• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will this be a good system, casual gamer mostly play total war games just an upgrade

Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
this is the system i am planning on getting its worth $699:

Core Hardware:
Processor: Intel i5 3330

Chipset: Intel B7M

Memory: 8GB DDR3 RAM


Internal Hardware:
Storage: 1TB SATA
Optical: DVD Burner
Graphics: AMD 7770 OC 1GB

LED Lights: Blue LED Strip

Case Description:
Case: ATX Tower
Power Supply: Included

Software:
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Prem

and this is my old system

Processor: 2.2Ghz core 2 duo
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-945GCM-S2L LGA 775
Memory: 3.5 gb
Video Card: Amd Radeon 6670
Hard Disk: 250Gb
Optical Drive: Asus QuieTrack
CRT/LCD Model: Acer P191W
PSU: 500w
Software: Windows XP 32 bit

not a hardcore gamer but mostly play total war games would like to play on high settings just a good upgrade from my old computer as i really need one pls reply or comment.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.39/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
move to the highest intel chipset available
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
well is the system their pretty good?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (4.01/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Definitely better than your old system. Total War is EXTREMELY CPU intensive, so if that is your focus, CPU is the best option to max out as much as you can, but try not to gimp yourself too much if you want to play other games too, as most of them will demand a better GPU.
Is this a prebuilt on a website or are these individually selected parts? $699 seems too neat to me.
Build it yourself.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
its a prebuilt system, i am thinking of adding a 128Gb ssd drive into it as well. Also i just need to know the chipset which i think is B75m would i be able to upgrade to a more powerful i5 cpu for e.g. 3470 or 3570k? and also gpu if i wanted to upgrade it eventually. but is 699 good for that build.? maybe i could also upgrade it to a z77 chipsset.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,134 (2.13/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
I would check what the PSU is that comes with that system though.

Case: ATX Tower
Power Supply: Included<----does not sound too promising to me.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,154 (1.18/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
I would check what the PSU is that comes with that system though.

Case: ATX Tower
Power Supply: Included<----does not sound too promising to me.
+1
better invest in good quality psu and save from case.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
yeh i am going to ask them a couple of questions like psu, if its dual stick ram like 2x4gb not 1 8gb stick and also if its windows 7 64bit. but the gpu is good isn't it and if i wanted to upgrade later i could. also the cpu is good enough and if i wanted to upgrade later i could?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,247 (3.09/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
yeh i am going to ask them a couple of questions like psu, if its dual stick ram like 2x4gb not 1 8gb stick and also if its windows 7 64bit. but the gpu is good isn't it and if i wanted to upgrade later i could. also the cpu is good enough and if i wanted to upgrade later i could?
Yes and yes.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2013
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Gladiator
Processor i7 7700k (Kaby Lake) 4.2-4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270m-D3H
Cooling Exhaust fan: Noctua NF-P12 PWM - CPU: Coolermaster Hyper H114R
Memory Kingston Hyper-X Fury 16GB DDR4 @3200mhz
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) Philips 22" @1080p
Case A case
Audio Device(s) Logitech 5.1 Stereo
Power Supply Antec VPF550w
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech G213
Software Windows 10 64bit
ok so yes i could upgrade the cpu later if i needed one like a i5 3450 or 3570k. The chipset or motherboard in it would allow me to do that? so yes i would be able to upgrade the gpu as well later if i needed an upgrade. so the build that i posted is alright. i am also thinking of getting them to put in a 128 gb corsair ssd drive as well if thats ok?
 
Top