• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 commands/shortcuts/env. var.

Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (0.76/day)
Likes
244
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#26
Wrong quote, lol.. this is a batch for One Drive:

@Echo off
cls

set x86="%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\OneDriveSetup.exe"
set x64="%SYSTEMROOT%\SysWOW64\OneDriveSetup.exe"

echo Closing OneDrive process.
echo.
taskkill /f /im OneDrive.exe > NUL 2>&1
ping 127.0.0.1 -n 5 > NUL 2>&1

echo Uninstalling OneDrive.
echo.
if exist %x64% (
%x64% /uninstall
) else (
%x86% /uninstall
)
ping 127.0.0.1 -n 5 > NUL 2>&1

echo Removing OneDrive leftovers.
echo.
rd "%USERPROFILE%\OneDrive" /Q /S > NUL 2>&1
rd "C:\OneDriveTemp" /Q /S > NUL 2>&1
rd "%LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\OneDrive" /Q /S > NUL 2>&1
rd "%PROGRAMDATA%\Microsoft OneDrive" /Q /S > NUL 2>&1

echo Removing OneDrive from the Explorer Side Panel.
echo.
REG DELETE "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{018D5C66-4533-4307-9B53-224DE2ED1FE6}" /f > NUL 2>&1
REG DELETE "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\CLSID\{018D5C66-4533-4307-9B53-224DE2ED1FE6}" /f > NUL 2>&1

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


And to remove Skype entirely, after uninstalling it normally, run Powershell with admin rights and type:

Get-AppxPackage *Microsoft.SkypeApp* | Remove-AppxPackage

Then type:

dism /online /Get-ProvisionedAppxPackages

Find and copy the SkypeApp.* from the list, then type:

dism /online /Remove-ProvisionedAppxPackage /PackageName:

Paste copied text right after "PackageName:", no spaces

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Warning: Removing packages (such as Skype) can cause sysprep issues, i'm fine with it but you may not be. In my case, this only affects me in my being unable to do Windows Updates, which i never do anyway; instead, i do a clean install every oh so many months. I must also learn how to post like a normal person, 'cause i've done like 10 edits since i first posted this :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,188 (4.01/day)
Likes
11,460
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
#27
I've uninstalled skype and it's gone completely. It won't appear even when I install a new build
Yeah I removed it too but I have seen the process running in task manager from time to time
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
871 (0.35/day)
Likes
701
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.8GHz, 1.35V
Motherboard Asus Z97M Plus
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 2400MHz, CL11, 2x8GB, DDR3 1,65V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, Samsung 960 PRO 1TB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II / Logitech Z333 + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Ubuntu Mate 17.10
#28
Now if that'd work for OneDrive... :D
I think they have fixed it. I was able to uninstall OneDrive just by right clicking on it and then uninstall. No PowerShell, no CMD or any other kind of hacking.

Clean W10 install, latest ISO downloaded today, all updates applied.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (0.76/day)
Likes
244
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#29
I think they have fixed it. I was able to uninstall OneDrive just by right clicking on it and then uninstall. No PowerShell, no CMD or any other kind of hacking
You can now yes, but the above is faster and leaves no registry traces behind. Uninstalling does and unless you're on a custom mode, no reg cleaner out there will delete miscrosoft entries :)
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,188 (4.01/day)
Likes
11,460
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
#31
this is a batch for One Drive:
Is all that text meant to be copied and then entered into powershell? For one drive I mean.

I used the Skype one and it seems to have worked thank you for that
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (0.76/day)
Likes
244
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#32
Is all that text meant to be
My apologies, it's just a batch. Save it with notepad/n++, rename -> change extension from .txt. to .bat and double click :)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,318 (2.06/day)
Likes
7,564
#33
A couple of key combinations I've never heard of

After minimizing all windows with Win+D you can restore them with Win+D or with Win+Shift+M
Win+Ctrl+F Find Computer
Win+Shift+S lets you select and save a rectangular piece of the screen so you can paste it in any image editor
Win + A - Action Center
Win + B - Set focus in the notification area


Win+Shift+S is really awesome. Goodbye print screen
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,698 (0.33/day)
Likes
626
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI
Cooling Hydro H110i V2
Memory 2 x 8 GB HX429C15PB3A
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 M2 500 GB|860 EVO 1 TB|Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Z
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse Kana
Keyboard Drevo BladeMaster TE
#34
Windows activation = slmgr /ATO
 
Likes: Drone

Ahhzz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,954 (1.24/day)
Likes
4,556
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit
#35
How to fix Windows 10 removing the control panel from your Power Menu. Credit to PC World for the directions.

Bring up the "Run" Prompt: Windows key + R. Enter or paste %LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\Windows\WinX\Group2, and hit Enter.
Move the existing Control Panel icon to a separate folder on your desktop, "just in case".
Download the attached shortcut provided from Deskmodder.de
Extract the Control Panel icon and place it in the Winx folder.
Restart your computer, or right-click and restart the Windows Explorer process in Task Manager. (ctrl-shift-esc, scroll down the processes tab, and right click "Windows Explorer", restart. If you don't see the processes tab, click More Details).

Windows key + X or right click the windows icon for the start menu.
Profit.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,318 (2.06/day)
Likes
7,564
#36
Fix Slow-Loading Windows Icons by Increasing the Icon Cache in Windows 10

winver -> regedit -> enter -> alt+d -> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer -> enter

Right-click the Explorer folder and select New > String Value. Name the new value Max Cached Icons.

Double click Max Cached Icons to open the Edit String window. In the “Value data” box, enter a new value for the icon cache size. By default, the icon cache size is 500 KB. 4096 (4 MB) or 8192 (8 MB) is sufficient. Click OK when you're done. Reboot.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2017
Messages
324 (0.43/day)
Likes
716
Location
Ohio
System Name Penny the Cruncher/Wilson The Cruncher/The Gaming PC/Crunchy the Cruncher
Processor 2x Xeon x5550@2.66Ghz/ i7 3770@3.5Ghz/ i7 3770K@3.5Ghz/2x Xeon x5675@ 3.06Ghz
Memory 32 GB DDR3/ 16GB DDR3/ 16GB DDR3/20GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Onboard/ Onboard/ NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980/Onboard
Storage 6x 10k SAS 72GB/ 500GB Standard HDD/ 512 GB M.2/3x 10k SAS 72GB
Case Dell PowerEdge r610 Chassis/Dell Vostro Chassis/ NZXT Case/Dell PowerEdge R610 Chassis
Power Supply All I know is that they all use too much juice!
Software VMware Cluster on Servers
#37
I hate how wuapp is gone for windows update in 10. That is muscle memory for updating PC's at work. Grrr
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,188 (4.01/day)
Likes
11,460
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
#38
My apologies, it's just a batch. Save it with notepad/n++, rename -> change extension from .txt. to .bat and double click
thank You, it worked great, thanks for your work.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,318 (2.06/day)
Likes
7,564
#39
'New' command (added to the OP)

wmic diskdrive get model,status - checks the S.M.A.R.T. status of the drives and shows the model.
It returns Pred Fail if your drive is near death and OK if everything's ok.

 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
272 (0.61/day)
Likes
158
Location
Canada, Quebec
System Name My last laptop (burned)
Processor Intel i7-6700HQ
Motherboard Eurocom Shark 5
Memory 16GB DDR3L-2133 CL11 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) GTX 960M 2GB
Storage 1x 250GB M.2 Samsung 860 EVO
Display(s) 15.6" IPS Color Calibrated
Audio Device(s) Kingston HyperX Cloud 2
Mouse Kensington Pro-Fit
#40
wmic product where "name like '%name of software%'" call uninstall
wmic product where "vendor like '%vendor of software%" call uninstall

usefull if you want to uninstall something fast when in a non-admin user. You can put /nointeractive if you don't want to confirm the uninstallation.
NOTE THAT IF THE PC HAS TOO REBOOT, IT WILL REBOOT WITHOUT ASKING

Example ;
wmic product where "vendor like '%Autodesk%'" call uninstall /nointeractive
1528228164827.png


will bulk uninstall all autodesk software.

You can create it as a script to uninstall things remotely too but the AV often block the script unfortunately.

---------------------------

arp -a
will show you the MAC Address of known devices in the same subnet. If you want to know a MAC fast, change IP to fit the subnet, ping the desired computer and type arp -a
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,318 (2.06/day)
Likes
7,564
#41
Just forgot about this fact:

In Microsoft Windows, you can't create folders that have their name from one of these words:

CON, PRN, AUX, NUL, COM0, COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, COM5, COM6, COM7, COM8, COM9, LPT0, LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4, LPT5, LPT6, LPT7, LPT8, LPT9.


If you try you'll get this error

 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (6.49/day)
Likes
197
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
#43
shell:startup command will open your startup folder in file explorer
shell:appsfolder will open a folder which shows all your installed apps
 
Top