• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unbricking A Bricked Sapphire RX 6800 XT Nitro+?

Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
I got a Sapphire RX 6800 XT Nitro+ off ebay that was (supposedly) working. However when I plugged it in, no video output. I ran my iGPU so I could get video output, and Device Manager does indeed recognize the 6800 XT but gives a code 43 error. I've flashed RX 5700/5700 XT BIOSes before, so I'm familiar with the whole process - I expect what happened is the seller tried flashing this card without knowing what he was doing, bricked it, and couldn't figure out how to fix it so he sold it. I know eBay will let me return it with no hassle, but I've been wanting a 6800/XT for a while now and I'd like to try fixing it before I have to deal with a return.

Things I've tried:
  • The Code 43 error (can) show up when you've flashed an unsigned BIOS onto a card, and can be patched with the AMD ATI Pixel Clock Patcher. I tried ran the patcher, but the error remained.
  • After saving the current BIOS (not that it's working anyway), I downloaded the Sapphire RX 6800 XT Nitro+ BIOSes from the TechPowerUp database and tried flashing those. The file hashes were identical to the BIOS on the card already, but I flashed it anyway. Still got the error.
  • Also tried flashing the reference AMD RX 6800 XT BIOS as a last resort, but the current version of AMD VbFlash, v3.20, barfs out an SSID mismatch error and you cannot force it to flash anyway. Older versions with the modifications from Igor's Lab, AMD VbFlash v2.93+ and v3.04+, which *are* able to ignore those errors and flash anyway, do not recognize the RX 6000 series and therefore cannot flash a BIOS on them.
So, I'm at a bit of a loss. I'm 98% positive this card is just firmware bricked, not a hardware issue (otherwise Device Manager probably wouldn't be able to recognize the card at all), and because of that it should be possible to fix. But, I'm not sure how.

Any ideas?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,909 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I got a Sapphire RX 6800 XT Nitro+ off ebay that was (supposedly) working. However when I plugged it in, no video output. I ran my iGPU so I could get video output, and Device Manager does indeed recognize the 6800 XT but gives a code 43 error. I've flashed RX 5700/5700 XT BIOSes before, so I'm familiar with the whole process - I expect what happened is the seller tried flashing this card without knowing what he was doing, bricked it, and couldn't figure out how to fix it so he sold it. I know eBay will let me return it with no hassle, but I've been wanting a 6800/XT for a while now and I'd like to try fixing it before I have to deal with a return.

Things I've tried:
  • The Code 43 error (can) show up when you've flashed an unsigned BIOS onto a card, and can be patched with the AMD ATI Pixel Clock Patcher. I tried ran the patcher, but the error remained.
  • After saving the current BIOS (not that it's working anyway), I downloaded the Sapphire RX 6800 XT Nitro+ BIOSes from the TechPowerUp database and tried flashing those. The file hashes were identical to the BIOS on the card already, but I flashed it anyway. Still got the error.
  • Also tried flashing the reference AMD RX 6800 XT BIOS as a last resort, but the current version of AMD VbFlash, v3.20, barfs out an SSID mismatch error and you cannot force it to flash anyway. Older versions with the modifications from Igor's Lab, AMD VbFlash v2.93+ and v3.04+, which *are* able to ignore those errors and flash anyway, do not recognize the RX 6000 series and therefore cannot flash a BIOS on them.
So, I'm at a bit of a loss. I'm 98% positive this card is just firmware bricked, not a hardware issue (otherwise Device Manager probably wouldn't be able to recognize the card at all), and because of that it should be possible to fix. But, I'm not sure how.

Any ideas?
Post pics of stickers from card back or on side of heatsink please, a shot of ram chips on card please.

A current gpu-z screenshot of card with code 43 error.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
Post pics of stickers from card back or on side of heatsink please, a shot of ram chips on card please.

A current gpu-z screenshot of card with code 43 error.
I appreciate you looking into this, thank you.

Stickers:
IMG_20210923_104912.jpg


Memory chips (didn't clean all of them off but I'm guessing they're all identical and you just need to know if it's Samsung/Hynix/Micron, right?):
IMG_20210923_111903.jpg


And GPU-Z screenshot for the card:
Sapphire 6800 XT GPU-Z.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,909 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I appreciate you looking into this, thank you.

Stickers:
View attachment 217985

Memory chips (didn't clean all of them off but I'm guessing they're all identical and you just need to know if it's Samsung/Hynix/Micron, right?):
View attachment 217986

And GPU-Z screenshot for the card:
View attachment 217987

Yes Ram Brand verify is a must. I will look

Download 1 of these files.

These are 2 verified bios for your card


These others are unverified.



Latest bios

Im writing syntax down.

Procedure 1

Get this tool

Extract it to its own folder and open the version with win in the name with admin rights.

Find the bios file you downloaded and flash. if you get an error you will need to go to procedure 2



Procedure 2
You may need to do a force flash in an administrator privileged command prompt. (Find cmd in start menu right click and open as administrator)

If that is not performed you may receive the stupid 0FL error.

Then follow this command

Enter this command first

Amdvbflash.exe -i to identify what number the gpu is (if it works still)

(Unsure if this next command works in latest tool)

Amdvbflash.exe -unlockrom 0 (number the card is such as 0, 1, 2, 3...)


Then enter this command

amdvbflash.exe -fa -fp -p XXXX.rom


Note: XXXX is the name of the VBIOS file you downloaded. You can also change the downloaded file name to a simple name.


Otherwise you do it this way:

Create a new text file in your ATIFlash directory, name it FLASH.bat, and place this code into it:

@Echo off
cls

echo Flashing card 0 with BIOS.rom...
echo.
amdvbflash.exe -fa -fp -p BIOS.rom
echo.

pause
Assuming the new BIOS you want to flash onto your card is named BIOS.rom, this is the BIOS it will use for flashing.

Save your changes, then run the batch file by double-clicking on it.

Once you've received a success message, reboot your computer for the new BIOS to come into effect. If you can boot into Windows successfully, then that's good! (Note: your screen may flicker for a bit, because you basically have a new card, and Windows is trying to recognize it. If you want to be thorough, go ahead and do a clean re-install of your graphics drivers.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
Yes Ram Brand verify is a must. I will look

Download 1 of these files.

These are 2 verified bios for your card


These others are unverified.



Latest bios

Im writing syntax down.

Procedure 1

Get this tool

Extract it to its own folder and open the version with win in the name with admin rights.

Find the bios file you downloaded and flash. if you get an error you will need to go to procedure 2



Procedure 2
You may need to do a force flash in an administrator privileged command prompt. (Find cmd in start menu right click and open as administrator)

If that is not performed you may receive the stupid 0FL error.

Then follow this command

Enter this command first

Amdvbflash.exe -i to identify what number the gpu is (if it works still)

(Unsure if this next command works in latest tool)

Amdvbflash.exe -unlockrom 0 (number the card is such as 0, 1, 2, 3...)


Then enter this command

amdvbflash.exe -fa -fp -p XXXX.rom


Note: XXXX is the name of the VBIOS file you downloaded. You can also change the downloaded file name to a simple name.


Otherwise you do it this way:

Create a new text file in your ATIFlash directory, name it FLASH.bat, and place this code into it:

@Echo off
cls

echo Flashing card 0 with BIOS.rom...
echo.
amdvbflash.exe -fa -fp -p BIOS.rom
echo.

pause
Assuming the new BIOS you want to flash onto your card is named BIOS.rom, this is the BIOS it will use for flashing.

Save your changes, then run the batch file by double-clicking on it.

Once you've received a success message, reboot your computer for the new BIOS to come into effect. If you can boot into Windows successfully, then that's good! (Note: your screen may flicker for a bit, because you basically have a new card, and Windows is trying to recognize it. If you want to be thorough, go ahead and do a clean re-install of your graphics drivers.)
I tried both verified BIOSes, the AMD unverified, and the Sapphire unverified. All of them were able to be flashed in AMD VbFlash 3.20 GUI, but none of them fixed the error after reboot; still error code 43. Just for the sake of being sure, I also tried flashing each BIOS file using the command line AMD VbFlash 3.20, and it likewise flashed correctly but did not fix the error 43.

Not sure if it's important but in the AMD VbFlash GUI, it does say that the size of the installed BIOS images is 0xAA00 whereas the downloaded ones are 0x100000. My understanding is that BIOS files are padded with 0s to exactly 1MB (sometimes 512KB for older generation GPUs), but the actual BIOS chip storage size might be different? Either way, for each BIOS file the CRC (I'm assuming this is some kind of checksum) reported in the AMD VbFlash 3.20 GUI after flashing is identical to the downloaded file, so it appears that the BIOS chip is flashing correctly.

The card does have a BIOS switch with 3 positions: 1 = Performance, 2 = Silent, and 3 = software switch for the Sapphire Software to switch between BIOSes on the fly. So far I've only tried flashing with the BIOS switch in the 1st position, but I also tried booting in the second BIOS switch position. This also does not work (error 43 again), The third BIOS position just allows for switching between the other 2 BIOSes, but for the sake of completeness I also tried booting in the 3rd position; it also spits out error 43. Normally the secondary BIOS is supposed to be left completely untouched when you're flashing, so you have a known working BIOS backup, but I'm certain the previous owner flashed over it. However, I have not tried flashing the second BIOS myself.

I'll save whatever is flashed onto the Silent position now, and try flashing that second BIOS position with the 2 verified and 2 unverified BIOS files from TPU.

In the mean time, maybe if someone on the TPU forums who owns this card could upload their working BIOS, I could give that a go. Or figuring out a way to flash the AMD Reference RX 6800 XT BIOS onto the card. I expect if it could be flashed with the reference BIOS, it would work correctly (not at the Nitro+'s factory overclock, but still better than a card that doesn't work at all). However if the BIOS is not the problem, what else could cause an error 43 in Windows? And is it anything that can be diagnosed or fixed?

Just tried flashing the second BIOS chip with the 2 verified and 2 unverified BIOS, no luck, still error 43.

I also tried running DDU and reinstalling the drivers. Also no luck, error 43.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
164 (0.03/day)
I tried both verified BIOSes, the AMD unverified, and the Sapphire unverified. All of them were able to be flashed in AMD VbFlash 3.20 GUI, but none of them fixed the error after reboot; still error code 43. Just for the sake of being sure, I also tried flashing each BIOS file using the command line AMD VbFlash 3.20, and it likewise flashed correctly but did not fix the error 43.

Not sure if it's important but in the AMD VbFlash GUI, it does say that the size of the installed BIOS images is 0xAA00 whereas the downloaded ones are 0x100000. My understanding is that BIOS files are padded with 0s to exactly 1MB (sometimes 512KB for older generation GPUs), but the actual BIOS chip storage size might be different? Either way, for each BIOS file the CRC (I'm assuming this is some kind of checksum) reported in the AMD VbFlash 3.20 GUI after flashing is identical to the downloaded file, so it appears that the BIOS chip is flashing correctly.

The card does have a BIOS switch with 3 positions: 1 = Performance, 2 = Silent, and 3 = software switch for the Sapphire Software to switch between BIOSes on the fly. So far I've only tried flashing with the BIOS switch in the 1st position, but I also tried booting in the second BIOS switch position. This also does not work (error 43 again), The third BIOS position just allows for switching between the other 2 BIOSes, but for the sake of completeness I also tried booting in the 3rd position; it also spits out error 43. Normally the secondary BIOS is supposed to be left completely untouched when you're flashing, so you have a known working BIOS backup, but I'm certain the previous owner flashed over it. However, I have not tried flashing the second BIOS myself.

I'll save whatever is flashed onto the Silent position now, and try flashing that second BIOS position with the 2 verified and 2 unverified BIOS files from TPU.

In the mean time, maybe if someone on the TPU forums who owns this card could upload their working BIOS, I could give that a go. Or figuring out a way to flash the AMD Reference RX 6800 XT BIOS onto the card. I expect if it could be flashed with the reference BIOS, it would work correctly (not at the Nitro+'s factory overclock, but still better than a card that doesn't work at all). However if the BIOS is not the problem, what else could cause an error 43 in Windows? And is it anything that can be diagnosed or fixed?

Just tried flashing the second BIOS chip with the 2 verified and 2 unverified BIOS, no luck, still error 43.

I also tried running DDU and reinstalling the drivers. Also no luck, error 43.

This sounds like you got scammed on ebay.
See if you can just return the card and check with ebay or paypal or however you paid, for any protection programs that may cover your purchase.
A card should NEVER "code 43" for any reason whatsoever. Most of the time this is something to do with a failure with something related to some PCIE or bios transaction. Code 10 errors are even worse (these are usually direct dead hardware). Code 43 can happen from corrupt vbioses, damaged PCIE gold fingers or some other low level failure that happens after the card has been "started."
RMA it and buy a brand new one from an actual reseller next time please.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,909 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
This sounds like you got scammed on ebay.
See if you can just return the card and check with ebay or paypal or however you paid, for any protection programs that may cover your purchase.
A card should NEVER "code 43" for any reason whatsoever. Most of the time this is something to do with a failure with something related to some PCIE or bios transaction. Code 10 errors are even worse (these are usually direct dead hardware). Code 43 can happen from corrupt vbioses, damaged PCIE gold fingers or some other low level failure that happens after the card has been "started."
RMA it and buy a brand new one from an actual reseller next time please.

Sometimes drivers are bad

Sometimes windows is faulty.

I tried both verified BIOSes, the AMD unverified, and the Sapphire unverified. All of them were able to be flashed in AMD VbFlash 3.20 GUI, but none of them fixed the error after reboot; still error code 43. Just for the sake of being sure, I also tried flashing each BIOS file using the command line AMD VbFlash 3.20, and it likewise flashed correctly but did not fix the error 43.

Not sure if it's important but in the AMD VbFlash GUI, it does say that the size of the installed BIOS images is 0xAA00 whereas the downloaded ones are 0x100000. My understanding is that BIOS files are padded with 0s to exactly 1MB (sometimes 512KB for older generation GPUs), but the actual BIOS chip storage size might be different? Either way, for each BIOS file the CRC (I'm assuming this is some kind of checksum) reported in the AMD VbFlash 3.20 GUI after flashing is identical to the downloaded file, so it appears that the BIOS chip is flashing correctly.

The card does have a BIOS switch with 3 positions: 1 = Performance, 2 = Silent, and 3 = software switch for the Sapphire Software to switch between BIOSes on the fly. So far I've only tried flashing with the BIOS switch in the 1st position, but I also tried booting in the second BIOS switch position. This also does not work (error 43 again), The third BIOS position just allows for switching between the other 2 BIOSes, but for the sake of completeness I also tried booting in the 3rd position; it also spits out error 43. Normally the secondary BIOS is supposed to be left completely untouched when you're flashing, so you have a known working BIOS backup, but I'm certain the previous owner flashed over it. However, I have not tried flashing the second BIOS myself.

I'll save whatever is flashed onto the Silent position now, and try flashing that second BIOS position with the 2 verified and 2 unverified BIOS files from TPU.

In the mean time, maybe if someone on the TPU forums who owns this card could upload their working BIOS, I could give that a go. Or figuring out a way to flash the AMD Reference RX 6800 XT BIOS onto the card. I expect if it could be flashed with the reference BIOS, it would work correctly (not at the Nitro+'s factory overclock, but still better than a card that doesn't work at all). However if the BIOS is not the problem, what else could cause an error 43 in Windows? And is it anything that can be diagnosed or fixed?

Just tried flashing the second BIOS chip with the 2 verified and 2 unverified BIOS, no luck, still error 43.

I also tried running DDU and reinstalling the drivers. Also no luck, error 43.
There is one last thing you can try besides reinstalling Windows.

Download your motherboard's latest chipset drivers from your CPU manufacturer's website. Download the tool called display driver uninstaller.
Download the Radeon Pro Enterprise driver from here.

Disconnect from the internet-meaning pull lan cable or disable your wifi adapter.

Run Adrenaline Uninstaller, Restart when prompted then Run Display Driver uninstaller like you are changing gpu brands. Restart when prompted, Run it again. Then if there is an AMD folder on C: drive, open it and delete Adrenalin software.

Restart.

Install latest chipset driver restart

Then install the Radeon Pro Enterprise driver, restart when prompted and verify Error 43 is gone.

If not you can try to reinstall Windows, or Return the card as defective, or see if Sapohire will allow you to RMA whether paying for it or Free.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 23, 2021
Messages
4 (0.13/day)
Thanks for the help, gave it a shot with the enterprise driver and latest chipset drivers but still no dice. I'm guessing it was damaged by a previous owner or damaged during shipping, so I went ahead and returned it.
 

ocilfa

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2021
Messages
2 (0.04/day)
Have you tried flashing the vbios through freedos? I know I had a similar situation with an rx 480 that gave very similar messages and flashing within windows didn't help at all. Booting freedos off of a usb and flashing through there flashed right away and the card has worked fine ever since. Worth a shot at least.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,909 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Have you tried flashing the vbios through freedos? I know I had a similar situation with an rx 480 that gave very similar messages and flashing within windows didn't help at all. Booting freedos off of a usb and flashing through there flashed right away and the card has worked fine ever since. Worth a shot at least.
He returned it already. I do have a script method
 
Top