• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 11 ISO Leaks to the Web, New Start Screen, Mac-like Centered Dock, Rounded Edges

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,837 (6.25/day)
Location
USA
thats cause boards support a plug in TPM module as well as the firmware/mobo one
That's not exactly how TPM works. Either a board has it, or it doesn't. For boards that do, there are modules that can be customized and used, but there is no way to give a board TPM if it was not built with support for it.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,677 (0.45/day)
Location
Somewhere Over There!
System Name Gen2
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair Viii Hero Wifi
Cooling Lian Li 360 Galahad
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 64gb @ 3600 Mhz CL14-13-13-24 1T @ 1.45V
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 6900 XT Nitro+
Storage Seagate 520 1TB + Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB + lots of HDD's
Display(s) Samsung Odyssey G7
Case Lian Li PC-O11D XL White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex SE Platinum 1000W
Mouse Xenics Titan GX Air Wireless
Keyboard Kemove Snowfox 61
Software Main: Gentoo+Arch + Windows 11
Benchmark Scores Have tried but can't beat the leaders :)
That's not exactly how TPM works. Either a board has it, or it doesn't. For boards that do, there are modules that can be customized and used, but there is no way to give a board TPM if it was not built with support for it.
not necessarily.
 

Attachments

  • 20210625_175209.jpg
    20210625_175209.jpg
    1,021.4 KB · Views: 47

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
56,199 (8.40/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,837 (6.25/day)
Location
USA
not necessarily.
That's true, most MBs without built in TPM have at least a connector for it. My oldest one GA-990XA-UD3 (rev. 1.1) is like that, had to get and use TPM because of Bitlocker.
Ah, but that was my point, if a motherboard/OEM system has a port or jack for a TPM module, than the TPM hardware is also present on the board as well as the microcode in the firmware.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
56,199 (8.40/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Ah, but that was my point, if a motherboard/OEM system has a port or jack for a TPM module, than the TPM hardware is also present on the board as well as the microcode in the firmware.
the BIOS are defaulting to the external module (which is not installed) and thats why we get the error about unsupported, until we go and change that setting
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
6,731 (6.28/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99
Processor 9940x w/Optimus Foundation & 10900k w/Black Noctua D15 & 5930k w/Reg-Noctua D15
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many sammy 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.2x2 & win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
I'm pretty sure my old acer 775 socket board doesn't have any tpm bios setting and likely no socket either and even if it did finding a tpm chip for it would be pretty silly venture lol
Bitlocker is another feature I have zero interest in using or activating accidentally.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,837 (6.25/day)
Location
USA
the BIOS are defaulting to the external module (which is not installed) and thats why we get the error about unsupported, until we go and change that setting
No, connector is only one, nothing on MB itself
I think you both misunderstand how the TPM system works. For TPM to work there must be a hardware interface component built into the board and the TPM software built into the BIOS/UEFI microcode. A jack or port for a TPM module is in addition-to that which is already installed on the board. Some plugin modules provide for additional features on top of those offered by default. Not all TPM configurations require a jack/port. There are some boards which support TPM but require a module to complete the functionality. However even in those instances, parts of the TPM platform are present on the board in question but are simply disabled/inactive.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
56,199 (8.40/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
I think you're misunderstanding what we're saying

Many modern boards support both, with an internal firmware option and an external module
They only have two BIOS options Firmware, or external - and they default to external, disabling the firmware support.

I've checked all my AM4 boards here, and ALL of them behave this way by default, despite being from asus, giga, aorus, and MSI.

Win 11 can't identify that it's been switched to that 'external' setting and just says 'nah get fucked, no W11 for you' and the wording we've been using is from the windows 11 messages about unsupported, blahblah. I'm curious why my Ryzen 1000 is supposedly unsupported, when the same B450 board i have could run ryzen 1k 2k and 3k chips, with most of them on the official list
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,208 (4.37/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'm curious why my Ryzen 1000 is supposedly unsupported, when the same B450 board i have could run ryzen 1k 2k and 3k chips, with most of them on the official list
A change in the security features in that chip?
SME/ SEV?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,844 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Rounded corners you say. Hey MS, my video card and monitor can display more than 8 colours.
I should hope so. I think you mean bits per color, not literally 8 colors?
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
56,199 (8.40/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
You know what would make windows 11 take off like a rocket?

built in RGB control software, that devs implement a plugin and the OS can control and sync all the lighting
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
528 (0.09/day)
Location
West Bend, Wisconsin
System Name DELL Inspiron 5400 AIO / HP 17 ca1065cl
Processor 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz / Ryzen 5 3500u
Memory 16GB /12GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA MX 330 / Radeon Vega 8
Storage 1TB +SSD
Display(s) 23.8 inch touch screen 17.3 touch screen
Case DELL AIO / HP LAPTOP
Mouse Dell Wireless /LOGITECH
Keyboard Dell Wireless / HP LAPTOP
Software WINDOWS 11
Whats a TPM? It looks like from the system check that my almost year old HP Laptop will be able to take windows 11. I suppose my newer DELL AIO will probably be able to get it as well.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
221 (0.13/day)
Location
Australia
Whats a TPM? It looks like from the system check that my almost year old HP Laptop will be able to take windows 11. I suppose my newer DELL AIO will probably be able to get it as well.

You should be good to go, you just need to enable it in bios. Look for "Platform Trust Technology (PTT)" on Intel and "firmware Trusted Platform Module (fTPM)" on AMD.

This page has some info.

 
Last edited:

Marshal_90

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2020
Messages
16 (0.02/day)
I can't agree with this. Windows 10 has earned itself a reputation and not a good one. Microsoft is correct trying to leave it behind. The key point is that they need to get A WHOLE LOT right for Windows 11 to shine and stand above the gloom cast by Windows 10.
That's my point. Delivering a bug free OS. Because so far 21H1 is the most stable version of Windows 10. If they manage to deliver a bug free OS at launch, it's awesome. The UI is perfect, clean and modern. I like it already (not the leaked version, the one shown by themselves) but I'm not very optimistic.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
21,837 (6.25/day)
Location
USA
Because so far 21H1 is the most stable version of Windows 10.
Stable compared to what? I have never had 10 crash on me. I've seen it do the smiley face when attempting an OC, but never in normal operations. By comparison, since ServicePack1 I have not seen Windows 7 crash either. So stability is very relative. Not really that big of a concern anymore..
If they manage to deliver a bug free OS at launch, it's awesome.
Ah, this is what you mean, bug & glitch free. Agreed.
The UI is perfect, clean and modern. I like it already (not the leaked version, the one shown by themselves)
I wouldn't say it's perfect, but it is an improvement over Windows 10.
but I'm not very optimistic.
...right there with you...
 

Marshal_90

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2020
Messages
16 (0.02/day)
Stable compared to what? I have never had 10 crash on me. I've seen it do the smiley face when attempting an OC, but never in normal operations. By comparison, since ServicePack1 I have not seen Windows 7 crash either. So stability is very relative. Not really that big of a concern anymore..

I wouldn't say it's perfect, but it is an improvement over Windows 10.
Yes it is relative. By stable I mean something like Windows 7 experience not necessarily a BSOD. I remember that on early versions of Windows 10 after hanging the time region, I couldn't add new icon to Start menu for about a week! That was a really weird bug. I think it was like that until 1703.

Another interesting problem was with some Windows 8.1 tablets that had received Windows 10 update. If you would've put them on sleep while their battery was running out, You couldn't turn it back on until reinstalling the OS! Even with hybrid sleep being enable.

Anyway let's just hope for a bug free OS for all:peace:
 
Top