• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Water Cooling, Loop and power advice needed!

Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#1
Hey, as some of you may know I've been wanting to water cool my system for a while now, I'm finally ordering my parts bit by bit, but I have a loop in mind and a slight power problem in my mind that needs clearing up hehe!

Right, lets start with the loop, my idea for the loop is to go like this;

PUMP >> RADIATOR >> CPU BLOCK >> RADIATOR >> GPU BLOCK >> RADIATOR >> RESERVOIR >> PUMP

To make things clear there, I start with the pump Swiftech MCP655 12v DC Pump, from there I go to my first of three radiators Black Ice Xtreme III Triple 120mm Radiator into the CPU Block Copper TDX Block for Athlon64 754/939/940. From here I travel to the second of three radiators Black Ice Xtreme II Dual 120mm Radiator to the GPU Block Danger Den Acetal MAZE4 GPU. After exiting the GPU block we are then taken to the last of the three radiators Black Ice Xtreme 120mm Radiator then heading off finally to my reservoir D-TEK Bay-Reservoir- Dual 5 1/4"- Clear. Then as you gathered, we go back to the start with my pump!

Quite a long trip I know, but, it gets the water cooled quite efficiently doesn't it?

Other things that will be included with the loop rig, is a seperate tower case to hold my radiators, pump, etc... Hose Clamps (Jubilee clips), Tygon Tubing (1/2" ID and 11/16" OD), 6 Delta 120x38mm TFB1212GHE Extreme High Speed (220 CFM).

Now I'd like an opinion or two if not more on my loop idea ;)

As for the power problem, I am wondering if there is a program/application that tells you the current consumption of your PSU in your computer and how much is free to use, if not, would my single PSU in my system run my current computer setup AS WELL as the new water cooling loop I am going to implement in my system? If not, am I able to use a seperate PSU to run the water cooling on it's own supply and keep my current PSU in my system untouched by the water cooling setup? If in this case, would I need a motherboard to get the PSU working the water cooling loop or not? If not, would I need to mod the new PSU in some way to make it run the loop and if so how and what would I do to go about it?

I hope this is all good enough and enough information for you lot to evaluate and respond as I really want to know as much as possible while doing this, so I can benefit from the learning curve as I'm a rank newbie in water cooling :p

Thanks for your time, have a good day!

--Lee
 

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#2
First, in my opinion there's absolutely no need of three(oh my god)......radiators. You won't drop the temps much, just think for a second: you have a room temperature at about ~20-25'C the loop won't run cooler then 20'C even if you have 3 radiators. I won't mention the other factors. 3 radiators means lots of water in your loop......that doesn't mean necessary better perfomance. Third, the water cooling system is quite solution, if you hear 65.0 dBA fan x 6 at full speeds.....oh god, you'll need a separate room for your water sig. I have to say that one 3x120 extreme black ice is enough for an excellent water system(even if you use GPU and chipset water blocks).

Here's online PSU calculator that can tell you the current consumption of your components. You haven't mention what PSU do you have? Common water coolings(as yours) won't need second PSU to work. If you have second power supply you'll complicate all the system, now you'll have to think how to power on the 2 PSU's at the same time and turn them off. Why do you need second PSU when there're 220V pumps. ;)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
well the loop seems kinda long with that radiator in the middle but it shouldnt be a problem if your pump can push it through fast...but with your graphics card and that processor the radiator in the middle isnt a bad idea....you do have a good fan on each radiator right like a 120mm? as for the psu it should be fine the biggest problem would be the pump but i do beleive those plug into an outlet anyway not your psu soo actually tahts pretty good as long as your pump can push the water at a good rate through those radiators or else youll have slow/sitting water on those blocks=bad.....and as long as theirs a good fan on those radiators i dont see a problem with that set up.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
1,760 (0.40/day)
Likes
91
Location
Calverton, New York
System Name Current rig
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus Z710-Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S
Memory 32GB Ripjaws V 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 980 Ti Strix OC 6GB
Case rosewill L4412
Power Supply seasonic 1kw
#4
Israar said:
Hey, as some of you may know I've been wanting to water cool my system for a while now, I'm finally ordering my parts bit by bit, but I have a loop in mind and a slight power problem in my mind that needs clearing up hehe!

Right, lets start with the loop, my idea for the loop is to go like this;

PUMP >> RADIATOR >> CPU BLOCK >> RADIATOR >> GPU BLOCK >> RADIATOR >> RESERVOIR >> PUMP

To make things clear there, I start with the pump Swiftech MCP655 12v DC Pump, from there I go to my first of three radiators Black Ice Xtreme III Triple 120mm Radiator into the CPU Block Copper TDX Block for Athlon64 754/939/940. From here I travel to the second of three radiators Black Ice Xtreme II Dual 120mm Radiator to the GPU Block Danger Den Acetal MAZE4 GPU. After exiting the GPU block we are then taken to the last of the three radiators Black Ice Xtreme 120mm Radiator then heading off finally to my reservoir D-TEK Bay-Reservoir- Dual 5 1/4"- Clear. Then as you gathered, we go back to the start with my pump!

Quite a long trip I know, but, it gets the water cooled quite efficiently doesn't it?

Other things that will be included with the loop rig, is a seperate tower case to hold my radiators, pump, etc... Hose Clamps (Jubilee clips), Tygon Tubing (1/2" ID and 11/16" OD), 6 Delta 120x38mm TFB1212GHE Extreme High Speed (220 CFM).

Now I'd like an opinion or two if not more on my loop idea ;)

As for the power problem, I am wondering if there is a program/application that tells you the current consumption of your PSU in your computer and how much is free to use, if not, would my single PSU in my system run my current computer setup AS WELL as the new water cooling loop I am going to implement in my system? If not, am I able to use a seperate PSU to run the water cooling on it's own supply and keep my current PSU in my system untouched by the water cooling setup? If in this case, would I need a motherboard to get the PSU working the water cooling loop or not? If not, would I need to mod the new PSU in some way to make it run the loop and if so how and what would I do to go about it?

I hope this is all good enough and enough information for you lot to evaluate and respond as I really want to know as much as possible while doing this, so I can benefit from the learning curve as I'm a rank newbie in water cooling :p

Thanks for your time, have a good day!

--Lee
theres things called "in-line radiators" go get some
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#5
Cheers for the input, lol, I was thinking of three so that the overall temperatures don't rise too much for when it goes into the reservoir at the end, and my room temp is usually about 25-30C sometimes higher.

Also, checked that PSU consumption thing, and it said about 398W, I have a 525W Hyper Type-R, you can check my PSU in the system specs in my profile to the left :p

For the noise, it doesn't bother me... I can just null it out, easy really.

Was thinking about the second PSU, as you allowed me to have the link to check my consumption I doubt I'd need it, and I was basically asking about the 2nd PSU because I didn't know whether it would be better having a seperate PSU to run the water cooling itself 24/7 than have it ran off one in use, but doesn't matter :)

I know the specs of the MCP655 here:

Max Discharge: ~317 GPH (1200 LPH)
Connection Size: 1/2" Barbs
Max Pressure: 50 PSI (3.5 BAR)
Temps range: 32F to 140F (0C to 60C)
Impeller Housing material: Noryl (R) -- This is Nylon if I'm right.

So, you think it's powerful enough to pump it around the whole 3 radiators or not, as I am getting a price on the next two rads, more tubing, the pump and some more hose clamps, so if I REALLY don't need the two radiators then I may not order them and change the order, if not I'll not order the single and just order the double rad and have it after the CPU and GPU :)

--Lee
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#6
bikr692002 said:
theres things called "in-line radiators" go get some
???

The way I was thinking about it was to split the rads so it cools the overall flow, by rights it should keep the loop cooler having rads before and after the "hot spots" (CPU and GPU), rather than have in-line rads before the "hot-spots".

--Lee