• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgraded from 4870 to 5870, disappointed.

Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#1
I recently upgraded my rig from a 600w PSU to a 1000w psu, and I got a 5870 1GiB up from my 4870.

My father, who has the EXACT same machine but one more gig of ram (4 gigs), can run Bad Company 2 at like 100 fps at all times fully maxed out in large battles and such.

I get about 20 fps. All the time. Unless it's a server with like 5 people total.

I have everything in my catalyst control center set to performance. Nothing is on quality. So does my father's machine.

I have Bad Company maxed out.. but I should be able to kill this game.

Also having troubles running World of Warcraft, even if I hit recommended settings it puts it all to ULTRA and I still can't get over 30 fps.

Frustrated, I have no idea what is going on. I got the 10.1 drivers that match my father's pc. I tried the newest ones and they were complete crap, so that's why I reverted to 10.1.

I don't know what else to do. Is there any reason this graphics card is not working correctly?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,102 (0.37/day)
Likes
47
Location
barrie ont
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Biostar TA870+
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory Kingston hyperx 1600mhz 2x8gb
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU II 990/1250 stock volts
Storage Seagate 500gb, Wd 1tb black
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2433BW 24
Case Thermaltake v3 black edition
Audio Device(s) onboard, Logitech x540
Power Supply Antec true power modular 650 watt
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
#2
i wonder you cant notice to difference from both cards, you're cpu at 2.5ghz is not high enough to get the most of any recent video card today, try bumping up you're cpu to lets say 3.4ghz
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,586 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,968
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#3
5870 working fine here...probably something on your rig causing issues...tried a new OS install?

And yeah, cpu will paly a role, too. Something has to feed that card data...
 

NeilSmith

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Akagi (check it out, I have a hardon for Evangelion)
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV
Cooling GeminII S
Memory 8 gigs G.Skill 1333
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH5850
Storage 2x Raid 0 1tb 7200 & 1x 1 tb 7200
Display(s) 120hz Viewsonic 22" VX2265wm
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) onboard 6.1
Power Supply OCZ 700 watt
Software Win7 Pro 64 Bit
#4
That game is highly CPU intensive as well, so your 5870 is prolly free wheeling while your CPU is bottle necked.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#5
I said exact machine.. my fathers pc runs it fine.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
1,304 (0.39/day)
Likes
262
System Name Hakase
Processor Core i5 6600k @ 4.5GHz 1.23V
Motherboard ASUS Z170-A
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @ 2666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX670 Power Edition
Storage 120GB 850EVO - 2x600GB Cheetah 15k7 - 2x2TB Constellation ES - 2+3TB Green - 500GB Deskstar
Display(s) LG 19" TV
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Fostex PC100USB
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Mionix Naos 5000
Keyboard daskeyboard Ultimate S Clicky
Software Win 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores not benching anymore...
#6
i see an IDE drive.
that drive is slow, get another SATA drive, and do a fresh windows install..
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#7
I have another 2tb internal drive.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#8
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,524 (0.49/day)
Likes
238
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
cpu bottleneck, it obvious................... or i would have thought it would be
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#10
I don't understand.. another identical rig with a 2.5ghz processor runs it fine.

Why isn't mine? I don't see how it could be bottle necking my machine and not the other.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#11
My Athlon X2 at 2.6 Ghz with my 5770 did better. After getting my Phenom II X4 3.0Ghz, my FPS are 28-55, at least.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#12
That makes no sense, you got a higher CPU and you lost FPS?!?

28-50 fps is low.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#13
That makes no sense, you got a higher CPU and you lost FPS?!?
What do you mean, lost FPS? You said you got about 20FPS.....

Yes, but my 5770 is running max at 1600X 1200. Which is demanding. (For it at least.)
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,144
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#14
Windows updated? DirectX installed? Virus scan working? Programs/Background programs running?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
734 (0.22/day)
Likes
121
Location
Golden, Colorado
System Name KAREN / EVA / GHOST
Processor Intel Core i7-950 / AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE / Core i5 3570k
Motherboard ASUS TUF Sabertooth X58 / DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH / Asrock z77e-itx
Cooling Thermaltake Frio / Corsair Cooling™ Hydro Series H50 / Corsair Hydro Series H60
Memory Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 / Corsair Dominator Quad2X4096-8500C5DF / G.SKILL Ripjaws Serie 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD6950 CF unlocked /XFX HD5770 CF/ MSI R4890 Cyclone
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60 WD Raptor X WD1500AHFD / Seagate Barracuda /Western Digital 80gb, Toshiba 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer P215H 21.5 Widescreen / Acer S211HL 21.5 / HP 2009F 20inch
Case SILVERSTONE RAVEN RV02-BW / NZXT Phantom /Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) On board / Philips MMS 321 - PC multimedia speakers
Power Supply Ultra X3 ULT40311 1000W / Cosair CMPSU-750TX 750W/ CORSAIR Gaming Series GS700 700W
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit
#15
What kind of internet do you have? I am with you it doesnt add up if both pc's are the same except 1 gig of memory.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
520 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
Location
New-Brunswick, Canada
System Name Columbus
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula 890FX ROG AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 12GB DDR3 1600mhz F3 Series 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSi GTX 970
Storage all 5400 RPM. 'nuff said.
Display(s) Samsung BX2450L 24" LED 2ms
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HD audio baby!
Power Supply KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000w
Mouse Deathadder
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home 64
#16
Windows is up to date. DirectX 11 installed, I play a lot of games.
No viruses, and I keep an eye on what's running and my PC was in great shape until I put this card in.

It's not internet lag, it's video lag. Internet is fine, low pings, high download speeds. etc.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
734 (0.22/day)
Likes
121
Location
Golden, Colorado
System Name KAREN / EVA / GHOST
Processor Intel Core i7-950 / AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE / Core i5 3570k
Motherboard ASUS TUF Sabertooth X58 / DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH / Asrock z77e-itx
Cooling Thermaltake Frio / Corsair Cooling™ Hydro Series H50 / Corsair Hydro Series H60
Memory Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 / Corsair Dominator Quad2X4096-8500C5DF / G.SKILL Ripjaws Serie 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD6950 CF unlocked /XFX HD5770 CF/ MSI R4890 Cyclone
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60 WD Raptor X WD1500AHFD / Seagate Barracuda /Western Digital 80gb, Toshiba 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer P215H 21.5 Widescreen / Acer S211HL 21.5 / HP 2009F 20inch
Case SILVERSTONE RAVEN RV02-BW / NZXT Phantom /Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) On board / Philips MMS 321 - PC multimedia speakers
Power Supply Ultra X3 ULT40311 1000W / Cosair CMPSU-750TX 750W/ CORSAIR Gaming Series GS700 700W
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit
#17
I would swap graphics cards do a clean install of the drivers and see if its the card.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.83/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
#18
Get 10.4a or 10.10e your drivers are almost a year old.

Also, just because your dad has (nearly) the same system doesn't mean yours will respond the same with the same upgrades.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
952 (0.27/day)
Likes
403
Processor i7 5820K
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4
Cooling Swiftech ApogeeXT + EK-FC R9-290X DCII (2) + 3x120mm Rad + 1x120mm Rad + 2xDDC1T W/XSPC Dual pumpto
Memory 16GB Gskill DDR4
Video Card(s) ASUS R9290X-DC2OC-4GD5 + ASUS R9290X-4GD5
Storage Corsair ForceGT 120GB + Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 3TB Seagate + MediaSonic Raid array (4x 3TB WDRED)
Display(s) Benq XL2730Z (1440P 144Hz, TN, Freesync) & 2x ASUS VE248
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Audio Device(s) Aune T1/Fiio E17/Realtek, SE535, TH-X00, ATH-M50 modded w/ V-Moda Boompro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Sharkoon Fireglider optical
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog CH Pro Pedals
#19
Is the card working right? Is it switching to 3D clocks when you game?


For example:

I had Firefox open with a youtube video paused(accellerated by the GFX card) and I started up BFBC2. Terrible performance. Checked with GPU-z, and the card was at "medium" state, it was still only running at the clocks it uses for decoding video. Closed Firefox, resarted the game, checked again and the card was at full speed. Great performance.

If you're doing something in the background which accesses the GPU, the card is damaged, or the drivers aren't working right - the card may not be running at full speed.

Pretty big longshot, but worth a check.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2010
Messages
231 (0.09/day)
Likes
24
System Name Vika
Processor Intel Core i3 2100
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Gen 3
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ X Radeon HD 7970 @ 1100/1550
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2453MH-LED 23.6in LED
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Antec HCG 620W
Software Windows 7 Premium 64bit
#20
If you haven't already, download GPU-Z and see if your 5870 is running fine. If the specs match the default specs than your 5870 should be fine.

Try cleaning your registry with a program like CCleaner or Auslogics registry cleaner
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.25/day)
Likes
139
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#21
simple test.. put your 5870 in your dad's rig and see if his performance goes up or down.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#22
Try the 10.6 Drivers, best luck I've had with my 5770 has been with them, maybe they'll work for you too....
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,509 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,048
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#23
To fix your world of warcraft problem you will need to put in your shortcut Target a fix to make it run over 30FPS my m8 had the same issue. I cant remember the fix but u gotta put something like DX11 after the exe. (google it)

Have you thought about running bad company 2 in DX10 not 11? or do as i said above^ see if that fixes it.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,677 (0.59/day)
Likes
300
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 7800X 4.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Silverstone Tundra Lite
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 SC
Storage PNY M.2 480GB Crucial M500 WD Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
The problem is your monitor, you're using an HD5870 for a 1440x900 resolution, 19" I guess. Either get the fastest cpu on earth and overclock it or get yourself a 1200/1080 monitor.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
4,926 (1.52/day)
Likes
779
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire Cooler/2x140mm Fractal Design case fans/1x120mm Fractal Design case fan
Memory TeamGroup Vulcan 16GB DDR4 2400MHZ CAS-13
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD - Western Digital Black 500GB+Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 1080p 72Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply XFX Pro Semi Modular 650W
Mouse CMStorm Laser Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#25
Surely the resolution shouldn't matter? wouldn't it just run at super high performance at 1440x900?