• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

winblows 10 questions

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I will be building a Ryzen 5000 series CPU or APU based system for someone.

I was wondering if there are any regedit/gpedit.msc tweaks to make 10 function fully like W7 on its UI (True Full Control Panel access without "settings") and a GUI appearance changer that doesn't require an additional service.

It be nice to make it fully appear and function like W7 Full Aero or XP Royal Blue Theme (Energy Bliss).

I have a script that has disabled auto updates on a notebook that only had a 32gb ssd in it (potato zenbook).

I've heard that APUs don't work on 7 but I do have a XFX R7 250X.


I would rather use 7 myself.
Also I have B550 w7 drivers link
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,220 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I use and recommend Start10. Yeah, its not free but a one-time $5 for a lifetime license is well worth it. It has a 30 free trial period and, should you decide to not use it, it totally uninstalls without a fuss.

Classic Shell is no more. It went away years ago. The developer of Classic Shell decided to cease development way back in December 2017 because it was too much of a challenge and too time consuming to keep it current and compatible with the ever evolving Windows 10. See: Classic Shell no longer in development and has been taken over by Open-Shell.

I like OpenShell - but I like Start10 better.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I use and recommend Start10. Yeah, its not free but a one-time $5 for a lifetime license is well worth it. It has a 30 free trial period and, should you decide to not use it, it totally uninstalls without a fuss.

Classic Shell is no more. It went away years ago. The developer of Classic Shell decided to cease development way back in December 2017 because it was too much of a challenge and too time consuming to keep it current and compatible with the ever evolving Windows 10. See: Classic Shell no longer in development and has been taken over by Open-Shell.

I like OpenShell - but I like Start10 better.
Bill do you know if Start 10 puts a TSR in (im a stickler when it comes to those)

@Bill_Bright
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
793 (7.48/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,220 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
If you mean terminate and stay resident, then I would say no - because it does not terminate. It supplants the default start menu so it is running full time. But in looking in Task Manager, I see two processes consuming a mere 800 Kilobytes total. They don't even register any CPU resources.

Again, it has a 30 day free, fully functional (not crippled) trial period and is a piece of cake to fully uninstall if you don't like it. So what's there to lose for giving it a go?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
If you mean terminate and stay resident, then I would say no - because it does not terminate. It supplants the default start menu so it is running full time. But in looking in Task Manager, I see two processes consuming a mere 800 Kilobytes total. They don't even register any CPU resources.

Again, it has a 30 day free, fully functional (not crippled) trial period and is a piece of cake to fully uninstall if you don't like it. So what's there to lose for giving it a go?
Glad you recall that considering the TSR today is the "service" lol.
Basically i was looking for something that would not pull additional resources over Explorer.exe. i just recall gui/theme builds for 98SE, 2000, XP, 7...

So what about Restoring the Full Control panrl and tossing Settings?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,220 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
The default is to display "Settings" as a link in Start10's menu. But it gives you the option to not display it.

Control Panel is totally different. The applets in Control Panel have nothing to do with the Start menu regardless if using the W10 default start menu, or Start10.

You can certainly access the Control Panel from within Start10 - just as you can Settings if you have that displayed as a link. But as for the Control Panel applets that are in CP, that's totally up to Microsoft, not a Start menu.

I note, however, that Winaero Tweaker seems to let you restore some of the removed applets. But considering one of Microsoft's long-time stated goals (since W8) is to get rid of the Control Panel completely, pretty sure you will not be totally satisfied with that.
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
329 (0.58/day)
I have built an APU box (ricer3 2200G) for someone almost 2 years ago; I reused his WinNTx64 6.1 install (he didn't want to reinstall) and I ended up having to put my GTX 970 in it because of Adios My Dineros doesn't do win7 driver for ricers. Other than that, it works flawlessly to date.

Le me add - there is absobrutely no way of getting the we've-finally-fixed-it-all-windows (10) to look like XP or "7" without much effort and even then you're bound to break something.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
746 (2.18/day)
System Name BirthdayBuild
Processor i5-4690K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-A Motherboard
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx 400v2 Tower CPU Cooler
Memory 32GB: 2x8GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz 9-9-9-24, 2x8GB Kingston HX318C10F/8 1866MHz 10-11-10-30
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 3060Ti Founder's Edition
Storage 500GB 970 Evo Plus NVMe, 120GB 750 Evo, 2x500GB HDDs
Display(s) Dell S2240L Full HD IPS Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide Series 500R White
Audio Device(s) Levi's Bluetooth Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic X-650 Gold PSU (SS-650KM3)
Mouse Logitech Wired Mouse
Keyboard Dell KB213 Wired Keyboard
Software Windows 7 x64
I use and recommend Start10.
Stardock? Isn't that the company that made the popular Entrepreneur business simulator?
I had no idea they were still around.

I would rather use 7 myself.
Also I have B550 w7 drivers link
As great as this is(and I'm a fan of W7) a lot of software I am going to use requires Windows 10(even though I AM looking to get a B550 motherboard myself).
So yeah, time to move on :(
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,559 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
I had no idea they were still around.
I think they are famous for GalCiv 2 (for Windows), Start10, well more than Entreprenuer. That's practically an unknown vs those, that game goes back to their OS/2 roots.

Foe the taskbar question, there is also the .net based RetroBar.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,220 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Yeah, same company. They started out building apps for OS/2 then migrated to Windows when it became apparent OS/2 wasn't going to make it.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
252 (0.25/day)
Location
Texas
Processor AMD R9 5900x
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling corsair h115i hydro series 280mm
Memory corsair vengeance rgb pro 32gb
Video Card(s) ? wife want tell me till christmas
Storage 4 ssd 2 hdd
Display(s) 40" samsung
Case Corsair icue 220t rgb
Power Supply corsair RM850 modular
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software w10
+1 for start 10
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,245 (7.69/day)
Processor Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard MSI x570s Carbon Max WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070 Ti Trinity OC Watercooled
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius DAC, SMSL SP200 amp, Fosi Tube Pre-Amp.
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Logitech Pro Wireless
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
My Windows 10 is stock and works mostly like 7. I just uninstall everything from the "start" menu I don't use. Go to: right click desktop, personalize, themes, change desktop icon settings to get "My Computer", Control Panel and personal folder back on the desktop. Turn off things in the taskbar like Cortana, search box, etc.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
My Windows 10 is stock and works mostly like 7. I just uninstall everything from the "start" menu I don't use. Go to: right click desktop, personalize, themes, change desktop icon settings to get "My Computer", Control Panel and personal folder back on the desktop. Turn off things in the taskbar like Cortana, search box, etc.
I know about most of that but to get rid of Settings and Replace it with the Control Panel is another Stoty. Iirc search box was in the start menu since Vista.

Stardock? Isn't that the company that made the popular Entrepreneur business simulator?
I had no idea they were still around.


As great as this is(and I'm a fan of W7) a lot of software I am going to use requires Windows 10(even though I AM looking to get a B550 motherboard myself).
So yeah, time to move on :(
Iirc Stardock was around for W95 or W98

The default is to display "Settings" as a link in Start10's menu. But it gives you the option to not display it.

Control Panel is totally different. The applets in Control Panel have nothing to do with the Start menu regardless if using the W10 default start menu, or Start10.

You can certainly access the Control Panel from within Start10 - just as you can Settings if you have that displayed as a link. But as for the Control Panel applets that are in CP, that's totally up to Microsoft, not a Start menu.

I note, however, that Winaero Tweaker seems to let you restore some of the removed applets. But considering one of Microsoft's long-time stated goals (since W8) is to get rid of the Control Panel completely, pretty sure you will not be totally satisfied with that.
I wonder why MS thought it was such a good idea to do away the Control Panel when it has worked perfectly Since NT 3.11...

I used 10 from 2019 to 2021 and it's clunky as hell.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
746 (2.18/day)
System Name BirthdayBuild
Processor i5-4690K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-A Motherboard
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx 400v2 Tower CPU Cooler
Memory 32GB: 2x8GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz 9-9-9-24, 2x8GB Kingston HX318C10F/8 1866MHz 10-11-10-30
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 3060Ti Founder's Edition
Storage 500GB 970 Evo Plus NVMe, 120GB 750 Evo, 2x500GB HDDs
Display(s) Dell S2240L Full HD IPS Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide Series 500R White
Audio Device(s) Levi's Bluetooth Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic X-650 Gold PSU (SS-650KM3)
Mouse Logitech Wired Mouse
Keyboard Dell KB213 Wired Keyboard
Software Windows 7 x64
I wonder why MS thought it was such a good idea to do away the Control Panel when it has worked perfectly Since NT 3.11...
Some braindead marketing guy must've thought it was a good idea to "integrate" tablet and desktop UIs.
I can't really do justice here to how much I hate that ever since it reared its ugly head in Win8.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,220 (1.64/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
They have not done away with it - it is still in W11. They just want to move everyone to the Settings menu systems and move away from things that have been around since NT 3.11.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,894 (3.30/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
@eidairaman1 W10 still has the full control panel from W7. Whether the Settings app has some options not in CP, I don't know.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
They have not done away with it - it is still in W11. They just want to move everyone to the Settings menu systems and move away from things that have been around since NT 3.11.
That menu is clunky and inefficient.

I wonder if LTSC/B would be better overall

@eidairaman1 W10 still has the full control panel from W7. Whether the Settings app has some options not in CP, I don't know.
Yeah I saw it but there are things that were in control panel that were moved to "settings"
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,324 (4.83/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I know about most of that but to get rid of Settings and Replace it with the Control Panel is another Stoty.
Why? Just use Settings, it's not terrible. And there is no way to totally get rid of it as there are options in there that never existed in the old school Control Panel.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,245 (7.69/day)
Processor Ryzen 5900x
Motherboard MSI x570s Carbon Max WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070 Ti Trinity OC Watercooled
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius DAC, SMSL SP200 amp, Fosi Tube Pre-Amp.
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Logitech Pro Wireless
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
get rid of Settings and Replace it with the Control Panel is another Stoty

It's basically the same Control Panel that's been there since XP. Everything can be done through there.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Why? Just use Settings, it's not terrible. And there is no way to totally get rid of it as there are options in there that never existed in the old school Control Panel.
Ok its not me using the sysytem but someone migrating from a 2003/4 478 Dell Optiplex with XP.

Ive used Settings on a potato zenbook, very clunky and inefficient menu system...

get rid of Settings and Replace it with the Control Panel is another Stoty

It's basically the same Control Panel that's been there since XP. Everything can be done through there.
Considering control panel was around NT 3.11, ive seen somethings migrated from the control panel to settings which makes no sense at all.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
3,329 (5.06/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
If willing to pop for 5.us for start menu/... use startallback and gert win-11 it is less bloated reg files to kill show more are all over the place plus as regs for 10 also work but 10 I wouldn't mess with now

But if 10 is really what you want

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi,
If willing to pop for 5.us for start menu/... use startallback and gert win-11 it is less bloated reg files to kill show more are all over the place plus as regs for 10 also work but 10 I wouldn't mess with now

But if 10 is really what you want

Well W11 is still buggy as is especially with performance.

Hi,
If willing to pop for 5.us for start menu/... use startallback and gert win-11 it is less bloated reg files to kill show more are all over the place plus as regs for 10 also work but 10 I wouldn't mess with now

But if 10 is really what you want

I wonder if there is a way to restore Aero Glass fully
 
Top