so the MSI would likely suit it best - btw the card itself is a R9 280, but as we all know, the entire 270-280 lineage is just 7870, 7950 and 7970 rebranded cards. Big props as the OG 7950 didn't have a metal cover on the back, while this R9 280 does.)

EDIT II - never mind, actually got the MSI BIOS to flash and it's running even more great than ever. A quite significant bump in clocks too. I would've gone as far as flashing Gigabyte VBIOS, but from what I kinda remember about it, it doesn't support the Elpida RAM that's on this card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
I think I will go for this
and after being told that the one I was going to buy was a very noisy EVGA version of this by 68olds, that was only £25 the Asus one is on auction but the guy has said * buy it now for £30 plus £3.50 shipping.*What does FTW stand for? at the end of the card number in the video, he says it has different specs , I see the seller has taken off the buy-it-now after my inquiring about buying it after my asking if it was possible to have it on click and collect. He must have realized he could get more for it.
1671747540043.png



only £25
1671746174056.png
1671746143210.png

Asus GTX 670 Direct CU II
1671745787787.png
1671745735188.png

 
Last edited:

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,127 (1.96/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
@Greenslade , FTW means "For The Win"

I have a bit higher memory clock and core clock than a standard card of the same type.

Kind of in-between a standard and a Ti version I guess.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,697 (6.45/day)
I think I will go for this
and after being told that the one I was going to buy was a very noisy EVGA version of this by 68olds, that was only £25 the Asus one is on auction but the guy has said * buy it now for £30 plus £3.50 shipping.*What does FTW stand for? at the end of the card number in the video, he says it has different specs , I see the seller has taken off the buy-it-now after my inquiring about buying it after my asking if it was possible to have it on click and collect. He must have realized he could get more for it.View attachment 275684


only £25 View attachment 275678View attachment 275677

Asus GTX 670 Direct CU II View attachment 275674View attachment 275673

That's an excellent card! I have one in my old Dell Optiplex retro build. I have the EVGA version, but still.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,115 (1.96/day)
Location
UK
That's an excellent card! I have one in my old Dell Optiplex retro build. I have the EVGA version,

1671798867919.png
39
Can i ask you some questions is this FTW better than the one in the video Full working order, tested recently for £39?The seller has removed the buy it now for the Asus one so don,t know how much that will go for on Auction.o_O Or should i go for this one EVGA the normal one for £20 ?People have said the EVGA it is very loud.I just looked on F.M.P and some one is selling the F.T.W for £20 ? o_OAs is the case most of the time it is in the other side of the country.:(So whats your view on all this Lex?The guy selling Asus card is a new seller i don,t think he knows what he is doing.He got back to me saying quote*You can buy it now for 30* I don,t know Weather he wants to sell it to me for that price or not.Of course i said to him that would be fine by me.Looking at the price for Asus cards they are the smaller ones without the back plate.I think he could get £50 for it,But i am happy to take it off his hands for 30. :)
 

Attachments

  • 1671799458212.png
    1671799458212.png
    269.2 KB · Views: 35
Last edited:
Top