• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Automated phone activation does not mean it's a limit to them. To me a limit means the key would be dead after that many attempts, which it isn't. You just have to go through a different procedure, and it isn't that bad tbh. You can ever get texts nowadays with the code so it's easier than ever.
Well they said I have to use it from now on since the key is now locked. Its not THAT bad but it was a curve ball I didn't expect.

Interesting. I got pissed at him about it too as I knew from experience you did not need to install an earlier version first plus this was just more unnecessary writes to my SSD and takes more time. He actually ended up hanging up on me, heh.
Not as bad as me. I almost cussed the guy out. He kept wanting to connect to my rig!
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Oh I am sure I dropped and F-bomb or three.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Oh I am sure I dropped and F-bomb or three.
I told him "So I can let some random Pilipino connect to my rig and do G-d knows what, OR I can just install Windows 7 and go to bed..........Good Day sir." :laugh:

I would have never called them to begin with but that automated service number was HIDDEN! Its like they want you to buy another OS..........um yeah.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Interesting. I got pissed at him about it too as I knew from experience you did not need to install an earlier version first plus this was just more unnecessary writes to my SSD and takes more time. He actually ended up hanging up on me, heh.
Aye, it seems it varies a lot from country to country how the support is, which is kinda weird to be honest.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Haha, the four-option window you get when regular "online activation" fails which includes the phone number for the automated system only came up for me after I installed Vista first. Before that w/ no prior version install it just straight up said "product key not valid" and that's it. No other info or direction for rectifying. I only knew from the past that this means I needed to install older first. It could at least inform you of that.

Oh I forgot to mention that unchecking "activate automatically" during install does generally seem to help this activation crap in our situations but it did not solve my difficulties this recent past time.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Haha, the four-option window you get when regular "online activation" fails which includes the phone number for the automated system only came up for me after I installed Vista first. Before that w/ no prior version install it just straight up said "product key not valid" and that's it. No other info or direction for rectifying. I only knew from the past that this means I needed to install older first. It could at least inform you of that.

Oh I forgot to mention that unchecking "activate automatically" during install does generally seem to help this activation crap in our situations but it did not solve my difficulties this recent past time.
That option isn't there in Windows 8. That was a LIFE saver in Win7.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
...yeah so I thought too until 4 days ago. It did not matter. I installed 7 on a clean drive and unchecked that and it still screwed me into having to go back and do Vista first. Like I said, not totally consistent in my experience.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,898 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,561
Oh I forgot to mention that unchecking "activate automatically" during install does generally seem to help this activation crap in our situations but it did not solve my difficulties this recent past time.
You can unplug your internet to avoid auto-activation. W8 has refresh and reset options which both require re-activation after completion. I don't think MS would limit keys because if they do so they're shooting themselves in the foot. A lot of people is so reluctant to upgrade anyway.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
...yeah so I thought too until 4 days ago. It did not matter. I installed 7 on a clean drive and unchecked that and it still screwed me into having to go back and do Vista first. Like I said, not totally consistent in my experience.
I wish Windows worked like OSX in this aspect ya know?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Indeed I do. Though, yeah, Apple is different in how they view the OS licensing mainly as they make the hardware and the software that runs it (though tablets are changing that too, aren't they?).
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,898 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,561
Strange move by HP

Windows 7 will not be supported on these new platforms, and no drivers, apps, or Windows 7 content will be available through HP,” the company said. “If users choose to downgrade their HP consumer desktop or notebook system, HP will continue to support the hardware but if there is an issue where HP diagnostics are required or it is determined that the loaded software or upgrade operating system is causing the issue, HP may suggest returning the system to the original Windows 8 OS.”
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Yeah, curious. Though, like most things, I'm sure there is a financial reason behind it. MS is really pushing 8 (as they have to) so they must be offering OEMs a sweet-ass deal to do the same.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
For those that care: in some threads of these I have expressed concern about stability etc. Well this night I found that for the first time since very long I got bad RAM (bought same day as W8).
After not getting it well tuned whatever I did, I ran several long RAM tests and ... Now I got the sinner.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
For those that care: in some threads of these I have expressed concern about stability etc. Well this night I found that for the first time since very long I got bad RAM (bought same day as W8).
After not getting it well tuned whatever I did, I ran several long RAM tests and ... Now I got the sinner.
I had the same thing since I installed Win8 on my desktop. Randomly the screen would freeze but mouse would still work. Could click icons but nothing would happen. Turns out I had a bad stick of RAM (seems to be hit or miss with Gskill). Popped in some Kingston RAM and its been stable ever since. Funny that it ONLY happened with Windows 8 as I had Windows 7 on it before with no issues.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
True. And the word of the street is that w8 is more unstable with OCing... It is sooo optimized that it does not want any extreme fondling...

Mine, also G.Skill. For people with time to spend and burn in trial and error, I suppose; back to Kingston HyperX for peace of mind.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
True. And the word of the street is that w8 is more unstable with OCing... It is sooo optimized that it does not want any extreme fondling...

Mine, also G.Skill. For people with time to spend and burn in trial and error, I suppose; back to Kingston HyperX for peace of mind.
Well with the Kingston RAM my system is still OC'd, so I think it was just bad RAM. Kinda funny, I went from this RAM to this RAM and so far so good.

That's interesting. W8 utilizes memory differently than W7 maybe that's the reason.
That quite possibly might be it. I wonder if anyone has done a detailed study of how it uses the RAM differently?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Info on things like this can generally be found on MS Technet and MSDN blogs and such. First I am hearing of this myself and would also like details. Will see what I can find...
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,898 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,561
That quite possibly might be it. I wonder if anyone has done a detailed study of how it uses the RAM differently?
MS said they use brand new algorithms for memory allocation in W8, however they said they don't want to get into the details much and that's understandable. In this article W8 is good for PC gaming there's a couple of words about random memory allocation in Windows 8. In a nutshell it's now more secure and with less leaks.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
For some reason the libraries links in file explorer don't work, I have to go to the actual folder to open them. They work in open file dialog boxes though :confused: they were working fine before and the location is set correctly.
 
Last edited: