• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why is my wifi slow?

Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#1
I'm just wondering why my wifi connection has slowed down all of a sudden?

My internet is 100-110Mb/ps and I could get a fast connection over wifi. 7-9MB ps



But now, I can barely get over 1Mb per second. Everything seems fine though.

 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
298 (0.16/day)
Likes
111
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#2
Look around you are there other wifi networks around you? are there using the same channel as your router? try changing to an not so crowded channel.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#3
Look around you are there other wifi networks around you? are there using the same channel as your router? try changing to an not so crowded channel.
There is around 9 that I can connect to.

They're all using 802.11n and 802.11g. I'm using 802.11n
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
298 (0.16/day)
Likes
111
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#4
There is around 9 that I can connect to.

They're all using 802.11n and 802.11g. I'm using 802.11n
Crowded look which channels are populated the most.

If you have a mobile phone you can use an app called Wifi Analyzer it list you all networks and channels otherwise your router does that as well in the config menu.

If all of those option are not available for you try changing the channel randomly in your router wifi setup
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
What router and nic you using? and did you try restarting your router?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#6
What router and nic you using? and did you try restarting your router?
I have a Netgear N600. Restarting the modem does fix this, but the problem comes back within a couple of days.

And the NIC in my laptop is an Atheros AR5BWB222.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
304 (0.12/day)
Likes
96
Location
St. Louis, MO
System Name Alienware 17R4
Processor Intel Core i7-6820HK @ 3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Alienware 17R4
Cooling Laptop Cooling
Memory 32GB Crucial Ballistix LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 1070 GTX (Internal)/ASUS Geforce GTX 1080 Ti (in AMP)
Storage 500GB RD400 RevoDrive m2/ 1TB Cruical BX200
Display(s) ASUS Swift PG279
Case Alienware 17R4
Audio Device(s) Sennhesier GSX1000
Power Supply 330W Dell PSU
Mouse Razer Mamba TE Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
#7
Did you restart the modem or the router???? If you are in fact restarting the router and need to do it every couple of days, I would look at this being a router issue. See if there is a newer firmware available.

Typically this eludes to the fact the radio in the router is either:

- Getting interference from the other networks around you, thus signal distortion occurs/lower transmission power to clear itself.
- Radio is flat out dying on you.

I would test your WLAN at another location and see what it does if applicable.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,823 (3.62/day)
Likes
8,962
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#8
If You have Administrators access to the Router, then Go into the Config, and create a QOS policy if it is NOT already in place, and IF your router offers the option.


Also maybe running a Test on a site like speedtest.net, or a more realistic one like testmy.net
Testmy, gives the option to change Packet size, for a More realistic result.

Just to provide a more definitive result. just a suggestion is all.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
If changing the channel doesnt work then get a dual band N USB nic and use the 5 G
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,602
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#10
I notice your link speed is only 144Mbps but N goes up to 300 for most adapters Is there an option in your NETGEAR's router config menu to change the channel width to 40Mhz instead of being on "auto" or 20Mhz?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.20/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#11

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#12
Do you live around Mussels? i bet he is stealing your WiFi