• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What monitor connection do you use?

What monitor connection do you use?

  • VGA

    Votes: 1,405 15.6%
  • DVI

    Votes: 5,055 56.0%
  • HDMI

    Votes: 1,892 21.0%
  • DisplayPort

    Votes: 594 6.6%
  • Other

    Votes: 78 0.9%

  • Total voters
    9,024
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,663 (1.27/day)
Likes
1,013
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#26
just find all the overscan and 'enhancements' and turn them off on both ends. its annoying, but 99% of the time you can just set all the crap to 'off' and it works a lot better.
I rarely encounter options like that. Most monitors I've used treat HDMI as something truly different than DVI, yet stop short of offering TV level tweaking options for dealing with it.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,820 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,587
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK | Logitech MK270
Software Win10 Pro CFU UK x64 | Win10 Home CFU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#27
on my LED monitor i use DVI it also got VGA but i only use that if what i need to test don't got DVI.

for my HDTV it's HDMI bcs no DVI and no old-schoolar VGA thx u.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.35/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#28
I rarely encounter options like that. Most monitors I've used treat HDMI as something truly different than DVI, yet stop short of offering TV level tweaking options for dealing with it.
mine has a setting specifically for HDMI, its called "AV mode" and it screws with overscan, making the screen extremely blurry. my HDTV has a 'game mode' and 'HTPC' mode, with both enabled it fixes all PC issues.


DVI of course 'just works'.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,303 (0.64/day)
Likes
999
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#29
Why can't we choose more than one option?...:shadedshu

Main rig

2x dvi
1x hdmi
1x mini display port to vga

Bedroom rig
1x hdmi
1x vga
 
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.14/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#30
Hdmi
 

..'Ant'..

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
294 (0.08/day)
Likes
163
Location
█♣█
System Name Anth's Old i7 Monster™
Processor i7 940 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6TD Deluxe
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems
Memory 12GB (6x2GB) G.Skill DDR3-1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB W/Accelero Twin Turbo II
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 128GB / 2 x Samsung F3 Spinpoint 1TB RAID 0 /WD VelociRaptor 150GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 40LE700UN LED 40" Widescreen @ [1920x1080] 1080p
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 2
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte 7.1 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#31
Using HDMI plugged to my HDTV.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,137 (1.32/day)
Likes
908
Processor 8700k Intel
Motherboard z370 MSI Godlike Gaming
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS Copper 840 with D5
Memory TridentZ RGB G.Skill C16 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Crucial MX SSDs
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Core P5 Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win10
#32
I am using Displayport and MiniDisplayport, love Dell for using this standard :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.93/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#33
DVI, I have tried every cable I can think of and dvi is just the way to go imo. Quality is there, not like there's much competition..lol.. HDMI is only useful if you want to run audio and video through it.. Same quality in picture from what I'm aware of.. It's just dvi+audio..

Funny thing is half the people who think they use HDMI are actually using dvi. I think there's a bit of confusion there..
The gpus now a days offer both hdmi and dvi out. hdmi is the big one, dvi is the little one.. If you run a hdmi to dvi converter though, you are still running dvi and get no audio from it.

Grats on the new monitor btw..
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,712 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,047
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
#34
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.13/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#35
mine has a setting specifically for HDMI, its called "AV mode" and it screws with overscan, making the screen extremely blurry. my HDTV has a 'game mode' and 'HTPC' mode, with both enabled it fixes all PC issues.


DVI of course 'just works'.
My monitor has that setting, but it does nothing and there is no HDMI port :laugh:
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
1,009 (0.44/day)
Likes
538
Location
Arcadia
System Name Xeon build /Main Rig
Processor Intel Xeon w3520 @ 4Ghz with HT /i7 4820k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe v2 socket 1366 / Asus P9X79 socket 2011
Cooling Thermalright Archon +Ty 140mm|Fans : 2 front-1top-1rear-1bottom/ Swiftech H140x
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600mhz Kingstone Hyper x Quad Channel / 16gb DDR3 2133MHZ Gskill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd 7950 3gb Boost edition dual fan X / XFX R9 Fury X
Storage Kingstone AV400ssd 120gb + Seagate B 2Tb + WD green 1tb + WD green 3tb + WD red 3tb + Seagate B 4tb
Display(s) Wasabi Mango UHD430 43" 4K @60hz with Freesync
Case Fractal Design Arc midi
Audio Device(s) SoundMaxHD+5.1 BHT1100 BLUESKY,Corsair Vengeance 1500 v2,Fiio E10 Olympus+SuperluxHD668b
Power Supply Thermaltake toughpower xt 775watt modular
Mouse Corsair M90
Keyboard Microsoft WK600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#36
Hdmi
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
759 (0.27/day)
Likes
154
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#37
I use DVI for PC most of the time and HDMI for PS3, at times when i dont use my PS3 i occasionally use the HDMI on my PC, so as i stated i mainly use DVI for my PC


Oh my Dell SX2210 has 3 inputs and (audio in and out for the HDMI sound) so it has HDMI, DVI & VGA

HDMI plugged to PS3

DVI plugged to PC

VGA plugged to no thing most of the time (Occasionally used)


Picture quality to all of the inputs are superb no thing to complain about, resolution run at max on all inputs 1920 x 1080, unless i specify otherwise but why would i run lower res anyway
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,919 (0.45/day)
Likes
437
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC ACX 2.0+
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#38
Dvi
 

mtosev

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
1,462 (0.31/day)
Likes
144
Location
Maribor, Slovenia
Processor Core i7 930
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6gb SuperTalent WB200UX6G8
Video Card(s) xfx radeon hd 5970 black edition
Storage Intel X25-M 80
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2209wa
Case Haf 932
Audio Device(s) Integreted sound card
Software w7
#39
DVI UltraSharp 2209wa
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,511 (3.92/day)
Likes
4,933
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#40
HDMI from system to AV to HDTV
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.35/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#41
DVI, I have tried every cable I can think of and dvi is just the way to go imo. Quality is there, not like there's much competition..lol.. HDMI is only useful if you want to run audio and video through it.. Same quality in picture from what I'm aware of.. It's just dvi+audio..

Funny thing is half the people who think they use HDMI are actually using dvi. I think there's a bit of confusion there..
The gpus now a days offer both hdmi and dvi out. hdmi is the big one, dvi is the little one.. If you run a hdmi to dvi converter though, you are still running dvi and get no audio from it.

Grats on the new monitor btw..
Ummm... DVI is the big one, HDMI is the small one.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,485 (0.55/day)
Likes
545
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#42
miniHDMI all the way for me - no annoying screw pins like DVI and VGA. I use miniHDMI to HDMI on all 3 of my ASUS VW266H and I have none of problems reported in this thread. I can only think of two reasons I have no problems: I am using NVIDIA cards whereas all the reported problems in this thread come from AMD cards, and the monitors have the correct EDID profiles.
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
336 (0.15/day)
Likes
115
Processor Intel i7 2600K@4.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Corsair H100 + Noiseblocker BlackSilent Pro PL-2 x2
Memory Geil Enchance Corsa 1600 16GB
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080ti Super JetStream 11GB
Storage Trandscend 370s 256GB / WD Caviar Black 2+1TB
Display(s) Acer XB270HU 144hz Gsync
Case Corsair Graphite 600T white
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZXR
Power Supply Seasonic 1000w Platinum
#43
Kinda have to use Display Port. See, I use a 120hz monitor with no dvi port, while hdmi is limited to an older standard. Besides, the only cable that comes with this monitor is DP.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,297 (9.35/day)
Likes
13,840
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#44
miniHDMI all the way for me - no annoying screw pins like DVI and VGA. I use miniHDMI to HDMI on all 3 of my ASUS VW266H and I have none of problems reported in this thread. I can only think of two reasons I have no problems: I am using NVIDIA cards whereas all the reported problems in this thread come from AMD cards, and the monitors have the correct EDID profiles.
HDMI tends to work well on monitors (except the one bug with AMD setting overscan to 15%, but that really is a 10 second fix), its with TV's that HDMI tends to go crap, if its not a big name brand.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,536 (6.19/day)
Likes
10,716
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#45
DVI+VGA. DVI for new computers and VGA for old. KVM manages it.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Independence Missouri
System Name Mainframe
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard GA-P67a-UD7
Cooling Zalman 9900 MAX
Memory 4x4GB G.Skill
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080ti
Storage 180GB Intel 520 SSD, 3TB Seagate, 12GB RAID Z NAS
Display(s) 50" Samsung 4K JS7000
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) X-FI Music
Power Supply CORSAIR TX 750W
Software Windows 10 64bit
#46
I picked HDMI, but with my 4 screens, 2xHDMI, 1xDVI, and 1xVGA.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,989 (5.31/day)
Likes
5,931
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#47
HDMI tends to work well on monitors (except the one bug with AMD setting overscan to 15%, but that really is a 10 second fix), its with TV's that HDMI tends to go crap, if its not a big name brand.
because of EDID Standards not being fully passed on not known names

3 Known Monitor companies before dell and apple became a player were

Samsung, View Sonic, NEC
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
714 (0.24/day)
Likes
405
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor Core i7 3930k
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X79 Tuf
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 360 CPU
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz C10
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2)
Display(s) LG 34UC98-W - 21:9/75hz
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z + Cambridge Audio + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
#48
DVI :)

i have bugs with resolution + low frps on HDMI ....

Example .... Prototype with HDMI lag + 100% gpu using and with DVI works perfect ~.~ 56% gpu use :D
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,120 (0.43/day)
Likes
1,077
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#49
Mini DP to DVI (via passive adapter) and DVI on my main system, DVI on the GF's system and DVI on my test rig.

Wish I had a display with native DP, but I guess that'll be the next one...

HDMI is a consumer electronics interface and should never have been used on computer displays imho...