• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Wanting Dual Monitors + Graphic Card Upgrade?

Jackehboy

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello all,
Did a quick search of " good computer forums" and this was my first choice :) SO I figured why not!

I have a few questions..
I have always wanted to do dual monitors at home. Currently I am running a single 20 or 22 inch wide... Love it but after being at work with 2 wider and bigger dual monitors it sucks coming home to this!

My pc was built in 09 off dell and basically upgraded to the max on their website.. .Which of course isnt that great now a days... I debate building my own custom pc all the time but I really dont have a use as I dont do much intense gaming..

The MOST I would want is Ultra on WoW with good FPS. If I could get that out of my PC right now it would be ideal...

So what I'm asking is.. What is my best option in terms of upgrading my graphic card to support dual monitors and or any other cheaper mods to increase my PC performance!?

Link to my specs from CPU-Z :)
http://valid.canardpc.com/sifmci
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#2
You picked well! Welcome!
What is your budget? we can spec out a whole computer or just a graphics card upgrade.
Also please try and fill out your system specs in full, so we can see all your current hardware. most importantly which Power Supply Unit (PSU) you have in your system.
If you want ultra any gtx760-R9 270x would suffice, even cheaper would be ok
 

Jackehboy

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Not really on a budget. If I can get ultra and dual monitors without buying a brand new pc I am perfectly ok with that ;) I dont want to spend TONS but im willing to spend some. Ummm Not sure on the PSU. I linked CPU-Z :( I thought that would be enough. Is there any other programs out there that can get my specs?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#4
You mentioned it's a dell, the issue is you may or may not have the correct connectors or sufficient wattage on your power supply to run a modern graphics card.
If you swap out your PSU and Graphics card you'll most likely to be able to do that no problems ;)
 

Jackehboy

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
Yeah Im more than willing to swap out a PSU :D Just looking for the best option for my money really.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#6
Wow is not the most intense game, but resolution does matter. These two monitors you plan on getting, what resolution would they be?
 

Jackehboy

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Well right now I just have the one that came with my PC which is like a 22 or 20 inch wide screen... Would be going with something similar for my next monitor too.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#8
We will assume your resolution is 1080p so you'll be doing 3840x1080.

that sounds like a job for atleast R9 270x to me.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
We will assume your resolution is 1080p so you'll be doing 3840x1080.

that sounds like a job for atleast R9 270x to me.
You don't usually play games across only two displays unless you're playing Supreme Commander 2, but I agree that a R9 270X might be a good starting point.

It's worth noting that WoW has traditionally typically been a CPU bound game. Just an FYI as I don't think this has changed.
 

Jackehboy

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
Yeah I wouldnt be playing Wow Cross screen.... would just be 1 screen, but im wanting ultra settings ;P
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#12
You don't usually play games across only two displays unless you're playing Supreme Commander 2, but I agree that a R9 270X might be a good starting point.

It's worth noting that WoW has traditionally typically been a CPU bound game. Just an FYI as I don't think this has changed.
Agreed Supcom was an amazing series!

Although CPU bound i'm sure a Quad core will cut it for his usage.

Consider a Giving us a link to your preferred e-tailer, so we can part you out an upgrade :)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
525 (0.29/day)
Likes
39
Processor i7 6900k @ 4.3GHZ
Motherboard MSI X99A Godlike Gaming Carbon
Cooling CPU/GPU loop with 480mm and 360mm radiators
Memory 32GB Corsair Dominator 3000MHz C15
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA 1080 SC ACX @ 1830/1330
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB, WD 2TB Black HDD
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold 80 plus PSU
Software Windows 10 Pro
#13
Hello all,
Did a quick search of " good computer forums" and this was my first choice :) SO I figured why not!

I have a few questions..
I have always wanted to do dual monitors at home. Currently I am running a single 20 or 22 inch wide... Love it but after being at work with 2 wider and bigger dual monitors it sucks coming home to this!

My pc was built in 09 off dell and basically upgraded to the max on their website.. .Which of course isnt that great now a days... I debate building my own custom pc all the time but I really dont have a use as I dont do much intense gaming..

The MOST I would want is Ultra on WoW with good FPS. If I could get that out of my PC right now it would be ideal...

So what I'm asking is.. What is my best option in terms of upgrading my graphic card to support dual monitors and or any other cheaper mods to increase my PC performance!?

Link to my specs from CPU-Z :)
http://valid.canardpc.com/sifmci
I play WoW A LOT, and having previously owned 2x 7970's, I wouldn't recommend going AMD if you're looking at playing wow for the most part. This does only come from personal experience though. You should also know that being such an old game, WoW will run fine with just about any out-dated system. Having said that though, scaling with higher end cards in WoW becomes a little sketchy. Nowadays, pretty much any modern card will support dual monitors, so no problems there. In terms of what card would be best for your needs; I would recommend maybe a 770 or 760, depending on your budget.

These two cards are not only super clocked, but with Evga's ACX cooling and Precision X, you could push them even further. The 770 would give you a lot of headroom if you're going to be playing other games, and it would also ensure good WoW performance well into the future.

One thing that you should know is that even with a high end GPU, the main bottleneck to your system when playing WoW is going to be your CPU as the game is more CPU intensive than anything else. For this reason, it probably isn't worth upgrading to a high end GPU if you're stuck with such an old processor.

As I mentioned, WoW is a very old game, and so core management is quite poor. If you were looking at CPU performance, you likely wouldn't get more than a few FPS difference if you were to compare say a 4960x @ 4.5Ghz to an i5 4670k at the same over clock. I should also note that upgrading to a SSD would massively reduce load times in the game; eg. Loading into and out of Arenas or BGs; I noticed this when I got a SSD.

For these reasons, if you were to upgrade your processor, to say an i5 4670k, your GPU to a 770 and maybe grab a SSD, you would most definitely be looking at a MASSIVE performance boost, with a pc easily capable of running WoW on ultra. It would also be worth looking at investing in an aftermarket CPU cooler and with such upgrades, you'd also be capable of some serious over clocking, allowing you to push your performance even further.

These upgrades are all very costly, but you can't exactly have one high end part and have the rest of your build be out-dated; you'll just bottleneck your system.

GTX760 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130949
GTX770 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130921
4670k - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116899
SSD (Samsung 840 Pro) - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147192 - I use this SSD and I would highly recommend it.

EDIT: I should also note that I was unable to run wow on ultra with my 7970 @1200/1650; I don't know if it's just me, or if AMD and wow really don't mix too well.