• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Weird measurement values - who's at fault?

Pattu

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Messages
2 (0.05/day)
Graphics card is a an RX Vega 56. Default settings, except power limit is at -25% (whatever that translates to in real values according to AMD)

The card crashes on high load (black screen, graphics card seems to turn off, PC is running, but does not send any video signals anymore).
I let GPU-Z run while running a high demand game leading up to a crash and examined the data.

In particular:

* in the last 3 lines CPU clock goes unusually high (>1500MHz, which according to the specs is above the limit of 1471MHZ)
* GPU load goes from around 70 to 84%
* GPU Chip Power Draw jumps from around 80W (although it has some 100W spikes) to 145W (might be max?)
* GPU hot spot jumps from 70°C to 511°C (yes, five hundred eleven degrees celsius, not a typo)
* SOC VRM Temp shows no value (just -)
* VDDC goes negative, -0.0437V (???)

Now I'm not sure how to interpret this data.
Certainly the temperature and voltage do not represent the real world conditions.

Is there a chance that GPU-Z is at fault here? Maybe the logged values are generated while the card is crashing resulting in this?
Or can I be sure it receives this data from the sensors before the crash? I read there are some sensor bugs in the AMD drivers - may that be the cause here?
 

Attachments

  • GPU-Z_Sensor_Log.txt
    224.5 KB · Views: 19

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,984 (3.29/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
If it's not something obvious like a driver or some software corruption, then you might have a faulty card.

What's a "high load"? Are you overclocking it?
 

Pattu

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2021
Messages
2 (0.05/day)
> If it's not something obvious like a driver or some software corruption, then you might have a faulty card.

Well, yes. At this point I'm just trying to figure out whether it's the drivers, the card, or as some others with the same issue have suggested the PSU.

> What's a "high load"? Are you overclocking it?

No, I mean demanding games (in particular Monster Hunter World on highest settings).
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
911 (0.23/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Fill in all system specs, please!
Not clear - what CPU is used, what mobo, which kind of RAM and how much of it, what storage devices?
How many other internal or external devices?

If you can, try the same GPU in another, known to work PC with a better PSU.
Also, try another, known to work GPU on this PC.
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
24,514 (4.19/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Intel Comet Lake Core i5 10600K
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Artic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 280mm AIO + 4 Phantek 140mm case fans
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4133Mhz @ 17-17-17-32 2T 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER Windforce OC 8GB
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//SkHynix 120GB SSD//CrucialM4 64GB SSD
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) OnBoard Realtek ALC1200-VD1 @ 5.1 surround
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold 650w Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
As a test, try increasing power from your current -25% to say -15% and test again, peak gaming power draw according to this sites original review of the card when released showed around 235w so for some reason it may be struggling with the power limit now.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,935 (1.84/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
The CPU clock variation is normal.

It’s either too low power for the GPU frequency requested due to your low power setting, a faulty card, or a failing/underpowered power supply.

The incorrect values are probably corrupted values due to the system crash.

Try removing any overclock, return pier setting to normal and see if the issue persists.
 
Top