• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why is Intel and AMD IHS nickel plated?

M

MiST91

Guest
#1
i'm considering lapping my Intel Core2Duo E6300 and i was thinking, why does the Intel and AMD (i think) intergrated heat spreader have a nickel plating on it? would it not be better if it didn't have any nikel on it and just be made of copper?
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#2
pure copper oxidizes much rapily than nickel
 
M

MiST91

Guest
#3
yeah, never thought of that, i guess thats why heat sinks never seem to come proffesionally mirror lapped, they always seem to look a little faded
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#4
I wish they just would stop using them, but that's a totally different story.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#5
Also, if someone were to use an aluminum heatsink on it, there would be galvanic action between the two. The nickel plating keeps this from happening.
 
M

MiST91

Guest
#6
i can't really understand why there used, i'm pretty sure your going to get better results not using any IHS, just pure contact of the die and heat sink, just like with the old pre-pentium4/Athlon64 processors.

the Core2Duo IHS cant really be removed can it?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#8
I wish they just would stop using them, but that's a totally different story.
Agreed, the reason usually given is lame too (that cores are too delicate), as someone who owned many athlon xp's and never cracked a die, as well as changed heatsinks on loads of graphics cards (the g80 is the only one ive owned that DID have a heatspreader) i think its stupid
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#9
M

MiST91

Guest
#11
i cracked one CPU die, and that was the first time i removed the heat sink from anything (i was about 12 or somthing) but i learned from my mistake and wont ever do it again.

I think the reason they are putting IHS on everything is because computer components are now aimed at people who havn't got a clue when it comes to computer systems as well as system builders (makes em' more money) and when some one who doesn't really know what there doing when it comes to upgrading there computer decides they want a a new processor or somthing, they can do it there self without cracking the die, or breaking there motherboard (intel pushpins, rather than clips)
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.81/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#12
In the old days it didn't matter so much as people weren't swapping out their stock coolers for aftermarket ones. As overclocking became more and more common, Intel and others received more and more RMA CPU's. Someone started noticing small cracks & chips around the corners and the IHS was added to prevent this. It's not about performance, but about the ability to protect their product and avoid returns. That's what any manufacturer does.

Personally, I have never cracked a CPU core. I had a Thermalright HR-05-SLI on my DFI NF4 Ultra-D that slowly ground down the corners on the NB, but that may have been from swapping out hardware all the time. Still worked great though ;)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
As changing computer components became more mainstream the companies needed a way to protect the core, the IHS was the solution. Unfortunately, to many inexperienced people started swapping out parts, because it has become so easy to buy a replacement CPU these days, and us experienced enthusiasts have to suffer because of it.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
I've cracked...2 (i think) Athlon XPs, but then the mounting mechanism sucks HARD on socket A. If it was the way the AM2 does it it would be much better and with less chance of cracking the die.
 

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785 (0.72/day)
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#15
I've pulled the IHS on my P4... no problems! :D

I nearly cracked the chip while doing it :eek:
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,325 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,426
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#16
i'm considering lapping my Intel Core2Duo E6300 and i was thinking, why does the Intel and AMD (i think) intergrated heat spreader have a nickel plating on it? would it not be better if it didn't have any nikel on it and just be made of copper?
It's because when copper is exposed to air, a layer of gangue (think of it as an oxide layer) is formed. This greatly affects heat transfer. Hence, they add a nickel layer. The nickel layer is sufficiently thin to protect the copper and isn't thick enough to come in the way of efficient transfer. When lapping, you shave off this layer. It's easy to etch on this layer, hence the company markings (model / serial number / blah ^ blah ) is etched onto it.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
#17
I've got both socket A and AM2 at home right now, the only difference is the little lever thing. Still seems like the same amount of pressure. I don't use Intel, but their 4 push-pins seems like a better way of doing things. AM2 is an improvement though, as I no longer have to use a screwdriver if I wanted to change CPU's.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
I've got both socket A and AM2 at home right now, the only difference is the little lever thing. Still seems like the same amount of pressure. I don't use Intel, but their 4 push-pins seems like a better way of doing things. AM2 is an improvement though, as I no longer have to use a screwdriver if I wanted to change CPU's.
AM2 is a huge improvemnt. Using a cage around the CPU socket, to attach the heatsink to is much better than using the socket itself. Get socket A heatsinks on wasn't really that hard, getting them off was a pain in the ass.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#19
Porcelain with a aluminum cap, or just porcelain. The olden days.




I chipped the edges of my nfarce with one of the Thermalright SLI coolers too. Freaked me out. Are the 3800+ X2 soldered or glued?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#20
AM2 is a huge improvemnt. Using a cage around the CPU socket, to attach the heatsink to is much better than using the socket itself. Get socket A heatsinks on wasn't really that hard, getting them off was a pain in the ass.
Stabbing the motherboard if you slipped.



Intel push pins are a pain, more trouble than they are worth. I have seen two boards cracked by trying to insert them. And the outer plastic seems to have a memory and after a short while of being in deosn't want to collapse together enough to reinsert easily.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
Intel push pins are a pain, more trouble than they are worth. I have seen two boards cracked by trying to insert them. And the outer plastic seems to have a memory and after a short while of being in deosn't want to collapse together enough to reinsert easily.
I'm not a fan of the push pin design. I don't like the fact that the pressure is generated from bending the motherboard. Thats why all my personal machines use aftermarket coolers with bolt-through designs.

It is sad the mounting system is so poorly designed, the coolers are actually pretty decent for stock. Well the higher end ones are, the crappy heatsinks they send with the Celerons suck monkey butt.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#22
I'm not a fan of the push pin design. I don't like the fact that the pressure is generated from bending the motherboard. Thats why all my personal machines use aftermarket coolers with bolt-through designs.

It is sad the mounting system is so poorly designed, the coolers are actually pretty decent for stock. Well the higher end ones are, the crappy heatsinks they send with the Celerons suck monkey butt.
I hate the push-pins with a passion, that's why I'm waiting for the bolt-thru kit to come back in stock so I can grab one and replace the push-pins on my Infinity.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
#23
I retract my statement about the push-pins.

May they burn in hell.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#24
Amen.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2006
Messages
174 (0.04/day)
Likes
16
Location
Ensenada, Mexico
Processor Athlon X2 3800 @ 2.8 Ghz w/Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F
Cooling Fans: 2 120mm, 1 80mm, HD cooler all w/Tt fan controller
Memory Mushkin blue series DDR400 @ DDR466
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD4850 512 Mb w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage WD SATA 320 Gb / Hitachi Deskstar 82 Gb
Display(s) KDS 19" Widescreen LCD
Case RAIDMAX SAGITTA Modded to Red lighting
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 600 Watts ZM600-HP
Software Win XP, Vista32, Ubuntu
#25
K6-2

I remember owning K6 & K6-2 processors with aluminum IHS along with aluminun heatsinks (no thermal paste whatsoever) and never noticed galvanic corrosion... maybe it needs more heat for it to happen?:ohwell: