• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 32 bit clean install

Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
397 (0.18/day)
Likes
33
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#1
How much hard drive space does Windows 7 use ? I thought it was around 15-20 GB (perhaps that's for 64-bit.) After installing Windows, I noticed only 6.77 GB had been used. To me, that seems incredibly low. Could the amount of RAM affect it? The laptop has only 1 GB.

The reason why I checked the space is because the first install didn't go so well. When the desktop appeared for the first time, the laptop rebooted then it displayed "missing operating system" error. I removed the drive to scan it for any defects. It came back okay. Luckily the laptop has two HDD bays and it worked in the second one.

Does 6.77 GB sounds right? It's been a long time since I installed 32-bit version of Windows.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,692 (2.66/day)
Likes
2,003
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#2
1gb for win 7 is small, although it can run but it's gonna slow
btw have you tried to reinstall it again and see the difference?
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,344 (1.19/day)
Likes
3,690
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
#3
How much hard drive space does Windows 7 use ? I thought it was around 15-20 GB (perhaps that's for 64-bit.) After installing Windows, I noticed only 6.77 GB had been used. To me, that seems incredibly low. Could the amount of RAM affect it? The laptop has only 1 GB.

The reason why I checked the space is because the first install didn't go so well. When the desktop appeared for the first time, the laptop rebooted then it displayed "missing operating system" error. I removed the drive to scan it for any defects. It came back okay. Luckily the laptop has two HDD bays and it worked in the second one.

Does 6.77 GB sounds right? It's been a long time since I installed 32-bit version of Windows.
sounds good to my recollection. I've got one laptop running a 32-bit, and it's on a 60Gb drive, with about 12 Gb, including office and some testing software.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,558 (3.86/day)
Likes
9,771
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#4
Win7 x86 should be around 16 to 20gb iirc
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,794 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,403
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#5
Yes, the more RAM you have the bigger the pagefile, which is typically the amount of RAM x 2. You can unhide it and look at its properties to see how much space it's taking on the HDD, then subtract that from the overall space taken on the drive to see how much Windows is actually using.

You can also disable the pagefile and reboot to see how much space Windows truly takes.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
3,581 (0.85/day)
Likes
2,361
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#6
The amount of RAM has nothing to do with how much disk space is consumed during installation. It will, however, affect the size of the page file.

The minimum disk space "recommended" for W7 is 16GB (32-bit) and 20GB (64-bit) but understand that is space to install and operate in. That includes space for temporary files and the page file. That space will also vary depending the hardware connected and associated hardware drivers needed.

6.77GB seems small. Are you sure that is all?
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
214 (0.06/day)
Likes
46
Location
Richmond,VA
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7950
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#7
16gb min for 32bit windows 7 install.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,662 (2.10/day)
Likes
3,944
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T/ Xeon E3-1290 / Dual Xeon X5675's
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming / Asus Sabertooth Z77 / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling TRUE 120 / Deep Cool Assassin / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#8
There are different install sizes for different versions and depending how you installed it as well.

That size might be windows embedded version or a custom image/iso.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,643 (1.70/day)
Likes
2,725
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#9
6-8GB for a fresh install of W7 Home Premium is actually quite normal, if you haven't downloaded any updates yet and did not use it for prolonged periods of time.
As soon as you download all updates and start using your laptop, it will grow to 14-16GB easily. Plus your pagefile will start growing (especially if you left it at "auto").
What I also want to add, is that with the latest updates you will definitely need 3GB RAM to work comfortably. Even 2GB doesn't cut it anymore, especially if you want to use it for web surfing.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
196 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
#10
Depending on adept you are properly setting up and cleaning up after windows, it can grow substantially ... have had several boxes come back in the days of 120 GB SSDs with owners asking me to "clean C" cause they were getting message prompts that drives were full

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/10737/windows-7-system-requirements

"16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)"
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
1,475 (0.87/day)
Likes
689
#11
1gb for win 7 is small, although it can run but it's gonna slow
That depends on the GPU used. If the laptop in question has it's a discrete Nvidia or AMD GPU with it's own dedicated memory, then 7 should run decently on 1GB. But if it's running an IGP that shares system ram, than yes, Win 7's performance will suffer.
@GoFigureItOut
RAM for older laptops is dead cheap and 2GB can be had for maybe $10 at the most. And upgrade should be easy and is highly recommended.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
397 (0.18/day)
Likes
33
Processor Intel C2Q Q9550 (2.83 GHZ)
Cooling Intel OC27vv
Memory 12 GB DDR3 667mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5670
Storage Seagate - 500GB | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache | Sata-3G
Display(s) BenQ RL2455
Case Dell Tower
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair 600w
#12
I installed the professional version of Windows 7

That depends on the GPU used. If the laptop in question has it's a discrete Nvidia or AMD GPU with it's own dedicated memory, then 7 should run decently on 1GB. But if it's running an IGP that shares system ram, than yes, Win 7's performance will suffer.
@GoFigureItOut
RAM for older laptops is dead cheap and 2GB can be had for maybe $10 at the most. And upgrade should be easy and is highly recommended.
I felt bad for the owner because it was operating very slowly. The laptop has Windows XP COA stickers which explain the low RAM. I upgraded from 1 GB to 2 GB and it seems to run fine
 
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
820 (0.39/day)
Likes
646
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.8GHz, 1.35V
Motherboard Asus Z97M Plus
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 2400MHz, CL11, 2x8GB, DDR3 1,65V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, WD VelociRaptor 1TB (WD1000DHTZ)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Ubuntu 17.10
#13
Amount of RAM also matters, everyone forgot about hibernation file. It can be turned off by typing in CMD "powercfg - h off".
 
Last edited: