• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 7 to Pack Virtual Windows XP

chooky

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name My Oil PC
Processor E8400@4000
Motherboard XFX 780i
Cooling 20,000L Swimming Pool
Memory 4GB Kingston 8500 @ 1100
Video Card(s) 2 x Asus 8800GT @ 700/1000
Storage 3 x WD2500AAKS in Raid 0
Display(s) 27" Soniq
Case Fish Tank
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST60F 600W
Software XP Pro x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 19000@1024x758
#26
This should make Windows 8 better because they can strip away some of the compatibility layers.
But watch them stuff it up some other way.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#27
Vista runs awesome on modern machines... a celeron with 1GB of ram is not a modern machine, yet they still come bundled with it :(
The shops probably wouldn't be able to shift the units if it didn't come with the latest OS.

I don't believe that Windows 7 has the same problem running on older hardware. I've successfully gotten 7077 to run better on my old pentium m 2.13 w/ ati x300 / 2gb ram than it did on Vista. Aero works fine as well (just turn off fading and animate maximise/minimise windows).

Just need to get the driver ATI driver properly modded, since the one that came with is 8.12 has performance issues with running in VMR9, so I'm running media in vmr7.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#28
i've got vista running on a 1.6Ghz sempron (skt 754) with 1GB 333Mhz ram and a 256MB radeon 9550.

No tweaks, other than disabling superfetch, readyboost and indexing (cause the HDD noise was annoying me, mostly) and its running very happily as an internet machine/torrent box. Full aero, if anyone cares.

Vistas only problem is running less than 1GB of ram for 2D/office use, or less than 2GB for gaming use. When i started using XP (when it was NEW) it was the same thing, only the numbers were 256MB and 512MB.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#29
I guess this means 7100 isnt the RC :(
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#30
I guess this means 7100 isnt the RC :(
7100 is the RC. this is an optional downloadable extra, so even RTM wont come with it.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#31
Oh I see, I didnt read the article like that :confused:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#32
it wasnt in the article, it was explained in the comments.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#33
bta needs to update with that then.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#34
bta needs to update with that then.
when RC1 is actually released to the public, i'm sure it will turn up in windows updates.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
2,212 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,605
Location
Look up. Look way up.
System Name Ultimate Vortex II // Ultimite Vortex
Processor AMD FX 8150 Black @ 4.5Ghz // 1055T@ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Extreme // Asus M4A89TD PRO/USB3
Cooling CNPS 9900 MAX Red Led//Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX
Memory Corsair Vengeance (2x4Gb) @ 1866 Mhz, 1.5v//Corsair XMS3 Classic (2x4GB) DDR3 @1667Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 7970//Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Storage Corsair Force 3 90Gb SSD (OS &Games) - WD Caviar Blue 500 GB (Data) // WD Caviar Blue 320 GB
Display(s) LG 22in W2242TQ Black 1680x1050 LCD // Teamviewer to check on UltimateVortex
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced//CoolerMaster CM 690 w/8 x 120 mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 8Ch. w/Logitech Z-5500 500W Surround Awesomeness!
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 850W// OCZ GameXstream 600w
Software Windows 7 x64
#35
I've not heard of any business applications that won't work in Vista. In any case, that would be only a small amount of customers. We're talking about home editions anyway.
Are you joking??? I have yet to see a company that has migrated all their client terminals to Vista from XP. And at a national company that I worked helpdesk for still to this day issues their computers to units accessing their infrastructure with XP installed.

i've worked in tons of places where they hired someone (usually a uni student) to write software for them, and they've nearly always taken a million shortcuts and it only works on the one OS.
Thanks Mussels. I'd like to add that the above mentioned company I worked for also had a DEV team who modified source code of existing applications and develop applications exclusively for the company brands.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,947 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#36
People don't care about compatibility. They care about stability and speed.

I thought the whole point of Windows 7 was to be a more stable and faster Windows Vista so that the entire "Vista sux, stik with XP" crowd can finally be put to rest.

That being said, Windows 7 beta has serious compatibility issues even with Windows Vista-compatible applications (Skype doesn't even work).


I care, and the almost 50 PC's and laptops need XP for business software. MS is way wrong on the business side of thigns still, it is almost like they have gotten a Mac system idea, but with super protection everywhere. So the client access and much other software is a bitch to make run on Vista, and I haven't even tried Win7 yet. All the diagnostic software for the engine/controller management requires a direct connection through serial and or USB into a protopcol adapter and the extra layer of security and way the kernel handles things on Vista and Win7 will make it a long time in adoption.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#37
Wait I don't understand, what's the big deal, this was already available in Vista...I use it on an almost daily basis. It is the only way I can play my old 16-bit favorites in Vista x64.

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#38
in business maybe, but its not here in ultimate.
 

iStink

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
648 (0.19/day)
Likes
49
System Name The beast
Processor E6600@ 3.4
Motherboard P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 3GB G.Sill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) 8800GT @ 700/975
Storage (1)80GB With XP, (1) 320GB storage
Display(s) 205BW & 710N
Case XClio Windtunnel (I love it)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply OCZ gamerXStream 700W
#39
I don't think anything's wrong with Vista personally. I run a visa machine here at work with an AMD x2 4800 @ 2.5 ghz, and 2gb of ram. It runs perfectly fine. At home I run XP, but only because I felt there was no reason to buy Vista. Not that I don't like Vista, I just don't need to upgrade to it to do what I want with a computer. Windows 7 will be another upgrade I don't need but something I'll do just to stay modern lol.

When I look at netbooks, I tend to look for an xp system. I just think since it's an older os, it'll run better on the lighter specs of a netbook.

I remember one of the Mac guys at apple insider told me XP needed the latest and most powerful hardware to run smoothly, and I linked him to a video of a guy running xp just fine on his phone lol.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#40
in business maybe, but its not here in ultimate.
I said available, not pre-loaded. Any version of Vista(except maybe Home Basic) can already do this. And with Ultimate, you already have the XP licence to do it...

And remember, Vista Ultimate has all the features from every version of Vista, so if something is in Business it is in Ultimate.

When I look at netbooks, I tend to look for an xp system. I just think since it's an older os, it'll run better on the lighter specs of a netbook.
You would think this, but surprisingly this isn't the case. Vista actually runs better on netbooks than XP does, at least that was my experience, and many of the articles that talk about the subject agree.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#41
well, link me to this software for vista then :) i could use a new toy
 

iStink

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
648 (0.19/day)
Likes
49
System Name The beast
Processor E6600@ 3.4
Motherboard P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 3GB G.Sill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) 8800GT @ 700/975
Storage (1)80GB With XP, (1) 320GB storage
Display(s) 205BW & 710N
Case XClio Windtunnel (I love it)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply OCZ gamerXStream 700W
#42
You would think this, but surprisingly this isn't the case. Vista actually runs better on netbooks than XP does, at least that was my experience, and many of the articles that talk about the subject agree.
Oh wow ok lol. I'll need to expand my search criteria then, thanks for the info. The large majority of netbooks at newegg run xp, I think that's why I figured it was better.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#43
well, link me to this software for vista then :) i could use a new toy
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...02-3199-48A3-AFA2-2DC0B40A73B6&displaylang=en

There you go, free from Microsoft since 2006.

It seems all they are doing with Win7 is including this software standard, and a pre-setup Windows XP install. The screenshot even says "Microsoft Virtual PC" at the top. Perhaps they have update Virtual PC to a newer version, hopefully with better hardware integration, but the current version is great for software compatibility issue.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#44
Very smart and a very good idea. Ive yet to install my copy of 7 but because I dont want to partition. I need to hook up this hard drive and go with it.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
2,212 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,605
Location
Look up. Look way up.
System Name Ultimate Vortex II // Ultimite Vortex
Processor AMD FX 8150 Black @ 4.5Ghz // 1055T@ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Extreme // Asus M4A89TD PRO/USB3
Cooling CNPS 9900 MAX Red Led//Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX
Memory Corsair Vengeance (2x4Gb) @ 1866 Mhz, 1.5v//Corsair XMS3 Classic (2x4GB) DDR3 @1667Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 7970//Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Storage Corsair Force 3 90Gb SSD (OS &Games) - WD Caviar Blue 500 GB (Data) // WD Caviar Blue 320 GB
Display(s) LG 22in W2242TQ Black 1680x1050 LCD // Teamviewer to check on UltimateVortex
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced//CoolerMaster CM 690 w/8 x 120 mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 8Ch. w/Logitech Z-5500 500W Surround Awesomeness!
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 850W// OCZ GameXstream 600w
Software Windows 7 x64
#45
When I look at netbooks, I tend to look for an xp system. I just think since it's an older os, it'll run better on the lighter specs of a netbook.

You would think this, but surprisingly this isn't the case. Vista actually runs better on netbooks than XP does, at least that was my experience, and many of the articles that talk about the subject agree.
I read somewhere that MS actually designed W7 to compete with the netbook market and gain market (if not dominate) share over MAC versions of the netbook not to mention stamp out linux's rise. I actually think I read the article right here on TPU ;)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,536
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#46
weee, downloading it now.

It'll make a nice, virus safe little virtual netbox
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#47
weee, downloading it now.

It'll make a nice, virus safe little virtual netbox
That is another reason I use it. Anything I download that is questionable, I just open in there. The virtual computer also integrated onto the network just like another PC would, so it shows up in the router as a seperate PC, and gets its own IP. And any data you want to share between the host PC and the Virtual PC can be done via network shares.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
2,212 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,605
Location
Look up. Look way up.
System Name Ultimate Vortex II // Ultimite Vortex
Processor AMD FX 8150 Black @ 4.5Ghz // 1055T@ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Extreme // Asus M4A89TD PRO/USB3
Cooling CNPS 9900 MAX Red Led//Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX
Memory Corsair Vengeance (2x4Gb) @ 1866 Mhz, 1.5v//Corsair XMS3 Classic (2x4GB) DDR3 @1667Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 7970//Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Storage Corsair Force 3 90Gb SSD (OS &Games) - WD Caviar Blue 500 GB (Data) // WD Caviar Blue 320 GB
Display(s) LG 22in W2242TQ Black 1680x1050 LCD // Teamviewer to check on UltimateVortex
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced//CoolerMaster CM 690 w/8 x 120 mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 8Ch. w/Logitech Z-5500 500W Surround Awesomeness!
Power Supply Coolermaster Silent Pro 850W// OCZ GameXstream 600w
Software Windows 7 x64
#48
There's also VMWare which is also free.
 

iStink

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
648 (0.19/day)
Likes
49
System Name The beast
Processor E6600@ 3.4
Motherboard P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 3GB G.Sill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) 8800GT @ 700/975
Storage (1)80GB With XP, (1) 320GB storage
Display(s) 205BW & 710N
Case XClio Windtunnel (I love it)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply OCZ gamerXStream 700W
#49
That is another reason I use it. Anything I download that is questionable, I just open in there.
I didn't think of that. There's no way for a program running in the virtual environment to "reach out" to the system and mess anything up?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
3,588 (1.04/day)
Likes
536
Location
California
#50
i've worked in tons of places where they hired someone (usually a uni student) to write software for them, and they've nearly always taken a million shortcuts and it only works on the one OS.
Because, they are cheap, and their system/software is not up to date.